Eileen's Reviews > Jane Austen: A Life

Jane Austen by Claire Tomalin
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7208929
's review
Mar 29, 2012

bookshelves: adult
Read from March 29 to May 07, 2012

I can't give this book a rating because I hate biographies so that'd be unfair, but I cannot tell you how boring and dry it was that I read (for real) 50 pages. I just skipped the rest.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Jane Austen.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

03/29/2012 page 29
7.0% "Need this for my LAL class: we're reading biographies. It's so boring. Reminds me how much I hate non fiction"
03/30/2012 page 29
7.0% "I now know what it means to read slow. I usually zip past books. Thirty minutes, twenty five pages. I can finally sympathize with the slow readers now. :)"
04/18/2012 page 42
11.0% "Please, someone kill me now."
04/18/2012 page 75
19.0% "An hour of my life I will never get back. I hate nonfiction"
04/29/2012 page 82
21.0% "Please. I will do ANYTHING if you can let me throw this book away and do my independent reading on GOOD books. Biographies are so hopelessly dry"
05/01/2012 page 76
19.0% "Backtracking…Going to use my Goodreads status updates to keep track of what's happening instead of just griping. Jane dedicated Love and Friendship to Eliza, her best friend"
05/01/2012 page 77
19.0% "Henry went to Oxford, Edward got married to somebody younger than Cassandra and older than Jane"
05/01/2012 page 82
21.0% "Jane was youngest in family and everybody was in engagements and Jane Cooper had gone to Steventon so Jane was lonely"
05/01/2012 page 103
26.0% "Jane's teenage years were awkward because whatever changes she went through she had to hide it from the boys in her home and she was expected to go to balls and get the attention of boys."
05/06/2012 page 103
26.0% "Jane could play piano and did lots of dancing with her sisters."
05/06/2012 page 104
26.0% "Jane was good at dancing and was not afraid to display her prejudices in it, and Mr. Darcy often did that"
05/06/2012 page 113
28.0% "No one knew what Jane looked like."
05/06/2012 page 133
33.0% "Jane and a boy, Tom Lefroy, were supposedly in that type of young love as children. They eventually got over it"
05/07/2012 page 145
36.0% "I'm just skipping around at this point... Two facts per chapter and I'm just going to skip to the next chapter. Much more efficient"
05/07/2012 page 400
100.0% "As said on Twitter: THANK GOD! I'm done with my biography! Fine, I skipped like, a hundred pages, but I'm DONE! I can go to the library again! Book ban, GONE!"

No comments have been added yet.