Steph Sinclair's Reviews > Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4642710
Introducing an even more abusive and disturbing TWILIGHT! Now with whips and chains!


Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Fifty Shades of Shit


Haters, please exit stage left.

I'm not sure what possessed me to pick up Fifty Shades of Grey. I thought I might genuinely like it before I started, but all I was left with was one hell of a mindfuck. Whatever it was that brought on this knee jerk purchase seems to have mercifully left me with enough common sense to say I will not be continuing on with this series.

Recently I discovered one of my favorite publishers, Random House, has picked up Fifty Shades of Grey and made this statement:
"An orig­i­nal work, and said to us that James had war­ranted the books were, indeed orig­i­nal. Mes­sitte added she was “aware of the nar­ra­tive that [50 SHADES] started as dif­fer­ently titled piece of fic­tion, but that they were and are two dis­tinctly sep­a­rate pieces of work."

I'm sorry, but I'm going to have to call bull shit on that. Fifty Shades of Grey and Master of the Universe (the original fan fic) are essentially the same thing. The biggest difference being Edward and Bella's name being replaced with Christian and Anastasia respectively. And I would know this because I have both and while I was reading, I would occasionally switch back and forth between the two without difficulty. I'd go through and give you examples myself, but other people have done it already here and here. So if you must read this book, do yourself a solid and find the fan fic online. You even get the second book too!

I know some people claim this has no similarities to Twilight and got dammit, I'm allergic to all the bull shit. Do I really need to point this all out? Because it looks pretty obvious to me. The mannerisms of the characters are exactly the same. They even say similar things the original characters say. The whole "dazzle" line and Edward asking Bella to trust him. Her mother being remarried with the same inability to maneuver her way around a kitchen. Bella is still trying to save Edward from himself due to his troubled past. Edward still stalks and controls Bella, only now he gets to hit her when she gets out of line.


*facepalm* Shall I beat them both? Yes?

I struggled to come up with a proper review for this book and couldn't figure out why I was feeling rather uninspired to write one. And then I figured it out. I was left so disgusted by this book that I wanted to purge the memory of its existence from my mind. With a rusty nail. Every time I thought of the book my brain cells would go on strike, yelling obscenities at me.  Anyway, I thought Bella and Edward's relationship couldn't get anymore fucked up than Twilight. I stand corrected. If I were to describe FSoG in one sentence it would be this: Fifty Shades of Grey is like Twilight on steroids, high on ecstasy, in a dirty little corner. A very dirty corner. With badly written sex. Lots.

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Fifty Shades of Grey tells the story of the beautiful (but of course she doesn't know it), naive virgin, Anastasia Steal after she is suckered into interviewing the Greek god, Christian Grey. Of course, sparks fly and for some unknown reason he can't seem to stay away from this incredibly, unremarkable girl.  Ana discovers Christian is into BDSM and desires her as his submissive fuck buddy.

There are a myriad of problems with this novel, many of which ironically can be found in Twilight. Never saw that one coming! Christian/Edward is still a controlling bastard, only now he hides behind his BDSM practices to camouflage his abusive tendencies. However, Ana doesn't see it that way. She thinks of him as a broken person and it's her duty to fix him. Even when he says things like this:
"I want to hurt you. But not beyond anything you couldn't take."

Can you believe she let's him beat her after that? And please don't even bother to tell me that it's just BDSM. No, just fucking no. Ana is genuinely afraid of Christian and is never entirely comfortable with the "punishment" aspect of their relationship. But Christian just manipulates her with sex to continue the relationship. And that's what really gets me. I just have a hard time believing a virgin would somehow become a sex goddess overnight, because that is exactly what happens. When she first is introduced to his kinky lifestyle and tells him she is a virgin he immediately tells her he needs to handle that "situation" before they could continue. What?! Since when is your virginity a "situation?" But, that's not really the kicker. Oh, no, because that is when we are introduced to Ana's two best friends. Everyone say hi to:

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Anna's inner goddess, who always cheers her on when Christian wants sex or wants to punish her. She's also quite annoying, doing back flips at the mention of anything sexual related. Simmer down. Where did she come from exactly? Ana is in her twenties and has never felt the urge to have sex with anyone until Christian comes along with his whips and chains?!

