Dan Schwent's Reviews > Merkabah Rider: Have Glyphs Will Travel

Merkabah Rider by Edward M. Erdelac
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
870755
's review
Aug 01, 2016

really liked it
bookshelves: pulp, weird-western, 2011, books-by-authors-i-have-interviewed, lovecraftian
Read from December 08 to 13, 2011

Every reader eventually stumbles upon a book (or series) that feels like it was written with their particular tastes in mind. For me, one of those works is the Merkabah Rider series.

Volume three picks up where volume two left off, with The Rider, a Jewish mystic gunfighter in the old west, persuing Adon, his teacher and betrayer who means to bring about the end of the world.

The Long Sabbath: The Rider and Kabede ride into a remote camp with a horde of zombies on their trail, led by three rogue Sons of the Essenes. How can they survive when the soldiers throw them in jail on sight?

The Long Sabbath was a good reintroduction to the saga of the Merkabah Rider. The gore factor was high, both with the zombies and the other vile things, and more details of Adon's plans were revealed. One of the things that I love about the Rider is that he isn't a super hero and frequently takes quite a beating. Adon's renegades were formidable foes and I have a feeling we'll be seeing more of the same.

The War Shaman: Misquamacus is massing an Indian army to exterminate the Mexicans and white men and it's up to The Rider, Belden, and Kabade to stop him with the help of friends new and old. But can they stop Misquamacus from summoning one of the Great Old Ones?

The Rider didn't actually do that much in this one. It was more of an expository segment with the identity of Adam Belial revealed. Without giving anything away, I was not dissatisfied with the revelation in the least.

The Mules of Mazzikim: The Rider parts ways with Kabede and Belden to go to Yuma to find Nehema. But will he find her... or trouble?

Here we go! The Rider meets up with the succubus from then first book and chaos ensues. More details of the overall plot are revealed and the Rider winds up in a precarious predicament by the end.

The Man Called Other: The Rider winds up in the clink and meets up with...

Holy Sh!t! Revelations of a unbelievable magnitude are revealed when the Rider has a meeting that has been a long time coming. Much like the last stories in the previous volume, Erdelac turns everything on its ear. Man, the wait for the fourth and final volume is going to be torturous.

The Fire King Triumphant: The Rider and company return to Tombstone to get some answers...

There's not a lot I can reveal about this story without giving too much away. There are revelations, shocks, a cliffhanger, and Lovecraftian beasties.

In conclusion, Edward M. Erdelac consistently delivers the goods with this series. The Merkabah Rider should appeal to fans of Stephen King's Dark Tower, HP Lovecraft, Robert E. Howard, and similar works. If you like any of those things, you owe it to yourself to give the Merkabah Rider a try.

And now the agonizing wait for the fourth book begins...
26 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Merkabah Rider.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

12/08/2011 page 1
0.0% "IT HAS ARRIVED!"
08/01/2016 marked as: read
show 13 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-5 of 5) (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

My copy just arrived. Starting it today at lunch.


message 2: by Dan (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dan Schwent D_Davis wrote: "My copy just arrived. Starting it today at lunch."

I think you'll be pleased. I'm really digging it so far.


message 3: by Stephen (new) - added it

Stephen How did I not know about this?

One good thing about the Kindle...no time lag between "must have" and "now have."


message 4: by Dan (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dan Schwent The kindle version came out around Thanksgiving and the print one last Wednesday or Thursday.


message 5: by Mohammed (new)

Mohammed I almost hate you guys for reading this so fast and before me :P

Dont forget his new straight western ;)


back to top