Deborah's Reviews > Planet of the Apes

Planet of the Apes by Pierre Boulle
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7088493
's review
Jan 02, 12

bookshelves: classics, creepy-fun
Read in January, 2012

This is a wry satire of the human race and its potential for self-destruction. In this case, it is not war, but the arrogance of species and a natural tendency to laziness that leads to despair. Two great puzzles have inspired the text: the archaeological search for the roots of civilization and the scientific search for the nature of humanity. Here, the evolutionary tables are turned as the apes take their turn in the chain of ascendancy. The scientific establishment takes a hit, being classed as orangutans, and one suspects that the author intended a truth-in-jest comparison. The book is written in the tradition of George Orwell, H.G. Wells, or William Golding, and will appeal to a reader of classics, though not so much to a fan of modern sci-fi. It is a short, fast-paced, easy read.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Planet of the Apes.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.