Stacia (the 2010 club)'s Reviews > The Storyteller

The Storyteller by Antonia Michaelis
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4013351
's review
Feb 28, 2012

it was amazing
bookshelves: young-adult, favorites, contemporary-romance, dark-or-taboo, mystery, realistic-general-or-lit-fiction, beautiful-word-porn
Recommended to Stacia (the 2010 club) by: Isamlq
Recommended for: Fans of Hushed or Forbidden
Read from March 07 to 08, 2012

"I'm not answering any questions," he said, smiling. "I'm not one of the answering people. I'm the storyteller."

Abel Tannatek is the storyteller. He is a young man hiding an ugly reality behind pretty words and magical happenings.

In order to find out what he is hiding, we are forced to slowly watch as the layers of his true self are revealed, one ugly layer at a time. Secrets are the only method of survival in a world where you can count on no one but yourself. Secrets are the only choice you have when you must protect the life of an innocent.

Enter Anna. Sheltered, clueless Anna. She has no idea of the darkness and danger outside of her safe little world.

It's late, Anna...they'll be waiting for you, at home...in that house where the air is always blue...they'll be worried.

A chance meeting between the school's drug dealer and an innocent, sheltered student came about because of a lost doll. Had Anna not found the doll, she would have carried on her life as usual. There would be no danger, no mystery, no killing for her to know about. One might say that finding the doll was the worst thing that could have happened to her. I would disagree.

Abel is a broken human being. He's broken to the point of ill repair, yet Anna still sees something in him that's worth saving. As we see Abel through Anna's eyes, we are shown just how much a person will endure in order to spare a life so precious to him - the life of a tiny little girl in a pink jacket.

Abel and Anna bond through time shared as Abel spins wonderful fairytales into existence for his younger sister. Real life becomes the backdrop for the fantasy. Characters in reality become characters in the story. A mystery starts to unfold as characters in the story become bigger players in crimes which start taking place in the real world. Who is the killer? Why does Abel seem to have so much to hide? Why are other people interested in what Abel and Anna are up to?

I can't divulge much without going into spoiler territory. The Storyteller is so beautifully written. The depth of character and layers of detail are heart-breakingly intricate. After I finished, I was left with a few different emotions. Anger and sadness were probably the two most prominent, but I can't say that I have any regrets reading this book. I had a hard time putting my reader down because the story of Abel and Anna was such a pull.

As for the character flaws...I suppose I should address those. Both Abel and Anna disappointed me in a way because of their actions, yet I felt as if their actions made them more real. Abel was abused, so he had no other experience to draw from in learning how to interact with others. Anna had an empty but satisfactory life and she craved more than her own existence inside of a pretty box. Abel was able to give her something she'd never had before and because of this, she was quick to forgive at times when others wouldn't. Right or wrong, I understood why.
56 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Storyteller.
Sign In »

Comments (showing 1-36 of 36) (36 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Isamlq let me know what you think.... i love/hate this one (mostly love)


Stacia (the 2010 club) I sat down tonight to read for a few minutes and before I knew it, I was past the halfway mark. Talk about getting sucked in! If I'm this emotional already, I'm afraid of what's to come.


Jenny - TotallybookedBlog oh wow Stacia, I can't wait to see what you think of this book....it's sounding good already. Is it Kill a Rockstar emotional?


Stacia (the 2010 club) I had some of the same exact moments that I did while reading HTK. There's a scene that happens at about 60% in (which is the same place where Paul did something shitty in HTK) that gave me a gut punch, then there was another moment at the end of the book that had me like Paul's stunt.

This book was so beautifully written and the story was incredible. I think it's worthy of 5 stars, but I'm too upset right now to write a review.


Jenny - TotallybookedBlog right....I'm onto this one Stacia....I haven't had an emotional book like HTK and I need something that will give me that feeling. You've convinced me!


Jen (The Starry-Eyed Revue) I read a great review of this one over at The Readventurer...now I'm sold!


message 8: by Kay (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kay Great review!! It makes me want to drop everything and read it right now!!


message 9: by Laura (new) - added it

Laura You make this sound so good!! I need to read it!


