Jon's Reviews > Starship Troopers

Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
899665
's review
Jun 26, 09

bookshelves: fiction, science-fiction, award-winners, hugo-winner, read-in-my-40s
Recommended to Jon by: Ron Andrea
Read in June, 2009, read count: 1

Probably 3.5 stars but I'll round up since it did win the Hugo.

The beginning and the ending chapters were good. The middle was interesting, but not controversial. I believe Heinlein asked himself the question "What if our 20th century democracies collapsed? What if veterans picked up the pieces? What sort of government would result?" He answered with Starship Troopers. The Bug Hunt was just gravy.

Most of the philosophical dissertations intrigued me, probably because of the military slant. Even though this was told in the first person from Juan Rico's point of view, I never really connected with his character. Nor did I feel the threat of the bug-like aliens. They seemed a convenient vehicle to provide a backdrop of war to fuel the recruitment fires, which in turn allowed Heinlein to provide a glimpse of a near-future military government through the eyes of a green recruit and his training.

If you're looking for a lot of action, raids, battles or traditional science fiction, you won't find it here in abundance. All those elements exist, but only as examples and evidence for the author's lectures.
6 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Starship Troopers.
sign in »

Reading Progress

06/22/2009 page 1
0.38%
06/22/2009 page 21
7.95% "Good first chapter. Lots of action and the technology has held up well since original publication date in 1959."
06/23/2009 page 41
15.53% "Mobile Infantry here I come!"
06/23/2009 page 60
22.73% "Rest in peace B."
06/23/2009 page 121
45.83% "Heinlein pontification causing me to somnalance."
06/24/2009 page 146
55.3% "An offering of blood, sweat, toil and tears."
06/25/2009 page 165
62.5% "O.C.S. here Johnnie comes."
06/26/2009 page 242
91.67% "Finally getting to some action on Planet P."
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-5 of 5) (5 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jon (last edited Jun 27, 2009 04:41AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jon Just added this paperback to my BookMooch inventory - http://www.bookmooch.com/m/detail/044...

http://www.bookmooch.com/m/inventory/...

Happy Mooching!


Mooched overnight.


Terence When you're a teen-ager there's a certain seductive charm about Heinlein's libertarian, almost Manichaean take on the world (sort of like Ayn Rand's attraction to college students, perhaps). But then you get older, reread some of his seminal stuff and wonder at how naive you were.

Avalon Hill produced a boardgame based on the book, which I liked playing when I was a kid.

And, if you're still willing to read more Heinlein, I actually would recommend Citizen of the Galaxy. It's one of his YA books, and the preaching is kept to a minimum.


message 3: by Jim (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jim Have you read The Forever War by Joe Haldeman? His best book, IMO. If so, you should skim through it now & then read the bio's of the 2 authors. I always thought they were best when compared to each other.




message 4: by Jon (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jon It's the next science fiction novel on my to-read list. I'm making a foray into another 1960 classic award winner at the moment - To Kill a Mockingbird


Kelly H. (Maybedog) Terence, you said it perfectly. Jim, I 100% agree. I also think Forever Peace is worth a read as well if you're reading the other two.


back to top