Monica's Reviews > The Underneath

The Underneath by Kathi Appelt
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
74413
's review
Jan 01, 09

bookshelves: 2009, childrens
Read in January, 2009

Beautifully written and very original book in the tradition of Watership Down and Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. Wish I had someone to read this aloud to.
1 like · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Underneath.
sign in »

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Really? You didn't find it treacley? I started it and didn't get very far, seemed so flowery and emotionally manipulative. And I LOVE WD and Mrs. Frisby!


message 2: by Monica (last edited Feb 25, 2009 03:41AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Monica Ha! I actually really liked the writing - but it was maybe a little manipulative. It just felt like storytelling should to me: very evocative and heavily embellished, but still effective.

I'll confess I did put it down for a few weeks over the holidays at only halfway through, but I picked it up again last night and finished the rest in one sitting.

I think the WD and Mrs. Frisby comparison comes from the relative naturalism of the animals and the unrepentant darkness of the story. I found this much, much darker than say, The Graveyard Book.


back to top