And... Ana's sub-conscious, who hides behind couches when it comes time for her beating. When it comes to Ana having sex with Christian, well, her sub-conscious only has one thing to say,

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

So after the "situation" is handled, Ana has to sign a "contract" agreeing to his sexual demands and also outlining things she won't do. It was pretty pointless considering he still got what he wanted and she never signed the damn thing. He exploits her, stalks her and abuses her! She cries after sex. She is afraid of him being angry! Even when he is angry at something else, she thinks it's her. Her reasoning for allowing him to hit her as his therapy is because she's afraid to lose him. That is not a reason for agreeing to a BDSM lifestyle! In fact, that's not even really "consent!" These quotes just scream domestic abuse to me:
"Please don't be angry with me," I whisper.

"Please don't hit me," I whisper, pleading.
His brow furrows, his eyes widening. He blinks twice.
"I don't want you to spank me. Not here. Not now. Please don't."

Yeah, he's a real catch, that one. Barf. No, excuse me. That's not right. The barfing came when the little ass-wipe PULLED HER TAMPON OUT AND RAMMED HIMSELF INSIDE OF HER. OMFG. Yes, the caps were totally necessary because that was the most disgusting thing I have ever had the misfortune of reading. That is not sexy, that's foul.

Whenever Ana thinks about leaving him, he comes over to her apartment unannounced pounds into her (literally) and her inner goddess does a fucking happy dance, forgetting her urge to kick his sick ass to the curb. They fight, they breakup. They kiss, they sex up.

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Christian: "Do you still want me gone Ana?"

Inner goddess: *growl*

Sub-conscious: ...

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Dance, puppet. Dance.

The writing is a shitty mess too. I mean, if I had to sit and read Ana saying "Holy, shit!" or "Holy, Fuck!" or "Oh, my!" one more time, I was going to lose it. I wanted to take my red pen and have at this "book" so badly. It was the little things like Ana's roommate saying over and over, "You never cry Ana," and what do we find Ana always doing? Crying. I'm not sure where the hell the plot was. *smacks forehead* How silly of me! Didn't I mention this was a Twilight retelling? Why was I expecting a plot? And another example of poor writing: for these characters to be American, they sounded very British to me. They used phrases that Americans don't use.

And now I'm trying to figure out why this book is so popular. Why do so many women love this book? I get the appeal of the bondage even though it's not my usual cup of tea. Whips? Chains? Sounds exciting!

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Abuse? Not so much.

Fuck my life! Zero stars!

Eh, I'm off to read a good book now and possibly to bleach my brain.

More reviews at Cuddlebuggery Book Blog.
2636 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Fifty Shades of Grey.
Sign In »

Quotes Steph Liked

E.L. James
“- "Why don't you like to be touched?"
- "Because I'm fifty shades of fucked-up, Anastasia”
E.L. James, Fifty Shades of Grey


Reading Progress

03/14/2012
14.0% "Who brushes their teeth with someone else's tooth brush and calls it "a thrill?" This is dumb. So dumb." 12 comments
03/14/2012
18.0% "What is the appropriate response to finding out a potential lover is a complete freaky sadist or masochist? I don't know. Maybe... Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos" 18 comments
03/14/2012
30.0% "This book has no plot. What is the point? Sex, sex, sex, sex, sex, sex, sex, annnnnnndddd seeeeeeexxxxxx!" 48 comments
03/15/2012
50.0% "So she fears him. Do NOT like." 3 comments
03/15/2012
55.0% "Okay, this relationship is borderline abuse. She's afraid of him hitting her and cries after sex. She's does not want him to hit her, but agrees because SHE IS AFRAID HE WILL DUMP HER. Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos" 57 comments
03/16/2012
77.0% "Is it just me, or does Ana never wear her own clothes?" 5 comments
03/17/2012
80.0% "WTH! Ana goes to Georgia to visit her mom and Christian has followed her. To another state. Creeper! Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos" 8 comments
03/17/2012
83.0% "Omg, did her really just do that?! The tampon!! What motherfuckery is this?! What has been read, cannot be unread. O.O Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos" 69 comments
03/18/2012
97.0% ""I want to hurt you. But not beyond anything you couldn't take." Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos" 16 comments

Comments (showing 201-250 of 1,359) (1359 new)


message 201: by M (new) - rated it 5 stars

M A Stephanie wrote: "We spend years trying to get equality and then we go and write fantasies about being stalked, beat, raped, manipulated, and everything in between. How can we ever expect change if those kinds of fantasies are on the forefront?"

