Erin Forson's Reviews > Vampire Rising

Vampire Rising by Jason Henderson
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7073489
's review
Dec 02, 11


Alex Van Helsing: Vampire Rising
by Jason Henderson
When students at Glenarvan Academy near Lake Geneva begin their study of the Villa Diodati Group of writers they have no idea how much their studies will impact the future. Writers in this group included: Lord Byron, Mary Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Godwin,Claire Godwin, and a writer named Polidori, the famous group that made a bet which produced the epic novel, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. But what seems like just another English assignment turns out to be something far more valuable for Alex Van Helsing, who, by the way, is really, really tired of people telling him his name is the last name of a notorious vampire-killer. Vampires, don't exist, after all. Or do they? Fans of Riordan's the Last Olympian Series, and The Maze of Bones saga, may enjoy this mystery/sci-fi thriller. While not quite as addicting as Percy Jackson, Van Helsing's character is interesting, and the reader becomes quite curious as to what an old novel like Frankenstein has to do with the obvious and very real vampires that keep popping up all around him. And when two of his friends are kidnapped by vampires, Alex soon learns what that relationship is.
likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Vampire Rising.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.