Shelley's Reviews > Chosen

Chosen by Sable Grace
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3081722
's review
May 17, 2012

liked it
bookshelves: 2012-releases, paranormal-romance, edelweiss-arc
Read on August 15, 2012

Publisher: Avon
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Genre* Paranormal Romance
Rating* 3.5

*Review*

CHOSEN picks up six weeks after the conclusion of BEDEVILED. Kyana Aslan is now the Chosen Goddess of the Hunt even though she hasn't undergone her full regiment of training. Thanks to the caring and understanding of Artemis the former Goddess, Kyana learns more about her abilities and herself than ever before.

Kyana’s relationship with Ryker (the Chosen God of Gods Zeus) has grown exponentially now that they are together on Olympus and spending time together. Ryker obviously loves Kyana who is stubborn as they come when it comes to saying I LOVE YOU in return. PNR lovers will be happy to know that there is quite A LOT of sexual hotness between the two characters in Chosen. It also doesn’t detract from the storyline which is a positive in my opinion.

Kyana still believes that she is one of the best Trackers that the Order has to offer even though she is no longer a dark breed (half Lychen and half Vampire). While Cronus is making his move against his sons, Kyana ends up cooped up on Olympus where she is being trained and protected and treated like an invalid by Ryker and others. Kyana refuses to allow anyone to tell her what to do when it comes to hunting down and stopping Cronus. This, of course, causes more sparks and arguments.

Kyana still has her ups and downs as a character. Chosen really brings those to the forefront. While she makes some harebrained decisions, she also makes some timely and ultimately right choices in regards to stopping Cronus and trusting Haven to be on her side. She continues to be pulled in several directions thanks largely to Ryker and Haven. While she is brave and seems to understand what she is doing, she still makes silly mistakes and it costs her in devastating ways.

Somehow, which isn't really explained all that well, Cronus has escaped from his island prison and is gathering a dark army which includes some from Kyana's human past. Those from Kyana's past are not nice and yet there is one in particular who once again comes to her aid in her time of need.

If you haven’t read ASCENSION, I would highly recommend that you do. I say that because in order to understand what has happened to this point, you need to read the two previous books in the series. It will give you an idea of where we are in the story, and why the world has gone to hell in a hand basket. It will also allow you to understand the world in which this is written; a world that actually is separated into 3 separate realms of existence which includes humans, and the Gods of Olympus.

Chosen appears to be the last book in the Dark Breed trilogy and it seems as though most if not all of the loose ends have been tied up. There was even a poignant moment between Ares and Ryker that only took 410 years to resolve.

Once again, Chosen is set in St. Augustine, Florida and parts of Jacksonville, FL. I really appreciate when local authors set their stories where I live, or have visited over the past 12 years and can actually understand the setting they are writing about. I know Sable Grace is the writing duo of Heather Waters and Laura Barone and therefore will look forward to what they come up with next either together or solo.

*ARC was received via Edelweiss for Avon 05/18/2012* On Sale Date: August 28, 2012
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Chosen.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

08/15/2012
41.0% "Chapter 14"
08/15/2012
60.0% "Chapter 19"
08/15/2012
81.0% "Chapter 28"

No comments have been added yet.