Meg ♥'s Reviews > 11/22/63

11/22/63 by Stephen King
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5691412
's review
Mar 15, 12

bookshelves: e-books, z-2012-reads, favs
Read from January 04 to 16, 2012


I'll be honest here. It's really rare that I get through a book over 500 pages, let alone 700 (Nook pages). It's also true that I have never read a single thing from Mr. King until now. Why? I'm not sure. Maybe his books intimidated me, because when I was younger everyone was always talking to me about how his books were so long, and blah blah. Anyway, I am proud to say that 11/22/63 was my first book read by Stephen King. I hear it's so much different than his other work, but I also haven't met a single person that didn't love it. I read this book because everybody and their brother was recommending it to me as a "must read". I'm also not a big historical fiction fan, and didn't know how much I would enjoy reading about 20 years before my birth. I had nothing to worry about.


Here is a book that you never want to end, yet you do want it to end, because you need to know what is going to happen. King introduces us to a man named Jake who insists that he is not emotionless despite the fact that he doesn't cry often. I can relate to him right off the bat. Not a big crier, but I definitely feel emotions on a huge level. Jake is sent back to 1963 with a plan made up by a guy named Al who owns a local diner, and has the "rabbit hole" which is how they travel back in time. At first his mission is just to stop Lee Harvey Oswald from assassinating JFK, but then little things pop up here and there making him consider a few new things that need to be changed. I'm not going into any more detail than that, because I don't want to give away one single thing in this brilliant novel. Fans of his story "It" may be excited to know he revisits the town of Derry, Maine, where "It" was located.


The excitement and suspense in this book were astonishing. I held my breath in anticipation of certain things Jake had to do, and then some twist would come out of left field, and I would continue reading in awe. There were also several sighs of relief and a couple of cute moments involving Jake's romance that just made me say "aww".


I do feel like there were a rough 100ish pages that dragged on somewhere in the middle, and the book may have benefited by taking out a few things, but obviously I'm no expert. That's just my opinion. Again, this may have also been just something I was feeling, because I was very impatient and really wanting to know how this book would end. Some people didn't like the ending, but I loved it!


In the afterword King discusses his research a bit. You can most definitely tell that a lot of research and thought went into this novel. The descriptions are vivid and when I say you are really transported back to the 60's I mean it. You will feel it.


11/22/63 is a truly memorable, wonderfully written book that I have already recommended to several family members and friends, and I will continue to recommend for years to come. This is another of King's books that I could see as a film, too. If you are wanting to try a Stephen King book, but don't know if you will like all the horror, read this! It is not like that at all.
255 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read 11/22/63.
Sign In »

Quotes Meg ♥ Liked

Stephen King
“Sarcastic people tend to be marshmallows underneath the armor”
Stephen King, 11/22/63

Stephen King
“When all else fails, give up and go to the library.”
Stephen King, 11/22/63


Reading Progress

01/04/2012 page 80
9.0% 4 comments
01/10/2012 page 153
18.0% "251"
01/14/2012 page 489
71.0% "Gah, I feel like the slowest reader. Ever! I will finish this book this weekend. :-)"
show 6 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-50 of 69) (69 new)


Duchess Nicole Are you liking this? I've heard great things.


Meg ♥ I think it's amazing. I haven't had much time to read it this week, and I had to interrupt it to get a review done, but I am itching to dive back into this asap!


Nick I'm starting this tomorrow. My wife is driving me insane saying "read this, read this".


Meg ♥ LOL...She's right, Nick! I already know you will love it.


Nick Thank you for not spoiling anything. I'm just now 200 pages in. Great review though. I hope I love this as much as you did.


Shirley Cressman I agree. It could have been shortened a little and remained perfect.


Chris An amazing review. I'm glad the book is worth reading the 700 pages.


Meg ♥ @ Nick - me too! :-)

@ Shirley - cool. I almost took that part out, feeling like I shouldn't have said that, because obviously the man knows what he's doing...but it's just my thoughts so yeah lol

@Chris- it definitely was!


Bill Great review, Meg.
Wow, your first King!
I haven't read this one yet but it's on the to-read list for sure.
You might want to try It or The Dead Zone for your next King experience :)


message 10: by HєllyBєlly (new) - added it

HєllyBєlly I've never read anything by King, I have always associated him with super scary books - not the kind that just feeds your inner crocodile a little, but give you nightmares... However, this review made we want to check him out, at least this title. Thanks!


Meg ♥ Ahh, yes, I remember "It" lol...I watched the movie when I was very young and it scared the crap out of me. As a teen I went to read the book because my grandma had it at her house. It's the intimidation thing I mentioned that stopped me. I saw the page numbers and was like omg! But I may try it again now that I have more patience lol.


