fivesunflowers's Reviews > Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3788109
's review
Jul 13, 12

bookshelves: erotica, womens-fiction, once-owned-gave-away, read-2012
Read from June 30 to July 12, 2012

Okay, I am someone who reads ALL books, even those that may be considered 'bad' by the reading public. I had heard SOOO much hype about this book (good and bad) and decided to read it for myself. My rating is actually 1.5 stars, but GR doesn't allow for half stars, so I went with the 2-star rating. The reason I am even giving it two stars is because underneath all the ATROCIOUS writing and really inexperienced descriptions of the BDSM lifestyle, there is a flickering of a storyline there; and that storyline started coming together in the last 30 or so pages of this novel.

This Christian Grey character and the 'relationship' he starts with Anastasia is one that the women who all but praise this man should really be concerned about. This man that has every housewife in American oogling after is a possessive, jealous, stalking, controlling manipulator who has no business taking the virginity of a 22-year old girl who already has ZERO self-esteem as it is.

The writer ridiculously and awkwardly uses Anastasia's subconsious and "inner goddess" as actual characters in the book and it's annoying as shit. Their "voices" are identified by italicized script and they are almost as annoying as Anastacia herself. "Holy crap/shit" is used HUNDREDS of times in this book and, really, I felt like a ninth grader had written this book. COMPLETE LACK of colorful and educated language and grammar. It was VERY distracting to try and keep up with the story with all the horrid writing going on.

The reason this book even earned the two stars was because there were many parts of this story that I could honestly relate to, and I'm sure many other people could. Most of us have fallen hard for someone who probably was very wrong for us but we couldn't wait to get their email/text/call and nothing else in the world mattered. I have been in a controlling relationship and a LOT of Christian's behavior rang too familiar with me (him scolding her for drinking too much, insulting the kind of car she drove, etc). WHO THE HELL is this guy to come into her life and decide that she needs fixing?! I also feel like Christian being 26 years old was completly unbelievable (He has a private helicopter and jet, really?!). His behavior and level of success should have put him in the 40's age range, but I think the author did not want to make it an older man/younger woman scenario.

This novel appeals to people who do not read on a regular basis, much less, REAL literature. And, I feel it targets straight, white, American, housewives, who themselves have had very little to no sexual play outside of the norm. I have read enough REAL erotica novels which have strong characters and plots, and use devices which make the story better - this book has none of that. Which is fine. It clearly had an audience that LOVED it, however, I was not that audience.
11 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Fifty Shades of Grey.
sign in »

Reading Progress

06/30/2012 page 13
3.0%
07/02/2012 page 121
24.0% 4 comments
07/05/2012 page 121
24.0% ""I don't like to share, Miss Steele. Remember that." His quite, chilling tone is a warning .. what happened to the generous, relaxed, smiling man who was making love to me not a half hour ago?'

This book is hard to read - reading about such a controlling ASS of a man is torturous."
07/06/2012 page 190
37.0% ""Miss Steele, you are not just a pretty face. You've had six orgasms so far and all of them belong to me," he boast'

I would love to punch this guy in the face. Just once. REALLY hard."
07/06/2012 page 270
53.0% 5 comments
07/10/2012 page 344
67.0% "He grins down at her, and it's as if an unspoken promise passes between them. Laters, baby, he's saying, and it's hot, freaking hot. I flush just watching them.

This beezy 'flushes' at least three times on every single page of this book." 2 comments
07/12/2012 page 485
94.0% "My subconscious is frantically fanning herself, and my inner goddess is swaying and wrtihing to some primal carnal rhythm. She's so ready. I lick my lips instinctively. What is he going to do to me?

I don't know what he's going to do to her but I'd like to smack her, her inner goddess, and her subconscious in one fell swoop."
show 5 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-13 of 13) (13 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

Veronica Tell me what you think of this book when you are done. I just finished reading it and still do not know what to think. It did take me a little longer to read because I started to lose interest. But I did purchase Book 2 and will read it once I finish A Sword of Stones.


fivesunflowers I really do not like this book lol ... I mean, the writing is GOD-AWFUL, the female character has ZERO self esteem and falls for an ARSE-hole of a man who has ZERO charm and orders her around like she is his dog. This is NOT erotica (I actually have read REAL BDSM novels and they are well-written with a plot and strong characters)... I will finish the book, but this is clearly something for the non-reading masses to oogle over, and not a book for serious book-readers


Veronica I agree with you 100%. So many people this book is the best thing since slice bread. It took me awhile to get through because I lost interest. I did buy the second book. I must be a glutton for punishment.


fivesunflowers Well, I will read the other two as well - I have to. A friend and I are collaborating on a novel and these books are required research lol .. this book is the national enquirer of "literature"


fivesunflowers AJ, I saw that review before I read the book and now that I am almost done with it, it makes it that much more HIGH-larious! ... I absolutely love it and it is RIGHT on target!


message 7: by Lisa Anne (new)

Lisa Anne Consiglio I heard yesterday...there is going to be a movie. If it is as pornographic as they say...I am sure it will get an NC-17 rating. What gives? Why are women so obsessed with this novel? You are not the only one to tell me the writing is horrible. It just shows you, like actors and acctress these days...even authors have become way too generic. Hope your other reads are better!


fivesunflowers You know, I don't have a problem with the sexual content at all. It IS in the genre of Erotica, and in my opinion, it's not pornographic (although, if you are not used to reading this sort of genre, you might find it graphic). The reason I gave it two stars is because there were many parts of it that I could relate to (falling for someone very hard who is probably VERY wrong for you) and I saw the glimmer of a story coming together towards the end. The writing is ATROCIOUS, but if you can get past that, you might find it somewhat entertaining.


Heather You said everything I thought while reading. ha. Thank you. I guess I understand why women are falling all over themselves for this book...but it makes me want to stab myself in the eye with a fork. ;)


Paula I gave it 2 but would have given it 2 1/2 because of the underlying story. I didn't feel it was well written either, I skimmed some parts.

I will read the 2nd one just to see where it goes, but I haven't added it to my holds just yet. : )


message 11: by Heather (new)

Heather I had already decided not to jump on the bandwagon of this book and your review has further confirmed for me that it was the right decision!


fivesunflowers Heather wrote: "You said everything I thought while reading. ha. Thank you. I guess I understand why women are falling all over themselves for this book...but it makes me want to stab myself in the eye with a fork..."

Heather! LOL yes, I also had many 'stab myself in the eye' moments as well - you were definitely not alone. I don't think this book was written by or for someone who reads and appreciates real literature.


message 13: by Jen (new)

Jen I have not read the book but have heard so much about it. I hate the context of this book! I think the fact that so many housewives actually are reading this and fantasizing about finding their own "Mr. Grey", is so disturbing! I think it sets back woman's activism 40 years. I hope men do not buy into the idea that the average woman wants a controlling, dominating and abusive "partner". I am all for role play, fantasy and adventure in ones sex life but let's not give men the idea that we want to be treated like crap.

I am not saying we should censor the book either. I am just disturbed by the fact that so many people actually like it! Just my opinion...


back to top