Libby's Reviews > Mort

Mort by Terry Pratchett
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1107171
's review
May 30, 2008

liked it
bookshelves: year-of-only-good-books, summerreading08, fantasy
Recommended to Libby by: Tristan, everybody
Recommended for: Fans of both Lewis Carroll and Monty Python
Read in May, 2008

Terry Pratchett's writing is uniformly delightful. This tale of Death's hapless apprentice was my introduction to the DiscWorld series, and I enjoyed it immensely. The world functions on gloriously nonsensical logic, which allows for a myriad of nonsensical characters, all of whom are given dignity, purpose, and no small amount of funny business.

My only complaint is that the narrative gets somewhat muddled in the last fifty pages or so, which is partially due to Pratchett having already delivered all the setup puns and needing to tie things up hurriedly, but I don't expect that it'll be a fault that pervades the series. I already have another Pratchett novel from the library and keenly anticipate my return to DiscWorld.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Mort.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.