Audrey's Reviews > Lover Reborn

Lover Reborn by J.R. Ward
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2413680
's review
Apr 20, 12

bookshelves: paranormal-sci-fi-or-otherworldly
Read from April 11 to 19, 2012

*sigh* Where to begin?

I don't really have much juice left to write a full blown review. This book just kind of...drained me. Here are some thoughts that I'll share, however...

(Note that it's pretty much spoiler-free, in my opinion. Possible spoilers have been hidden behind spoiler tags.)

1) WRITING: The slang. ARGH, THE SLANG! No matter what ANYONE says or thinks (*coughs* JRW! *coughs*), "Pop-Tarting" is not a word that can be used interchangeably with jerking something upwards. Not at all. Also, I was sort of informally keeping track, and shitkickers appeared in this book at least a dozen times. Really now. REALLY. I knew to expect some slang going in, but I swear...I think it's getting worse with each book.

2) ROMANCE: The romance sucked. I won't lie. For me, at least, it sucked. I found it really hard to read about the romance/relationship featured in this story, and I was cringing in a lot of the supposedly relationship-focused/romance-type scenes. More on this in the next bullet points.

3) HERO: The hero (whom I will not name and instead will call "H" here for short, just so that it doesn't spoil the series for anyone who hasn't read it)...well, JRW did such a convincing job of depicting his mourning and completely devastating state of depression in the previous books that I just could not buy his recovery in this one. It made me uncomfortable whenever he would lust after the heroine. It just felt wrong.

4) HEROINE: The heroine (whom I will call "h" here for short) was such a dishrag. Meh. Could not relate to her at all. I thought H's rant at her towards the end of the book was entirely justified. Yup. I said it. Call me a biatch (go on, I dare ya!), but I was 100% behind what he had to say about her in what other readers may think was an annihilation of h's character. Instead, for me, it was bald-faced 100% truth, in my opinion. Also, what the hell was up with her turning into a porn star sex fiend after (a) her having been traumatized early in her life by rape and, indeed, losing her virginity by rape and (b) her swearing she would never let another male touch her ever ever ever again???? Talk about a 180! My head spun when H described her as so welcoming of him, always ready for him, etc. I mean...what planet did I land on where the h suddenly is a horny sex goddess??

Edited to add: 5) PLOT: I had another thought (and it should go here) about plot holes. Yes, there are many. But some are particularly bothersome for me because they're at the core foundation of this book's premise. (view spoiler)



56) OVERALL STORY/WORLD: However, this book gets that extra star for being entertaining for the most part. Lassiter. Qhuinn. Blay. Even Xhex and JM were interesting, and I didn't particularly like their book. Oooooh, and new ambiguously bad/good guy, Assail. Rowr! I even read through the Band of Bastards stuff when I previously hadn't found them interesting at all. I like Throe. I like him a lot. JRW can think up an entertaining story, I'll give her that much. I feel like she sometimes might have TOO many balls in the air, but whatevs...now I kinda just view it as "oh, what can she come up with next?"

67) WTF: Dude. The Layla/Qhuinn thing. WHAT. THE. EFFFFFFF.

78) NEXT BOOK: Qhuinn + Blay = YAY! Good thing they're featured in the next book because, otherwise, I might have abandoned the BDB series altogether. Instead, I will sit in eager anticipation of Qhuinn/Blay man-lovin' sexytimes. Qhuinn's going after whom he wants. Blay's gonna get territorial. Alpha Qhuinn. Vulnerable Blay. Alpha Blay. Vulnerable Qhuinn. Rowr! Awesomeness! (Side note: I actually like Saxton, so I hope he finds a halfway decent resolution after this whole heartbreaking tangle is figured out. In other words, please don't kill Saxton off, JRW.)


CONCLUDING REMARKS: That's about it. I would break down my rating as follows: (1) I disliked the romance and actually found it hard to read a lot of it, but (2) found the overarching storyline and general entertainment value pretty fun and diverting enough.
44 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Lover Reborn.
sign in »

Reading Progress

04/11/2012 page 8
1.0% "Eight pages into it, and already there are three "shitkickers" references. I won't lie - that made me laugh." 2 comments
04/15/2012 page 21
4.0% "Okay, to avoid spoiler-ing this series for others, I'm not going to mention any names. I'll just say that...hot DAMN is the hero in this one super emo. To be honest, I have my doubts that JRW is gonna get him to a believable HEA by the end of the book."
04/15/2012 page 76
13.0% "It's almost like a train wreck I can't stop reading." 7 comments
04/16/2012 page 192
34.0% "Ugh, I can't stand that she's still called "No'One."" 5 comments
04/17/2012 page 201
35.0% "A quote: Bolting forward, he sent himself flying and locked onto one of the lessers, catching the bastard around the neck with his arm and Pop-Tarting him into the air with a yank.