I think it's important to remember that fantasies are exactly that. Fantasies.


Cassi aka Snow White Haggard M wrote: I think it's important to remember that fantasies are exactly that. Fantasies.

However it's also important to realize that words have power. We are portraying what we see as acceptable, whether we are conscious of it or not. Despite huge improvements since the 70s, equality has not been reached. Women make 80¢ to the $1 what men make in the same careers.

Our fantasies say something about us as a society. If you write about rape/manipulation/stalking there needs to be some acknowledgement that this is not okay. There are women living with this type of behavior and as women we need to show them that it's not okay and that there's a way out of abuse. We don't need to tell them that their abusers are in the right.


message 203: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair M wrote: "Stephanie wrote: "We spend years trying to get equality and then we go and write fantasies about being stalked, beat, raped, manipulated, and everything in between. How can we ever expect change if..."

I'm aware that they are fantasies. I just don't agree with them or like them. But does that mean we should romanticize the very thing we attempt to fight against everyday?


message 204: by Nana (new) - rated it 3 stars

Nana GREAT Review!!! I feel the same way about this shitty story.


message 205: by Krista (new) - rated it 2 stars

Krista Ashe Thank you for the amazing review as always. you hit on everything that disturbed me about this book. Altho, I almost fault RH more than the author...they knew what they were getting into


message 206: by Linsey (new) - added it

Linsey Best I can tell the PDF of the fanfic covers all three books. I read the fanfic (as piss poorly written as it was) but none of the book releases.

Total bullshit if you ask me. I'm certainly not helping to line her pockets at $10 a book.

Your review was great; I agreed with every word.


message 207: by Krista (new) - rated it 2 stars

Krista Ashe Yes, it is all 3 books. I bought the first...then I read the 2nd and 3rd books on the PDF.

Frankly, the fact that there is a restaurant scene where she says something about him overwhelming the waitress, rather than dazzling her is actionable in court. It's in the pubbed version and it's just like that scene in Twilight...


message 208: by Linsey (new) - added it

Linsey Jim wrote: "4) I set up a charity for women who are degraded, and 'a percentage' of the revenues (or my royalties) from the book are going to this charity."

Your points are great but there's no danger of James running with this last one. She's rubbing that money all over herself.

Back in March 2011 parts of a private chat were released showing exactly how graceless James actually is.

In releasing snippets the instigator (a friend that I won't name here) forced James' hand and she ended up posting the entire chat on her own blog. It was password protected, of course, so only her diehard, loyal fans could read it and pamper her bruised ego. It has since been removed.

In reference to initially writing Fifty as the fanfiction work 'Master of the Universe,' James said: “I have done it as a sort of exercise … to see if I could … and I think I have proven that I can … I now want to capitalize on it…”

James went on to say: “Well don’t tell anyone – I have visions of being interviewed by Time Magazine for revolutionizing publishing…” (This is frankly a joke considering the state in which her 'book' was released after supposed edits).

This advise was given to James: "...show them there's a person behind the penname and not just some lady sitting on a perch."

James' response? — “I like my perch…”

I'd say that James has very little in the way of character or integrity and was too attached to her money before she even made it.

Source: http://bit.ly/dWb60R


✌ Kaye ♡ All the pics have me dying!


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) Jim wrote: "To Cassi's point: I think if you look closely at interviews of some of these authors, you will find statements about how they are okay about it.

I will speculate - these are pure guesses:
1) I wanted to bring attention to how women are manipulated.
2) I wanted to show how manipulated women can fight back.
3) I wanted to express my sincere sympathy for all those women who are manipulated like (my character).
4) I set up a charity for women... "


Wow, you really hit the nail on the head there. I've seen this so many times. For example, there is, what turns out to be, another Twilight fanfic that was "published" called Sempre (fic name was Emancipation Proclamation) where Bella is a modern day slave and she somehow falls in "love" with her Master Edward (no BDSM, it's a straight up master/slave "love" story). And her and her fangirls response to the indignation to this is all of the above, especially that she's giving a portion of her profits to preventing human trafficking organizations.

