Dracolibris's Reviews > Enclave

Enclave by Ann Aguirre
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
215236
's review
Jan 05, 12

bookshelves: 2011, post-apocalyptic, ya-lit

Just as I begin getting weary of the glut of dystopian/ post-apocalyptic teen literature flooding the market these days (see my review for X-Isle- I am still mad about Fart Club), along comes a gem in the bucket, and I am reminded why I have enjoyed this genre since *I* was a teen. This is such a book.

I thought this book stood apart from the crowd because of its excellent writing, characters, world-building and sense of thrilling danger. Literally, there is danger at every turn, yet our protagonist accepts this without questions, because that is what Deuce has been training for her whole, short and miserable life.

Highly recommended for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, strong female characters, and spooky/creepy action adventure novels. Not recommended for the squeamish, or those easily offended by talk of "breeding" and or curse words.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Enclave.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.