Roger DeBlanck's Reviews > All Aunt Hagar's Children

All Aunt Hagar's Children by Edward P. Jones
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Aug 10, 2015

really liked it
bookshelves: fiction

After winning the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Award for his sweeping epic, The Known World, Edward P. Jones returns with a collection of fourteen blistering and mesmerizing stories in All Aunt Hagar’s Children. The settings for these stories range across Washington D.C. throughout the breadth of the 20th century. The stories are full of unsettling revelations that produce seismic occasions of adversity and change in the lives of a plethora of unforgettable characters who encounter complex, moral struggles that test their ability to overcome the destabilizing forces of sadness, emptiness, and loss. Jones covers territory as disturbing as the horrors of violence and as sublime as the inexplicability of miracles. Heartfelt and haunting, these beautifully-envisioned tales do not blink in the face of insurmountable hardship. Jones conjures up immense emotional power through his signature use of a spare and simple style. He is masterful at unveiling disturbing truths hidden in the human psyche. All Aunt Hagar’s Children is a harsh, uneasy, and stunning collection that takes hold of the human condition like a vise and uses a visionary compass to chart the tough road to haul towards healing and grace.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read All Aunt Hagar's Children.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.