Stacia (the 2010 club) I hope you guys get a chance to. If nothing else, the book is great for discussion.


message 11: by Laura (new) - added it

Laura Just finished. At a total loss for words, I have none, they've dried up.


message 12: by Christina (new) - added it

Christina Thanks for bringing this book back to my attention. I rarely get a chance to go back through and pick my next book to read.


Stacia (the 2010 club) If you do read it, let me know what you thought.


♥Rachel♥ Stacia, a friend recommended this to me and I read it knowing I was headed for a heartbreak. Still I was not prepared!! I wasn't spoiled so I had no idea what was coming. I loved this but I broke my heart and stayed with me for days!! Lovely review.


message 15: by Katy (new) - rated it 4 stars

Katy So I really want to read this book but was going to wait to guy it because the cheapest I've found it for is like 14$. (The library in my city sucks so its not an option haha). Anyway I think you've convinced me to go buy it anyway :P


Stacia (the 2010 club) Thanks Rachel. :) I also had no clue what to expect. There were so many things I was still thinking about after I was done reading. To this day, I still don't know if the teacher was (view spoiler)

Katy, I'm gonna inbox you in a sec.


♥Rachel♥ (view spoiler)


Stacia (the 2010 club) That's the sign of a good book, when it makes you see things in a way that you normally might not.

I was shocked too about what else he was doing. As for (view spoiler)


Sharon ∞❥ is an angst book junkie ❥∞ Yay for 5 stars...another one ive been wanting to read.


Sharon ∞❥ is an angst book junkie ❥∞ i skimmed over ur review because i like to be surprised when i read a book. ill read it more thoroughly after i read the book but i can tell its a great review as always!


Stacia (the 2010 club) Another missed comment. GR updates so fail. Do let me know if you end up reading it. I think this is an interesting one for discussion.


Sharon ∞❥ is an angst book junkie ❥∞ i know....its work to keep up w/cking for all the comments anymore! :(

ill definitely let u know when i read it.


message 23: by Joy (new) - added it

Joy This is my next read...your review sucked me in, can't wait!!


Stacia (the 2010 club) It's such a beautiful book. The mystery really starts to suck you in about midway.

Now I can't wait to see what your thoughts are!


message 25: by Joy (new) - added it

Joy I have to admit...I started reading this book, and then I had so many of my friends tell me to read The Opportunist, I did a book cheat, so bad...but I'm on chapter two. I’m really excited about this one! Your reviews are so honest and I love that!


Stacia (the 2010 club) I understand that it's all about mood. I have times where I'm supposed to be reading one thing but another book is pulling at me.


message 27: by Joy (new) - added it

Joy Agreed! It doesn't happen often but it does happen!


Cara  Cutrer I adored this book! All the good, ugly, bad, beautiful, break my heart in to minute of this book. More people need to read this book.

That is why when someone likes it as much as me....I just have to talk about it. AND I swear everytime EVERYTIME I get that same feeling I had when I finished it. It's a book that is magical. I've never read anything like it.

I thought I was going to get through it without crying...I almost did a few times, but got through. BUT OH MY GOD!! you know the part... I cried. No. I sobbed so hard I had to stop so I could get a hold of myself. It just didn't stop there. Days....even a week later...if I found myself thinking about it I would start to cry. Hell, I'm crying right now and I read it back in March.

This is one of my very very favorites.


Stacia (the 2010 club) Wow, I never got a notification for your comment Cara. I agree. When I first finished the book I needed to talk about it and I feel the same exact way when others are taken with it. I kept thinking about the book for a while....it really did have that much of an impact on me.


Louise Amazing review Stacia!


Stacia (the 2010 club) Thanks Louise!


Jane The 'Just a Tiny little Pain' song though...
had me whispering it to myself like a creep for days


Stacia (the 2010 club) I don't remember it now but I know the feeling of having something stuck in my head!


Ronyell Awesome review Stacia! This book was seriously shocking!


Stacia (the 2010 club) Thanks. :)

I appreciated that this book turned out to be something different from what I was expecting, but not in a bad way.


Ronyell Stacia (the 2010 club) wrote: "Thanks. :)

I appreciated that this book turned out to be something different from what I was expecting, but not in a bad way."


Exactly!


back to top