Jennifer Rayment's Reviews > Ruling Passion

Ruling Passion by Alyxandra Harvey
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3123013
's review
May 10, 12

Read in May, 2012 — I own a copy

The Good Stuff

The dialogue between the characters had me laughing my ass off on so many occasions - almost every chapter of each book in fact
Kick ass heroines who don't expect or need a boy to save them
Many Whedon references - which as you know is very close to my geeky heart
Extremely fast paced and NEVER boring
Vampires don't sparkle or go all emo
Parents are not stupid or jerks -- and we know that is a big deal in YA fiction -- see authors it can be done
Author is Canadian
Delightful secondary characters that you are slowly introduced to and given just enough about them that you want to know more -- and maybe have a whole book about - cough cough Mom and Dad Drake -- cough cough lets have a story about kick ass parents
Unique take on vampire mythology
Lucy is a truly awesome character and I want more of her -- her quips constantly make me giggle
Good messages about true friendship and acceptance without being all mushy or condescending
Enough all ready just go buy the book most of you will thank me

The Not So Good Stuff

This 3 stories in one book idea sounds great -- but so thick it was hard to read - man I have weak wrists
People stared on the bus when I snorted out loud with laughter
Got extremely confused with the 3 organizations having such similar names and same with all the characters with names starting with H -- OK -- that is probably just because I am brain dead right now and come on I had to find something relevant to put in this section

Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Where are the stun --ooon. Shiny." Hearts at Stake

"And the patchwork skirt I thought I'd lost last year, twisted under a storage box covered in stickers. Yes, even little girls with vampire lineage have a sticker phase." Hearts at Stake

“Very possibly this was the night my white-knight complex, as Solange put it, would get me killed. Someone had better write a poem about it. It was only fair.” Blood Feud

“How did you know it wasn't really me?"
"Are you kidding? Your eyeballs could be on fire and you wouldn't bat your lashes at me like that.” Blood Feud

"I winced. Vampire mothers had unfair advantages." Out for Blood

"Oh, I'm sorry," Chloe snapped from the backseat. "Did I hurt your knuckles with my face?" Out for Blood

Who Should/Shouldn't Read

Fans of Jennifer Estep, Kelley Armstrong, Meg Cabot and Kiersten White will enjoy
Fans of anything Whedon will get tons of chuckles and will love this author

4.75 Dewey's

I borrowed this from Tasha and didn't have to review it here -- but I like to share what can I say
1 like · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ruling Passion.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.