Linsey wrote: "I'd say that James has very little in the way of character or integrity and was too attached to her money before she even made it."

All true. And I have a pdf copy of that blog post. It, apparently, wasn't password locked for awhile when she first put it up (she put it up in defense and comes off looking much worse).


message 211: by Heaven (new) - rated it 1 star

Heaven best.review.ever


Jennifer Lee I think I'll be taking this off my TBR shelf. I had no idea it was a twilight fan fic.


message 213: by Linsey (new) - added it

Linsey Alicia wrote: "All true. And I have a pdf copy of that blog post. It, apparently, wasn't password locked for awhile when she first put it up (she put it up in defense and comes off looking much worse)."

I missed the chance to read the whole thing. I agree though; I doubt she would have looked any better for posting it in its entirety.

I might see if I can find the pdf online somewhere though, just to see how bad it got.


message 214: by Lyndi (new) - added it

Lyndi Stephanie wrote: "@Lyndi, Hahaha! Kat Kennedy will be disappoint. Lol. You know we hav a crazy love affair going on. "

In 9 hours and 23 minutes... you'll be mine.


message 215: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Linsey wrote: "Your points are great but there's no danger of James running with this last one. She's rubbing that money all over herself.
Back in March 2011 parts of a private chat were released showing exactly how graceless James actually is."


Linsey, that is an amazing post and story. And this is a huge part of the problem that I see.

Let's face it. Greed is not just a powerful emotion. It is also completely unlimited. And, in the U.S. - and let's be perfectly honest, Americans - we are conditioned to believe that GREED IS GOOD. A lot of us don't buy into that, but there are 'way too many who do.

So, if I am an author, and I can make a large pile of money with a fantasy fiction book about (see below), and my agent and publisher are just as greedy as I am (or more so)... Well, who cares what it's about, as long as they buy it?

Alicia wrote: "Wow, you really hit the nail on the head there. I've seen this so many times. For example, there is, what turns out to be, another Twilight fanfic that was "published" called Sempre (fic name was Emancipation Proclamation) where Bella is a modern day slave and she somehow falls in "love" with her Master Edward (no BDSM, it's a straight up master/slave "love" story). And her and her fangirls response to the indignation to this is all of the above, especially that she's giving a portion of her profits to preventing human trafficking organizations."

Wow, Alicia...that is truly stunning. And I am sorry to say this, but I fear that it can get much worse than it already is.

There is definitely a legitimate point to be made about the value of fantasy - I get that. But words do have power, as Cassi said, and cultural acceptance of female degradation has stepped far outside the boundaries of fantasy.

How strong is the link between this sort of writing and cultural acceptance of such degradation? I don't know that - studies of that sort are notoriously difficult to do properly, and coincidence is not cause.

But the power of words can be appreciated in a different way. How do authors and their associates feel about any talented, respected reviewer who cries foul about their work on Goodreads? As we have seen, in many cases 'someone' is concerned enough to make sure the reviewer gets slapped down hard. And let's be clear - these are not momentary temper tantrums. They are all about BIG money, and they are precisely targeted at anyone who threatens the pile.

Which is why it is so courageous for Stephanie, and all of the great reviewers here, to say exactly what they are seeing in these books.


message 216: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Linsey wrote: "Jim wrote: "4) I set up a charity for women who are degraded, and 'a percentage' of the revenues (or my royalties) from the book are going to this charity."

Your points are great but there's no da..."


Go, Linsey! <3


message 217: by Wendi (new) - rated it 1 star

Wendi Thank you for your review. I was curious about this book after seeing posters for it everywhere and hearing a lot of hype. Now that I've read your review I'm just going to pass.


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) Jim wrote: "Wow, Alicia...that is truly stunning. And I am sorry to say this, but I fear that it can get much worse than it already is..."

Sadly, I am sure it will. There are no boundaries anymore and if anyone questions it they are told that "it's just fiction" and "to get over themselves."


message 219: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Alicia wrote: "Jim wrote: "Wow, Alicia...that is truly stunning. And I am sorry to say this, but I fear that it can get much worse than it already is..."

Sadly, I am sure it will. There are no boundaries anymore and if anyone questions it they are told that "it's just fiction" and "to get over themselves."


Yes Alicia, I agree, and it is all very sad. But there is plenty of room for hope as long as the honest reviews continue, and evidence of bad behavior - like your post and Linsey's - keeps getting exposed to the light.