Meg ♥ @Helly- I'm the same way. Not a big horror fan. I just read the synopsis of this book and knew I had to read it. I don't think you would be disappointed giving this book a try! I have heard it's very different than his usual books, and I'm guessing that's true, because this one wasn't scary at all. :-)


message 13: by Daniel (new)

Daniel Great review Meg. I haven't read many of King's books, but I have learned that he depicts the 1960s very well (at least, in my own pieced-together-through-history-books understanding of the period).


message 14: by Shayantani (new)

Shayantani Das Nice review! You make me want to read this, even though my previous experience with King hasn’t been good. Like your inability to cry easily, I am incapable of being scared easily. This book doesn’t pretend to be scary, does it?


Meg ♥ Hmm no, this isn't his typical horror novel, it's got romance and all :-)


Brandon Meg ♥ wrote: "I do feel like there were a rough 100ish pages that dragged on somewhere in the middle, and the book may have benefited by taking out a few things, but obviously I'm no expert. That's just my opinion."

I felt that drag as well. Seemed like it took me a while to get out of it.


Meg ♥ Brandon, thanks for the comment. Glad I'm not the only one that felt that way.


Heidi I have been trying to reas this for two months, not that I don't love it I do but I don't want it to end and all these tours and log commitments keep coming up.,Oh my gosh this is your first King! You must read IT..then you will understand better some of the references aout Derry, Clowns and Bev and Richie!


Meg ♥ Yeah, I understood a little from seeing the movie, but that was so long ago and although it was awesome I doubt it covers everything from that long book. I am going to read it eventually. I had the same problem when I was reading this, though. Other things kept coming up, and I didn't want it to end, but I'm glad I finally finished it!


message 20: by Leyoh (new) - added it

Leyoh I'm the same, never read a King, always thought I was the wrong age and gender, will definitely give it a go.


message 21: by Bri (new) - added it

Bri I have wanted to try a Stephen King book too so maybe I will buy this one. Nice review Meg.


message 22: by Dale (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dale Halfway through, and I've read most of King's works, this is one of his best. It is different, though. Another must read IMO is "Duma Key".


Dustin Very nice review, Meg.:) Thank you for the invite.

With one exception (the middle being a little slow,) I agree with you completely. I'll admit that perhaps it could have been quicker, I think it's important for the reader to experience that part of Jake's new life in Texas just as he did. It's as if you're friends with Sadie, Mike, Deke, etc..


Meg ♥ Dustin wrote: "Very nice review, Meg.:) Thank you for the invite.

With one exception (the middle being a little slow,) I agree with you completely. I'll admit that perhaps it could have been quicker, I think it'..."


Thanks Dustin. I appreciate you checking out my review and commenting. We both agree this book was amazing. :-)


Claire Fantastic review Meg. I think you did a really good job capturing the way I also felt reading this. Although I immensely enjoyed this whole book I agree that in the middle he could have "trimmed the fat" a bit.


message 26: by Michelle (new) - added it

Michelle Great review :) Now I know I have to read this! I mean the sixties and JFK factors already had me sold, but I've been waiting to see a review like this to confirm it :)


Meg ♥ Maree wrote: "Great review :) Now I know I have to read this! I mean the sixties and JFK factors already had me sold, but I've been waiting to see a review like this to confirm it :)"

Thanks, Maree! Definitely read it. It's unlike anything I've ever read. :)


Brittany B. Nice review! I have heard this was very good. Even my bf liked this one. (he usually reads war novels, especially special ops killing terrorists.) so it's nice to see a smart woman enjoyed this too.

I tried to read It as teen I couldn't get far past the clown. But I see you recommend that one as well. I might take another look at it.


Meg ♥ Brittany B. wrote: "Nice review! I have heard this was very good. Even my bf liked this one. (he usually reads war novels, especially special ops killing terrorists.) so it's nice to see a smart woman enjoyed this too..."

Thanks, Brittany. I actually never read "It". I just thought that fans of "It" would think it's interesting that Stephen King has Jake travel to Derry, Maine, where "It" takes place. :) I saw the movie, though. Definitely scared the crap out of me, but I was like 13? lol


Diane Awesome review Meg!!! I'm so glad you loved it because this is not only one of my favorite King novels, but books of all time! I recommend it to everyone I know who loves to read.


Heidi I really need to get back to this one! Loved your review.


Heidi Oh and Meg Stephen King rocks my reading world I have read almost everything the man has written. You should read IT, that was my first King book. I would also HIGHLY recommend Wizards and Glass!


Meg ♥ Diane wrote: "Awesome review Meg!!! I'm so glad you loved it because this is not only one of my favorite King novels, but books of all time! I recommend it to everyone I know who loves to read."

Thank you, Diane! I recommend it highly myself. The more people I can convince to read this the better. :D


Meg ♥ Heidi wrote: "Oh and Meg Stephen King rocks my reading world I have read almost everything the man has written. You should read IT, that was my first King book. I would also HIGHLY recommend Wizards and Glass!"

Thanks, Heidi! I know, I know. I really want to read It, and I loved the movie. I feel like the book should have so much more to offer, too. It's just one of those books I picked up at 13 and got scared by the high page count lol I will read it, though, eventually!


message 35: by Diane (last edited Mar 15, 2012 08:51AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Diane I agree with Heidi! You should definitely read IT. You will have a greater appreciation for it now after reading this book.


