Lucinda's Reviews > The Winter King

The Winter King by Bernard Cornwell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6463881
's review
Mar 14, 2012

it was amazing
Read in March, 2011

The winter king is the first novel in the acclaimed Warlord chronicles trilogy that is set around the myths & legends of King Arthur and Merlin from the Dark Ages. It is a book that sheds new light on the Arthurian legend which combines myth with historical accuracy and the brutal action of the battlefield with such spellbinding realism. You can tell that this book is going to be good just by basing it on the background of the author and how utterly sucsessfull he was with the no.1 bestselling Sharpe novels, so from a readers perspective i was already put at ease. It is convinsing, fast moving and extremely readable, that is a powerful and drematic retelling of this particular legend. The old-world magic of Merlin is brought vividly to life as you are swept away into a lost world of bloody battles, treachury and betrail that is gripping to read. This trilogy was by far my apsolute favourite books by Bernard Cornwell which left me breathless and wanting more, and as a fan of not only historical fiction but also the Arthurian legends and Celtic myths i was truly mesmirised by his work. For those readers who love authors such as Conn Iggulden, Robyn Young or Micheal Jecks i can imagine that you will apsolutely fall in love with Bernard Cornwell's style and all the intensly moving drama, compelling action and character-driven plot that this particular book embodies. If you have already read literature based upon the Merlin & Arthur legends such as by writers like Jack Whyte (Camuloid chronicles), MK Hume or many others then Bernard Cornwell's Warlord trilogy will take it to a whole new and interesting level of development that is truly remarkable and most enjoyable.
7 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Winter King.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

02/19 marked as: read

Comments <span class="smallText"> (showing 1-1 of 1) </span> <span class="smallText">(1 new)</span>

dateDown arrow    newest »

Doubledf99.99 My favorite Cornwell series as well.


back to top