Dee-Ann's Reviews > The Street Sweeper

The Street Sweeper by Elliot Perlman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3114642
's review
Apr 17, 12

bookshelves: australian-authors, five-star, historical-fiction, goodreads-giveaway, memoir, library-book-reading-session
Read from March 25 to April 17, 2012

I got to the point of no return last night ... I just had to finish the last 100 pages, and thus are feeling the effects today. Great book, which is a mirage of peoples lives and periods of time. Not too sure about the final paragraph and was expecting a little bit more Ver good though. It is a bit harrowing with the descriptions of the death camps and it is near impossble to imagine the savagery required to manage and work these areas.
5 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Street Sweeper.
sign in »

Reading Progress

03/25/2012 page 36
6.0% "getting into it"
03/26/2012 page 40
7.0% "acts of racism make me cringe, in that the victims are often helpless, in the wrong place at the wrong time."
03/31/2012 page 85
15.0% "sombre"
04/01/2012 page 102
18.0% "the links are fascinating"
04/02/2012 page 110
20.0% "complex ... but I want to follow more of what is happening to Lamont."
04/09/2012 page 270
49.0% "This book could make the year 12 booklist in the near future, though not sure about all the dates and references. It has me hooked."
04/10/2012 page 280
51.0% "The atrocities are hard to deal with, on both continents."
04/11/2012 page 284
51.0% "I naively thought the atrocities stopped at the end of WW11."
04/15/2012 page 388
70.0% "Almost missed my busstop this morning as I was so engrossed in the story. Very bleak at the moment."
04/16/2012 page 438
79.0% "I could not get the incinerator images out of my head lst night ... I just have to read on to hopefully replace them with other images." 1 comment

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

Mish Dee-Ann, I completely forgot to write a review on this but I’ve written one now – Amazing book and compelling read. I hope you enjoy it :)


back to top