Jolanda's Reviews > Maximum Ride, Vol. 1

Maximum Ride, Vol. 1 by James Patterson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4455395
's review
Mar 09, 12


Maximum Ride is the first action packed escape and survival volume of James Patterson’s story set off by the artistic talents of Narae Lee in a beautifully developed graphic novel version. Meet six special young adults and children who have been abandoned in a cliff house at the edge of a forest. With nobody to look after them Maximum “Max” has taken a leadership role trying to keep them together and safe.
When a sudden attack and kidnapping disturb the calm of a happy sunny outing for this odd family what can Max do to rescue Angel the youngest of their family? And how are the Erasers finding them time and again? “Fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride knows what it’s like to soar above the world. She and all the members of her ‘flock’- Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman, and Angel- are just like ordinary kids, except they have wings and can fly! It may seem like a dream come true to some, but for the flock it’s more like a living nightmare when the mysterious lab known as the ‘school’ turns up and kidnaps their youngest member…but will help come in time?” (From the promotional excerpt on the back cover)
Try out the beautifully illustrated manga rendering of international bestselling James Patterson’s Maximum Ride. If you like fantasy, adventure and mystery then try one of James Patterson’s YA novels, and if you like all of those in a graphic format look for the next volume of Narae Lee’s work. This is a great story for teens younger or older, boys and girls, the quick pace and simple dialogue are great for a quick read while the graphic format are sometimes difficult for newbies to read I encourage everybody to try one out. This is a good place to begin for American readers because it is left to right and top to bottom the reverse of typical manga and may be an easier introduction. School Library Journal and Booklist had good things to say about either format and suggested a similar range from 7th or 8th grade up.
If you have already read either the Patterson novels or the Lee novels I would suggest trying one of these out: for fans of The Angel Experiment, Fang, Max, or Schools Out you could try another James Patterson work like one of his Witch & Wizard books. Other great works with adventure and elements of the supernatural include Suzanne Collins popular Hunger Games trilogy and Rick Riordan’s popular Percy Jackson and The Heroes of Olympus books. Or if you prefer manga there are the rest of the series or other works like Angel Diary a thirteen book work by Kara Lee YunHee. Other popular YA works have also been put out in graphic novel format, like Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl series. Look for The Artic Incident adapted by Colfer and Andrew Donkin, the art by Giovanni Rigano and surprisingly full color by Paolo Lamanna.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Maximum Ride, Vol. 1.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.