Iamshadow's Reviews > Northanger Abbey

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
U_50x66
's review
Sep 12, 08

bookshelves: classic, fiction, history
Recommended for: Fans of Twilight, Fans of parody, Fans of classic fiction
Read in September, 2008, read count: 2

When I first read Northanger Abbey at the age of sixteen, I liked it well enough, but I think I read it too swiftly, and I missed a lot of the clever humour it contains. Ten years on and having reread it for the first time, I have to say I enjoyed it much, much more the second time around. While it's certainly Austen's idea of a clever dig at the novel-reading culture of her own era, it's also still very relevant as a cautionary tale for today. Too many people can lose sight of the division between fantasy and reality. With unrealistic, melodramatic fiction still being very much a part of our lives, Northanger Abbey is like a breath of fresh air.

To all those Twilight fans out there, I say, without the slightest bit of malice or ill feeling, take a little break from Wuthering Heights and add Northanger Abbey to your reading list, because sometimes a mystery is only as deep as you make it.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Northanger Abbey.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.