Bonnie's Reviews > The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own M... by Catherynne M. Valente
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1876124
's review
Feb 14, 2012

really liked it
bookshelves: 2011-books, ya-middle-grade
Read in July, 2012

This is a book very much in the vein of Alice in Wonderland and Un Lun Dun and is very clever and silly and cute but that I unfortunately had a bit of getting into. Even though it has many very charming turns of phrase and a cheeky air, it felt for some reason too thick and slow. Maybe a touch too knowingly twee? But then that ending! That ending was breathtaking. It was shocking and powerful and just so, so good.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.