Heidi I was ecstatic when Jake got to Derry and ran into Bev and Richie and when they said Beep Beep it was so nostalgic. I read IT when I was fifteen and have read it several times since then. It is a page turner. Also Bag of Bones is another to check out.


Diane Revisiting with Bev & Richie was truly awesome. Did you also notice Christine made an appearance?


Heidi I haven't gotten that far Diane can't wait!


Diane Oops sorry! I thought you finished it! :(


Meg ♥ Diane wrote: "Oops sorry! I thought you finished it! :("

I don't even remember that. Ahh I must have totally missed that. :( Oh well. Despite this book being very long I have a feeling I will reread it again eventually to find some of the little things I may have missed. He's such a great writer. I know I'm like years too late saying that lol


Heidi Meg he is known as the master for a reason..now you will be a constant reader as well.


Beckie I read this in hardcover...it would have been so much easier on my Nook! LOL! I am glad you loved it, too.


Anne  (Booklady) Molinarolo Good Review. This is on my short TBR List at #3 after American Gods. I'm totally confused after 145 pages. Laura crept me out visiting Shadow, poor hapless lug. I think Wednesday is the Devil, himself. Am I right?


Meg ♥ Anne (Booklady) wrote: "Good Review. This is on my short TBR List at #3 after American Gods. I'm totally confused after 145 pages. Laura crept me out visiting Shadow, poor hapless lug. I think Wednesday is the..."

Thanks. I loved this book ten thousand times more than American Gods. I can't wait to see what you think of this book. It took me like a week or more to finish it, but this book was just so amazing!


Sarah I loved the ending too. Beautiful!


message 46: by Fiona (new)

Fiona I am finally getting to read this book Meg. Ever since I read your review I have been dying to read it but it will probably take me some time to finish.


Donna Meg,
Stephen King is the Master for me - I've read and seen nearly everything he's done. Not all of his books are written to scare you - some are to make you think, and others are just comments of life in general. His description abilities are unmatched - he can take the most mundane item and use it to scare you if he wants. The best thing you can do it to read each synopsis and see what the book is about, then dive right in! If you're easily scared, IT is gonna make you uncomfortable, but it's so good. The Dead Zone is good - no monsters there (except for politicians, and that shouldn't be a surprise!). The Running Man, and The Long Walk are both like the Hunger Games in that they're about a future society and the atrocities the government puts on the people of that time. I'm just going off the top of my head here, so I'm probably leaving out a few very good ones. The only book of his that I haven't liked is The Cell. No monsters, really, but the ending was lame and fell flat for me. Pet Sematary scared the heck out of me - my brother had just died, and, if you read the book, you'll understand why.

I tend to hold on to King's books - saving them to savor slowly, but your review has made me move 11/22/63 up on my TBR pile.... LOL... I still haven't read Full Dark, No Stars and the Sunset one... short stories are not my favorite... 1000 pages doesn't scare me a bit. You'll find, though, that the pages just fly by - his style is very readable and easy to understand.

Now, I'll get off my soapbox and get to reading. And, because of your review, I'll take a look at American Gods. If you loved it, I may, too!


Meg ♥ Donna wrote: "Meg,
Stephen King is the Master for me - I've read and seen nearly everything he's done. Not all of his books are written to scare you - some are to make you think, and others are just comments of ..."


Hey Donna! Thanks for this awesome message. I still have 30 books I need to finish, but I'm very excited to start my next King book. I decided I will try The Long Walk. Eventually I will read IT. I saw the movie as a teen and it scared me! lol. Carrie was also a movie I enjoyed. I also hear amazing things about his Dark Towers series, but it seems like something men love so I'm not sure. I'll have to check and see why that is, because I don't really know anything about that series.

I did not really like American Gods, actually. I thought that Gaiman had a great writing style, and he seems very talented, but that book wasn't something I liked very much. I was only replying to another commenter who was reading both together and said that I loved this book far more than American Gods. By all means if that book seems interesting to you, though, I would say give it a shot. Many people adore it! :-)

Anyways...Since I was a first time King reader I'm interested to see what you, an avid King reader, thinks of 11/22/63, and how you think it compares to his other books.


Donna I will certainly let you know what I think about 11/23/63... Like I said, I save them so that they're not gone so quickly, but so many people have said this is marvelous, so I'm gonna have to read it.

I'm a girl, and I love the Dark Tower series! It's about a gunslinger, kinda like a western, but it's far more than that. It's not really scary, but some of the situations are rather tense. You'll meet the lobstrocities - they'll make you afraid to go near the water! The journey in that series of books is phenomenal. There's a new one due out soon, and I can't wait!

Let me know how you like The Running Man - and any other you decide to give a try. I'll help you through the labyrinth that is Uncle Stevie's world... and you'll become a Constant Reader, too!


message 50: by Matt (new) - added it

Matt This is also my first SK book and it's pretty good. But the constant sexual tone and just random cursing is kind of a killer.. Not Sure if i'm reading a porn novel or not. lol. Reminds me of game of thrones.


« previous 1
back to top