Michèle's Reviews > The Way of Thorn and Thunder

The Way of Thorn and Thunder by Daniel Heath Justice
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3063237
's review
Jan 15, 2012

it was amazing
bookshelves: fantastic-fantasy
Read from January 15 to March 30, 2012

I regret to have to leave this lovingly built world.

Imagine if Tolkien had been an Amerindian.

A lovingly built country inhabited by various races, and genre-bending, the stuff of a great adventure movie.

More later.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Way of Thorn and Thunder.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

01/15/2012 page 54
10.0% "If Tolkien had been native, he would have written this story. New saga, a complex map at the beginning telling me that the action will expand..."
01/25/2012 page 110
20.0% "This universe kind of grows on you... I do like to read a part every evening, at the end of a busy day."
01/25/2012 page 112
21.0% "On page 100, there was a fine description of a vegetal landscape, with about 5-6 plants named, while I find difficult to write an apt description of one or two trees in my fiction!"
02/04/2012 page 150
28.0% "Discovering the central Kyn city and meeting nice characters, réminiscent of Amerindians but not too much. A brand of fantasy with a Tolkien touch."
02/10/2012 page 184
30.0% "Un livre à lire tranquillement: l'auteur a pris beaucoup de plaisir pour construire sa société et il nous la détaille... un peu trop."
02/28/2012 page 280
45.0% "I am still immersed in this universe"
03/13/2012 page 335
54.0% "this book is growing on me. Amerindian fantasy was awkward to grasp in the beginning, but then, the trilogy hit the speed pedal soon enough."
03/15/2012 page 389
63.0% "Murphy's law strikes will all its might on the Kyn holiest place. And this closes the second tome. I am fortunate to have bought the three books wielded together..."
03/23/2012 page 478
78.0% "Ooooh, la grosse confrontation finale approche... Chuis sur'l'bord de ma chaise!"
show 1 hidden update…

No comments have been added yet.