"POP-TARTING"...?!?!? When I read that, I was like "this is a joke, right? It's got to be a joke. You have GOT to be effin' kidding me here."
" 13 comments
04/17/2012 page 370
65.0% "Four things:

1) Hallelujah! We have a freakin' name for her!

2) Um...did I miss the memo where Layla no longer has the hots for Qhuinn??

3) Qhuinn and Blay!!! Squeeeeee!

4) Is she STILL wearing those robes???? Sorry, but I can't help seeing this whenever I think of draping robes:

*smacks forehead*" 4 comments
04/18/2012 page 529
92.0% "That thing with Qhuinn and Layla, WTF, man???? I was like this throughout the entire thought process that led up to those actions:
" 2 comments

Comments (showing 1-50 of 65) (65 new)


♡Karlyn P♡ I'm at 80% now (so little reading time these days, boo hoo hooo!) but I can firmly say its much better than the previous two books. Enjoy!


Audrey Oh good!! The last two were meh for me. 3 stars each, and that was being verrrry generous.


willaful Me too.


Audrey willaful wrote: "Me too."

I'm happy my library carries them. Otherwise, I'd drop the series.


message 5: by [deleted user] (new)

Oh please let her still be addicted to shitkickers. I don't think I could bear the loss if she's upgraded to something else.


Jennifer Um..spoiler? They make an appearance in the first scene, if not the first sentence. Shitkickahs 4-Eva!


message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

Hurrah! Shitkickers 4eva!


Audrey Um, on page 8 and "shitkickers" were mentioned three times already.


message 9: by Amy (new) - rated it 3 stars

Amy Good luck with the book! The only reason I read is for more of my fav couple Qhuinn and Blay!!


SubterraneanCatalyst I'm so glad I quit reading J.R. Ward lol. I enjoyed some of her leading men a bit, but after awhile it just wasn't worth it lol.


Audrey SubterraneanCatalyst wrote: "I'm so glad I quit reading J.R. Ward lol. I enjoyed some of her leading men a bit, but after awhile it just wasn't worth it lol."

That was a smart decision.

I dunno...it's like crack. I keep going back, even though I know it'll hurt. At least I'm really really looking forward to the next one, which will have Blay and Qhuinn. :D


SubterraneanCatalyst Audrey wrote: "SubterraneanCatalyst wrote: "I'm so glad I quit reading J.R. Ward lol. I enjoyed some of her leading men a bit, but after awhile it just wasn't worth it lol."

That was a smart decision.

I dunno....."


I totally understand. There are just books or authors we know we shouldn't really but we do anyway LOL. I do it myself :) *cough Dara Joy*.


Katie(babs) Qhuay is next, sweet mo fo man sex all over the page Qhuay. Sigh. Me think Ward may have Layla with two men from the BOB and I don't mean two battery operated kind.

Tohr and No'One's romance verily bored me just like ZZZayne in the last one.

For now it's all about Qhuay. As for Layla and Qhuinn... blerg de blerg blerg.


Audrey Katie(babs) wrote: "Qhuay is next, sweet mo fo man sex all over the page Qhuay. Sigh. Me think Ward may have Layla with two men from the BOB and I don't mean two battery operated kind.

Tohr and No'One's romance veril..."


Yes, I know! Qhuay! Finally!!! Thank the effin' stars! :D

For some reason, I liked Manny/Payne a smidge more than this one. I think it was b/c Payne at least had some balls (er...figuratively?). The Tohr/No'One just felt soooooooooo wrong.

I imagine Layla/Xcor might be after Qhuay...? If so, then I will 90% likely drop this series.

Ooooh...but I do like Lassiter. Mmmm...pierced and profane angels. My favorite.


message 15: by Carol (new)

Carol Storm I am so glad I read this review. I am so glad I won't be reading this book! I read the first few, and all the problems you describe are there from day one. Dishrag heroines? Lame-ass slang? Plots that don't make sense? The horrible, awful thing is that once you start reading one of these JR Ward books you can't stop!


