Cassie's Reviews > Across the Universe

Across the Universe by Beth Revis
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5285285
's review
May 10, 12

bookshelves: books-i-own, cover-love, fantasy, created-world, read-in-2012, reviewed-on-blog
Read from April 01 to 08, 2012

** spoiler alert ** I was really looking forward to reading 'Across the Universe' by Beth Revis. Right from the beginning I was really into it. It dragged me in and didn't let me go. At least not till have way through the book.

Beth was able to implement so many thing into this book, of people stuck in a ship headed to a new Earth that I would have never even thought of. That I never saw half of this book coming. The crazy "mating". The lies that were fuelling the ship. Elder and Amy were sweet together and trying to find who was behind everything. It all worked together. I really enjoyed it all. But afterwards, when some of the secrets were revealed. It just got predictable.

It was obvious who was trying to kill all of the frozens. It was obvious that Eldest was lying about so much stuff. Who the Doctor and Eldest were afraid was still alive. But what really got me and that I for the life of me could not believe, was that they were so far behind on schedule from getting to the planet. The only thing going through my mind was that if they had already been in space for so long and couldn't make it, why didn't they just turn back around. I mean really. Instead they just came up with a terrible hierarchy and kept on chugging along like the engine that could(not).

I don't think that it helped that I accidentally saw the chapter that revealed who awoke Amy. So I just saw it coming. No surprise there.

All together the book was really good and I genuinely enjoyed it. But little pieces all together weren't that great. Together they worked. So all together I definitely look forward to reading 'A Million Suns' when it comes out in paperback.

To see more of my reviews, visit my blog: http://www.futterflies.blogspot.com/
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Across the Universe.
sign in »

Reading Progress

04/01/2012 page 1
0.0% "Chapter 1: Amy"
04/01/2012 page 14
4.0% "Chapter 2: Elder"
04/02/2012 page 18
5.0% "Chapter 3: Amy"
04/02/2012 page 21
5.0% "Chapter 4: Elder"
04/02/2012 page 32
8.0% "Chapter 5: Amy"
04/02/2012 page 33
8.0% "Chapter 6: Elder"
04/02/2012 page 48
12.0% "Chapter 7: Amy"
04/02/2012 page 50
13.0% "Chapter 8: Elder"
04/03/2012 page 62
16.0% "Chapter 9: Amy"
04/03/2012 page 65
16.0% "Chapter 10: Elder"
04/03/2012 page 67
17.0% "Chapter 11: Amy"
04/03/2012 page 71
18.0% "Chapter 12: Elder"
04/03/2012 page 77
19.0% "Chapter 13: Amy"
04/03/2012 page 80
20.0% "Chapter 14: Elder"
04/03/2012 page 85
21.0% "Chapter 15: Amy"
04/03/2012 page 91
23.0% "Chapter 16: Elder"
04/03/2012 page 97
24.0% "Chapter 17: Amy"
04/03/2012 page 112
28.0% "Chapter 18: Elder"
04/03/2012 page 119
30.0% "Chapter 19: Amy"
04/03/2012 page 126
32.0% "Chapter 20: Elder"
04/03/2012 page 131
33.0% "Chapter 21: Amy"
04/03/2012 page 139
35.0% "Chapter 22: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 141
35.0% "Chapter 23: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 145
36.0% "Chapter 24: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 148
37.0% "Chapter 25: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 153
38.0% "Chapter 26: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 155
39.0% "Chapter 27: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 158
40.0% "Chapter 28: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 164
41.0% "Chapter 29: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 170
43.0% "Chapter 30: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 178
45.0% "Chapter 31: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 183
46.0% "Chapter 32: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 186
47.0% "Chapter 33: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 195
49.0% "Chapter 34: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 200
50.0% "Chapter 35: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 201
51.0% "Chapter 36: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 203
51.0% "Chapter 37: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 207
52.0% "Chapter 38: Elder"
04/04/2012 page 211
53.0% "Chapter 39: Amy"
04/04/2012 page 214
54.0% "Chapter 40: Elder"
04/05/2012 page 217
55.0% "Chapter 41: Amy"
04/05/2012 page 224
56.0% "Chapter 42: Elder"
04/05/2012 page 229
58.0% "Chapter 43: Amy"
04/05/2012 page 237
60.0% "Chapter 44: Elder"
04/05/2012 page 241
61.0% "Chapter 45: Amy"
04/05/2012 page 243
61.0% "Chapter 46: Elder"
04/05/2012 page 249
63.0% "Chapter 47: Amy"
04/05/2012 page 256
64.0% "Chapter 48: Elder"
04/05/2012 page 258
65.0% "Chapter 49: Amy"
04/05/2012 page 262
66.0% "Chapter 50: Elder"
04/05/2012 page 266
67.0% "Chapter 51: Amy"
04/05/2012 page 271
68.0% "Chapter 52: Elder"
04/05/2012 page 277
70.0% "Chapter 53: Amy"
04/05/2012 page 281
71.0% "Chapter 54: Elder"
04/06/2012 page 287
72.0% "Chapter 55: Amy"
04/06/2012 page 291
73.0% "Chapter 56: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 300
75.0% "Chapter 57: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 307
77.0% "Chapter 58: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 312
78.0% "Chapter 59: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 315
79.0% "Chapter 60: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 318
80.0% "Chapter 61: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 325
82.0% "Chapter 62: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 330
83.0% "Chapter 63: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 334
84.0% "Chapter 64: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 340
85.0% "Chapter 65: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 344
86.0% "Chapter 66: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 349
88.0% "Chapter 67: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 351
88.0% "Chapter 68: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 357
90.0% "Chapter 69: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 360
90.0% "Chapter 70: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 364
91.0% "Chapter 71: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 367
92.0% "Chapter 72: Elder"
04/07/2012 page 372
93.0% "Chapter 73: Amy"
04/07/2012 page 375
94.0% "Chapter 74: Elder"
04/08/2012 page 381
96.0% "Chapter 75: Amy"
04/08/2012 page 385
97.0% "Chapter 76: Elder"
04/08/2012 page 386
97.0% "The Past Elder"
04/08/2012 page 389
98.0% "Chapter 77: Amy"
04/08/2012 page 391
98.0% "Chapter 78: Elder"
04/08/2012 page 392
98.0% "Chapter 79: Amy"
04/08/2012 page 395
99.0% "Chapter 80: Elder"
04/08/2012 page 397
100.0% "Chapter 81: Amy"
04/08/2012 page 398
100.0% "Finished, review coming soon!"

No comments have been added yet.