I continue to believe that people do care about what they are getting for their money, and (maybe) what sort of person they are rewarding.


message 220: by Linsey (new) - added it

Linsey Jim wrote: "Greed is not just a powerful emotion. It is also completely unlimited. And, in the U.S. - and let's be perfectly honest, Americans - we are conditioned to believe that GREED IS GOOD. A lot of us don't buy into that, but there are 'way too many who do.

So, if I am an author, and I can make a large pile of money with a fantasy fiction book about (see below), and my agent and publisher are just as greedy as I am (or more so)... Well, who cares what it's about, as long as they buy it?
"


I agree wholeheartedly that if the offer is made and there are interested parties just as greedy as the author, along with readers willing to pay for content regardless of the quality, then good manners and morals will be the least of anyones concerns.

But as an English lass myself, I would have expected James to have a little more class than she's been touting. It seems silly but Brits always tend to hold themselves to a higher standard when it comes to etiquette.


message 221: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Linsey wrote: "I agree wholeheartedly that if the offer is made and there are interested parties just as greedy as the author, along with readers willing to pay for content regardless of the quality, then good manners and morals will be the least of anyones concerns.

But as an English lass myself, I would have expected James to have a little more class than she's been touting. It seems silly but Brits always tend to hold themselves to a higher standard when it comes to etiquette."


I agree with you Linsey, and I don't believe there is anything silly about holding oneself, and fellow citizens, to a higher standard. I have had many English friends with those high standards over the years, and we in the U.S. could learn many lessons from you.

Unfortunately, greed is also an infectious disease, and in the global economy there are uncountable numbers who have caught it. Most of the sufferers have found it to be a chronic condition, and the most insidious point of all is that they don't see themselves as ill!

These are very large problems in the world today. But I am just silly enough to think that such problems can be solved - a little at a time, and with the aid and application of a large number of facts.

In this case, the consumers are ultimately in control. They are voting with their currency, every day, and they are getting what they pay for.

The task (I like to think) is to make sure they know what they are paying for. Stephanie made a very important point earlier - the pertinent facts about the contents of this book are not made clear to the prospective buyer. But an honest, respected reviewer like Stephanie can make them clear, and then the buyer can beware. Or not - it is their money.

But I can see it on many threads like this one - a lot of readers, who had planned to buy the book, are running the other way when they get an up-close look at what the book is all about. That response is my reason for hope.


message 222: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Jim, I'm with you. I'm glad to see people run for the hills from this one. I'm also glad to see the negatives pointed out about Ms. James, although I'm quite surprised that she hasn't a) had these posts deleted and b) unleashed her Bunker Babes on any of us for speaking the truth.


message 223: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Molly wrote: "Jim, I'm with you. I'm glad to see people run for the hills from this one. I'm also glad to see the negatives pointed out about Ms. James, although I'm quite surprised that she hasn't a) had these posts deleted and b) unleashed her Bunker Babes on any of us for speaking the truth. "

Thanks, Molly! I think it is extremely important to keep up the great work of finding the pertinent facts, and putting them out there for inspection. I can't emphasize that point enough. When the truth is up in bright lights, readers can make informed choices.

Goodreads has a challenge on its hands to, in effect, serve as the honest cop on the beat. I don't envy them in that task. Both of the steps you mentioned may be in the works right now - and Stephanie, I hope that we are not unleashing the hounds by continuing this discussion.

But there is a tide in the history of such things, and facts do have a power to roll the tide back, albeit slowly. That is our advantage, and if we use it wisely, we will make a difference. I really believe that.


message 224: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly It's honestly refreshing to know that someone w(ho didn't now about all of the bat-shit crazy surrounding this) wants to put this horrid drivel away as well!


message 225: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Molly wrote: "It's honestly refreshing to know that someone w(ho didn't now about all of the bat-shit crazy surrounding this) wants to put this horrid drivel away as well!"