Audrey Lily, that's exactly what has happened! I know it's not good for me, but my morbid curiosity means I just can't stay away...


message 17: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Great review! Sadly, I had to drop this series after Vishous's book, I just couldn't take anymore of the slang and none of the other heroes really interested me. I forward to seeing what you think of Blay/Quinn's story when it eventually comes out though!


Kelly Liked your review, but I have to say I felt quite differently about a lot of it. Some liked this one.. Some didn't . Better than the last book for sure!!!


Audrey Thanks, gals!

Kelly, I could see how this book would be rather polarizing.


Adoore I so agree with your review. It was so hard to understand the concept of healing here which was basically go f.... someone and release your soulmate into heaven. Yeah I do not think so. no'one deserved the screaming because she was not worthy of second and third opportunities. I agree with your whole review.


Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ Word, Adoore! I still don't understand why No'One gets all these favors!

I wouldn't have a problem with Tohr moving on (later) but the way it was done, the whole "you HAVE to fuck" and that weird In-Between is just stupid.


Kelly Rather polarizing for sure, Audrey. I truly understand your POV. In fact I felt very similar throughout the first half of the book(which was WAY too long!) .Somehow I changed my mind. Maybe I'm just a sap who wanted a HEA for Tohr no matter how Ward got him there:)


Audrey Adoore and Sarah - Yeah, I had a hard time with that, too. Why didn't Wellsie get a break when everyone else and their mother seems to?

Kelly, I could definitely see that POV, too. Tohr had it rough, no doubt. That said, I was just gut-hurt with the way JRW got him to his happy ending. I guess maybe if we'd seen a little more of a multi-book progression of his coming out of mourning, this one wouldn't have been as difficult to swallow for me. Are you a Qhuinn/Blay fan? I can't wait for the next book. :D


message 25: by Lulu (last edited Apr 22, 2012 03:32PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Lulu Hey Audrey, well, you know I agree with you. Good review. You hit a lot of the major points that bothered (OK, OK, I'll cop to "upset") me lol.

I do think some readers just wanted to get Tohr across the finish line. Get it done. Give him some kind of resolution. Move on. No'One had less than 100 pages from her POV which kind of leads me to believe that Ward felt that way too.


Audrey Hi Lulu! Yeah, I can see how that'd be the case. Sorta like..."here's a loose string, let's tie him up in a bow and move on." That really bothered me. It felt very forced, and the "romance" in general was difficult to swallow.

No'One...it's weird. I liked her more than I expected to, but I didn't necessarily like her, either.


message 27: by Angela (last edited Apr 27, 2012 12:16AM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

Angela I agree with everything you said and I'm also ready to quit this series, after Qhuinn and Blay's story. Ward really insulted our intelligence with this book. Tohr deserved better than this.


Audrey Angela, I agree. The "romance" aspect of it just felt so unauthentic.


message 29: by Lulu (new) - rated it 1 star

Lulu Audrey wrote: "No'One...it's weird. I liked her more than I expected to, but I didn't necessarily like her, either."

I know what you mean. Like I said above, she had less than 100 pages from her POV, a couple of OK scenes with Xhex, but not enough to grasp on to. Seriously, I read this like maybe 3 weeks ago and I can't recall a single memorable line of hers or anything she and Tohr said to one another about their relationship.


Santana Love the review, i just finished the book last night and...you said everything that i thought :\ I think i was trying so hard to love this book because of the series but also I just wanted Torh to be happy lol but yeah this book like Johns (hahaha) i found hard to really connect...awesome review hon ^0^


Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ Lulu wrote: "Seriously, I read this like maybe 3 weeks ago and I can't recall a single memorable line of hers or anything she and Tohr said to one another about their relationship."

I've forgotten most of the book already. That's not a good sign.

Santana wrote: "i found hard to really connect...awesome review hon ^0^"

Are you going to keep your rating of 5 stars? It seem you didn't like it that much. Just curious.


message 32: by Adoore (last edited Apr 27, 2012 07:19AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Adoore I am with you LuLu it is sad when a character makes no impact. I really did not like her she seemed to meh and only their to serve the male interest I prefer for female characters to be more like Wellsie. We did not get much of her but what we did get really made an impact. She seemed strong, independent, assertive, friendly but tough. Love your review all of your animations during your reading progress are exactly the reactions I had. I was close to throwing my nook to the wall but I realized that would hurt me more.


message 33: by Minna (new) - rated it 1 star

Minna This is the first review I've read so far to rag on Ward's writing style/grammar/lingo etc... glad to see it bothers SOMEONE besides me!


