Haley's Reviews > The Lost Sun

The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5082030
's review
Jan 15, 2016

liked it
Read from August 05, 2013 to June 21, 2014

This book is pretty unique. I have not read many books with Norse Mythology in them. I can name only a few. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I hoped. There’s were a lot of things that confused me, and the language used didn’t sound very modern, eve though it’s Alternate History fantasy supposed to be set in contemporary times.

The romance was a bit of insta-love/love at first sight. Soren has the hots for Astrid and Astrid notices him and knows about his past and the fact he’s a Berserker. Astid’s a Seether and can read the future and is a daughter of Fray, goddess of magic. Soren’s narration seems like too much brooding and feeling sorry for himself. The characters were not super interesting, but I loved the world building and mythology stuff.

In the United States of Asgard, also know as New Asgard on Middle Earth, everyone worships one of the Norse gods. The gods are real and make appearances. There’s Odin, Thor, Loki, Baulder, Freya, Freyr, and Tyr. Almost all the states have different names. Some make sense, some are ridiculous. I tried making a map, but we didn’t learn all 50. There’s a lot of interesting cultural differences. There’s caravans, Seethers, Berserkers and holmgangs. There’s a lot of terms I didn’t understand. I’m not sure how much Tessa made up, and how much was researched.

I mostly enjoyed the book, but I found myself skimming a lot. I didn’t enjoy the adventure and travel. Especially the part when they go to the Badland, which I’ve been to 3 times. South Dakota is South Lakota in this book. If you’ve read Loki’s Wolves by Kelly Armstrong, that was about Norse mythology and set in South Dakota too. This book goes from Kansas (Kansa), through Nebraska, Colorado, Idaho, Washington, and Colorado.

If you like book with mythology, such as Loki’s Wolves, Valkyrie Rising, the Need series, books by Lesley Livingston, or Rick Riordan, then you may enjoy this book.

Cover Art Review: Love the metallicness of the cover, and the title type. The guy’s face doesn’t look so good with the trees on top of it.

~Haley G

My blog:
http://breathlessbookreviews.blogspot...
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Lost Sun.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

08/05/2013 marked as: currently-reading
08/05/2013 marked as: to-read
08/06/2013 marked as: currently-reading
08/06/2013 marked as: to-read
06/18/2014 marked as: currently-reading
06/21/2014 marked as: read
show 2 hidden updates…

No comments have been added yet.