Paul Hankins's Reviews > The Children and the Wolves

The Children and the Wolves by Adam Rapp
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6749457
Adam Rapp won a Prinz Honor for PUNKZILLA, a wonderful but edgy Hero's Journey story about a young man strung out but trying to get to his terminally ill brother before he dies.

But I first discovered Rapp with his title, 33 SNOWFISH, a book that begins with the line, "On top of everything else, Booby's got the clap." Edgy. . .edgy. . .edgy. . .in 33 SNOWFISH, the characters are holding one of their baby brothers for ransom as they drive around in a van.

In THE CHILDREN AND THE WOLVES, multiple narrators, including a four-year-old hostage, weave a tale of desperation, loneliness, foggy-headed-ness, and manipulation.

With powerful lines that often read like Walt Whitman gone all crazy by the night fires, Rapp offers another work that will require some reader-advisory, but will also find readers who enjoy CRANK, TWEAKED, SMACK, 33 SNOWFISH, PUSH, and NOTHING.

This book will not be for all readers, but Rapp has a way and a means of making you look. . .and guiding through a reading that you might not be ready for. Every character in this book has found themselves in some kind of weird-ish clockwork display, and each turn of the page winds the key.
Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Children and the Wolves.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

02/04/2012 page 58
13.0%
02/05/2012 page 58
13.0% ""Lying to bounce made me feel all loose inside. Like my stomach was a sponged full of sewer water." Raw, edgy, over-the-top and a punch-in-the-gut. If you were able to hang with 33 SNOWFISH, Rapp is back again. And this time--he's brought wolves."
show 1 hidden update…

No comments have been added yet.