Santana Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ wrote: "Lulu wrote: "Seriously, I read this like maybe 3 weeks ago and I can't recall a single memorable line of hers or anything she and Tohr said to one another about their relationship."

I've forgotten..."



I'm sad to say im changing my 5star's for it...i don't even want to give a review :\


Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ That's sad, Santana. But I understand it.


message 36: by Mel (last edited May 06, 2012 02:17PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Mel I thought H's rant at her towards the end of the book was entirely justified. Yup. I said it. Call me a biatch (go on, I dare ya!), but I was 100% behind what he had to say about her in what other readers may think was an annihilation of h's character. Instead, for me, it was bald-faced 100% truth, in my opinion.

I totally agree! And I was surprised to find that even No'One (I refuse to call her Autumn, bah!) agreed to a certain point. But then Ward has Tohr totally groveling for No'One and she doesn't even tell him she thinks he's kinda right? What?!?

I think the same was true, but in a lesser degree, for John and Xhex. I understand Xhex's behavior towards the Brotherhood, but she really didn't cut JM any slack. It was a total forced redemption on his side with her not doing any concessions. Didn't think it was fair.


message 37: by Minna (new) - rated it 1 star

Minna I think the same was true, but in a lesser degree, for John and Xhex. I understand Xhex's behavior towards the Brotherhood, but she really didn't cut JM any slack. It was a total forced redemption on his side with her not doing any concessions. Didn't think it was fair.

You know, I totally agree. I kinda stopped caring about No'One and Tohr, but I do agree with you about Xhex and JM. I hate in romance novels when the heroes have to grovel while the heroines soak in the apology then waltz away without any contrition on their own part. Didn't even really register it in this book, what with all the other nonsense going on.


Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ Well, guess "the piece of furniture" always has to give in.


message 39: by Adoore (last edited May 08, 2012 06:11AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Adoore John seems to be so easily pushed around by Xhex. I love that she is tough and different from some of the other females especially the "chosen" but it seems that she is always getting her way no matter what and she does not compromise even when it comes to John.


message 40: by Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ (last edited May 08, 2012 08:33AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ I still think he's not grown-up enough for her.


Adoore Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ wrote: "I still think he's not grown-up enough for her."

I so agree with you.


message 42: by Lulu (new) - rated it 1 star

Lulu Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ wrote: "I still think he's not grown-up enough for her."

While I like Qhuinn and Blay and JM, I've always found their relative youth to be a problem. They are all around 25 years old and with vampires living to be 1000 in this world, it seems kind of silly for them to be rushing into bonded, permanent relationships (or as permanent as they are in the BDB now) as well as rushing to have a baby.

I'm not saying they should have to wait centuries. None of them were subjected to the kind of long-term torture of a Z or V but they just seem kind of, well, immature and young and not as interesting to me as a result.


message 43: by Mel (new) - rated it 3 stars

Mel Lulu wrote: "While I like Qhuinn and Blay and JM, I've always found their relative youth to be a problem. They are all around 25 years old and with vampires living to be 1000 in this world, it seems kind of silly for them to be rushing into bonded, permanent relationships (or as permanent as they are in the BDB now) as well as rushing to have a baby. ..."

Hear hear!


Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ Lulu wrote: "I'm not saying they should have to wait centuries. None of them were subjected to the kind of long-term torture of a Z or V but they just seem kind of, well, immature and young and not as interesting to me as a result."

I feel the same as you do.


Adoore I agree I think they are to young and its to soon for them to have found their mates.


message 46: by Mel (new) - rated it 3 stars

Mel And have freakin' babies!


Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ Lalala! There will be no baby! It's all a dream! Bobby Ewing moment! Lalala! I don't see Mel's comment.

*sighs* :-(


message 48: by Mel (new) - rated it 3 stars

Mel Sowwy.... :(


message 49: by Lulu (new) - rated it 1 star

Lulu Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ wrote: "Lalala! There will be no baby! It's all a dream! Bobby Ewing moment! Lalala! I don't see Mel's comment.

*sighs* :-("


Bobby Ewing moment LOL! I wish it was just a bad dream. I'm just not interested in a book that includes a large dose of Layla and her pregnancy and her baby in not only Qhuinn/Blay's book, but in her own book down the road. So wish Ward hadn't gone that direction.


Sarah ♥ Vutch forever ♥ I don't want Layla at all.


« previous 1
back to top