Thanks! I have been blissfully ignorant of the crazy. But I do believe that readers can enjoy a fantasy, while insisting that it does not drag women down a dark hole, and I am happy to say so. If enough readers refuse to pay for the destructive side of the fantasy, the tide will eventually turn.


message 226: by Whitney (new)

Whitney Oh wow. Definitely not even looking in this book's general direction now. Especially not after the tampon bit.
faces of tumblr Pictures, Images and Photos"


message 227: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Hooray! One more saved!
(Thank your lucky stars. For reals!)


message 228: by Darkfallen (new)

Darkfallen Yes yes I am thoroughly convinced this book isnt for me. And, dare I say, I like Twilight. Actually I kind of love it. But still an BDSM relationship is NOT supposed to be like you've outlined in your review. That shit is just down right abusive and should end in that prick doing jail time. Poor Ana is gonna need some serious therapy.

Thanks for saving me from having to bleach my own eyes. Lol


message 229: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Hooray!


message 230: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Jim, Lindsey and Molly, I completely agree. Also, Jim, thanks once again for your compliment. I don't think you're unleashing the hounds at all and even if you were, let them come. I paid my own hard-earned $10 for the book, so I think that gives me the right to fully express my thoughts on it and readers the right to discuss its merits.


message 231: by Lyndi (new) - added it

Lyndi I can't believe you paid for it. You should have been paid to read it.


message 232: by Luxie (new) - rated it 1 star

Luxie Ryder I've received some negativity about the review I posted but I don't regret having my say. Christian is an abuser. End of. What kind of scares me about the that is that the mostly female readership seem to have more of a problem with those of us speaking out against this story of an abuser and his victim, than they do with the abuser.

I am perfectly capable of enjoying fantasy scenarios and have no guilt about it. But to read about a young girl being bullied into doing things she has no experience of and isn't comfortable with just isn't a turn on for me. The love bite scene made me so savage, it's a good thing Christian isn't a flesh and blood male I could search out and harangue until he cried!


message 233: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Stephanie wrote: "Jim, Lindsey and Molly, I completely agree. Also, Jim, thanks once again for your compliment. I don't think you're unleashing the hounds at all and even if you were, let them come. I paid my own hard-earned $10 for the book, so I think that gives me the right to fully express my thoughts on it and readers the right to discuss its merits. "

Thanks Stephanie, and I agree with you on every point. I had a feeling you would take that position, and rightfully so!

It really sank in for me when you said that none of the ugly details about female degradation were discussed in the official synopsis or blurb. That is just wrong. I will make the point one more time for emphasis:

Readers have the right to know what they are getting for their hard-earned money. If readers are misled into purchasing a book - particularly one with heavy emphasis on abuse of females - authors should expect to be called out by honest reviewers on Goodreads. They should also expect to have the merits, or lack of same, of their work discussed openly by readers who care about good books.


message 234: by Lyndi (new) - added it

Lyndi They don't see Christian as an abuser, though. They see him as an edgy Edward Cullen. And he's so perfect and dreeeamy! So when we express our negative opinions, we're just being haters and don't understand a good story when we see it. They see nothing wrong with Christian, so there must be something wrong with us if we think he's an abusive psychopath.

My biggest pet peeve is that young teens and adults are reading this book like it'll save them from the Second Coming or whatever, and it's most likely their first exposure to the world of BDSM. Unfortunately, it's such a horribly skewed vision of what BDSM is, that I really worry for anyone that finds the 50SoG relationship appealing. This book gives people the wrong idea and it harms both the BDSM scene and the people reading it that think they now know what the Dom/sub relationship means. Anyone into the BDSM lifestyle will tell you that the submissive has all the power, not the Dom. It's the sub's choice to submit and they can stop the action at any time - that's power. Heaven help the poor soul that walks into a BDSM club after only reading this book.

I doubt the author knows much of anything about BDSM. But if she does, she's clearly a sadomasochistic.


message 235: by Steph (last edited Mar 25, 2012 07:17PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Lyndi wrote: "Stephanie wrote: "@Lyndi, Hahaha! Kat Kennedy will be disappoint. Lol. You know we hav a crazy love affair going on. "

In 9 hours and 23 minutes... you'll be mine."


