Katie's Reviews > The Newlyweds

The Newlyweds by Nell Freudenberger
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
F_50x66
's review
Jul 07, 12

bookshelves: audiobooks
Read from July 03 to 07, 2012

It is generally unlikely for me to read a book with the title "The Newlyweds." It just sounds too romance-y for my taste. This is not one of those books, though.

The Newlyweds is about Amina, who after a lengthy online romance with George, she moves to Rochester, NY from Bangladesh. While excited about her new life and the opportunities that come with a move to the U.S. with a well-established husband, she struggles with her new life. She has to get to know her husband, she misses her family and has to learn to navigate her new surroundings and culture.

I found Amina to be convincing. Her inner thoughts seemed honest. I found the relationships to be a little flat. I hated the men in the book, and (maybe it's my western feminist background) but I had a hard time believing that such a strong and determined young woman would have the desires and conflict that she does.

Overall, I really enjoyed the book. It's perfect for fans of Jhumpa Lahiri.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Newlyweds.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.