Jon's Reviews > The Anubis Gates

The Anubis Gates by Tim Powers
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
899665
's review
Feb 17, 2014

bookshelves: fiction, science-fiction, read-in-my-40s, liked-it
Recommended to Jon by: SciFi & Fantasy Book Club November Theme Selection (Steampunk)
Read from October 22 to 29, 2008 , read count: 1

3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Anubis Gates.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

10/22/2008 page 7
1.81% "Started yesterday, still in the Prologue of Book One "The Face Under the Fur.""
10/22/2008 page 28
7.24% "Finished the Prologue. I'm now in the middle of chapter one."
10/24/2008 page 48
12.4% "In the middle of chapter 2."
10/25/2008 page 56
14.47% "Still in the middle of chapter 2."
10/25/2008 page 88
22.74% "In the middle of chapter 4."
10/25/2008 page 101
26.1% "Starting chapter 5."
10/25/2008 page 111
28.68% "In the midst of chapter 5."
10/26/2008 page 127
32.82% "Starting chapter 6."
10/26/2008 page 146
37.73% "In the midst of chapter 6."
10/26/2008 page 157
40.57% "Starting chapter 7."
10/26/2008 page 199
51.42% "Finished Book One. Starting Book Two "The Twelve Hours of Night" and am in the middle of chapter 8."
10/26/2008 page 212
54.78% "Still in the middle of chapter 8. Off to bed for the night."
10/27/2008 page 225
58.14% "Starting chapter 9. Powers writes very long chapters."
10/27/2008 page 238
61.5% "In the middle of chapter 9. I was hoping to get more reading done at lunch, but work interfered."
10/28/2008 page 277
71.58% "In the midst of chapter 10."
10/29/2008 page 303
78.29% "Starting chapter 12."
10/29/2008 page 387
100.0% "Finished!"
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kait (new)

Kait Arg, I'm having a very hard time finding this. I'll have to call our used bookshops - the box store (we really only have one company) doesn't have it in, and the library doesn't have it listed. How annoying!


message 2: by Jon (new) - added it

Jon Using WorldCat.org and an Edmonton, AB, Canada postal code of T5J 0S1, I found that the University of Alberta has a copy available at their library:

http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/36251952...

Or you can buy a used one from Amazon for around $3 (US):

http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listin...

I was lucky that the library on the first floor of the building I work in had a copy on the shelf ready for checkout yesterday. :)


message 3: by Kait (new)

Kait Wow, thanks! I wasn't expecting you to tell me where to find one! :o) I think I might have the bookstore bring one in for me, so then I won't have to pay for shipping.


message 4: by Jason (new)

Jason This is why I love Seattle, I found two used copies, and about a dozen new versions at the three bookstores I looked at.


Lori Hey Jason, what bookstores do you frequent? (Apparently I live 4 miles from you!) Just wondering because my favorite used bookstore 2 blocks away just closed. *sob*

Only 3 stars, eh Jon? I love Tim Powers.


message 6: by Jon (last edited Oct 29, 2008 07:53PM) (new) - added it

Jon Three stars is my initial reaction. I'm going to ruminate on it for a day or two before writing the review and making my final decision on the star rating. I may also have to re-read the last 50 pages or so ... I kept nodding off ... not because I was bored but because I've been so stressed at work.


Lori Haha Jon, that's OK if it stays 3 stars with you! Twas merely an excuse to spread the love for Powers, his imagination blows me away. I hope you try some of his other books.


back to top