Lol, I forgot to respond to ths, but it's such an exact time frame! XD

And yes, I paid for it. I was on the fence about doing so. In fact, I started off reading the fan fic, but I really didn't want to see anyone try to refute my review by saying I didn't read the "right" version. So I read both. ;)

Jim, I agree with Lyndi. They don't see him as abusive. They had a piece on Goodmorning, America where women are saying it's helped their marriages. Maybe this was the first time they've read erotica (I've read erotica before, it's been a few years, but not BDSM) or BDSM and they found the sex scenes hot? Or maybe they are Twi-moms.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I don't know. But even some Twilight fans didn't enjoy FSoG.


message 236: by Jim (last edited Mar 25, 2012 07:52PM) (new) - added it

Jim Lyndi wrote: "They don't see Christian as an abuser, though. They see him as an edgy Edward Cullen. And he's so perfect and dreeeamy! So when we express our negative opinions, we're just being haters and don't understand a good story when we see it. They see nothing wrong with Christian, so there must be something wrong with us if we think he's an abusive psychopath."

Stephanie wrote: Jim, I agree with Lyndi. They don't see him as abusive. They had a piece on Goodmorning, America where women are saying it's helped their marriages.


I say, if they don't see him as abusive, that is their opinion and they are welcome to it. If it helps their marriage, ditto. All good so far.

If they attack the views of those who see him as abusive, that is a problem. If they draw conclusions about your ability to understand a good story, that is another problem. Not good. They are attacking your view of the book, and you are as welcome to that view as they are to theirs.

And this may be silly, but what is wrong with simply writing a synopsis/blurb that explains to the prospective reader, in some detail, some key features of this relationship?

I can think of one possibility: most people will run the other way if they decide that the book is a twisted, sadomasochistic version (what Lyndi described) of what they thought it was. This is especially true if they know that other, much better books on the subject are available, and they can actually BUY WHAT THEY WANT!

No one who loves this book as it is should be dissuaded in the least by that sort of description - something like 'A Sadomasochistic Fest!'. Indeed, they should rush to the checkout line, pay their money, and proceed to read it! Other readers, however, can make a different decision, keep their money or buy a different book, and everyone will get what they paid for.


message 237: by Lyndi (last edited Mar 25, 2012 08:16PM) (new) - added it

Lyndi


I guess you could say I'm gonna steal your baby.


message 238: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim I thought you gave your baby away to The Dark Lord!


message 239: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Agreed, Jim. I've been fortunate enough to not have anyone come on my reviews saying any of those things. That usually surprises people since most of my GRs friends have had them by the buckets. I'd love for it to stay that way.

If people think this book is awesome and it somehow helped them positively in life, more power to them! Everyone interprets art or the written word differently.

I wish blurbs warned consumers, but that'll never happen. They want you to buy it no matter what the content is. That's okay because we always have the reviews from our peers.


message 240: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Lyndi wrote: "


I guess you could say I'm gonna steal your baby."


LMAO!!

Jim, I did indeed. It was the only way for me to acquire much needed sleep! Though the baby and the first born have now been promised to Jay Kristoff in exchange for an ARC of Stormdancer. Lol.


message 241: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Stephanie wrote: "I wish blurbs warned consumers, but that'll never happen. They want you to buy it no matter what the content is. That's okay because we always have the reviews from our peers."

Exactly, and I don't buy anything without checking the reviews of my friends. I told my wife, I am spending less money on books now, but reading better books and getting more of them. I have that luxury because you guys read everything!


message 242: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Stephanie wrote: "Lyndi wrote: "

I guess you could say I'm gonna steal your baby."

LMAO!!

Jim, I did indeed. It was the only way for me to acquire much needed sleep! Though the baby and the first born have now been promised to Jay Kristoff in exchange for an ARC of Stormdancer. Lol."


Looks like first come, first served to me...

Sleepy time for this old man. Great talking with you, as always!!


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) Stephanie wrote: "Lyndi wrote: "Stephanie wrote: "@Lyndi, Hahaha! Kat Kennedy will be disappoint. Lol. You know we hav a crazy love affair going on. "

In 9 hours and 23 minutes... you'll be mine."

Lol, I forgot to..."


Haha, that's one of my favorite Twilight macros!

I agree with a lot of what's been said. The things people find romantic nowadays...I truly don't understand. Shit, my parents didn't threaten me with spankings my whole childhood as much as Edward did in this one story.


message 244: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca I don't get all the hype for this book, I refuse to pay money for it ugh! It sounds so bad.


message 245: by Olivia (new)

Olivia I will not subject my brain to this mess. Nope, won't do it.


message 246: by Nick (new)

Nick I've been wondering why this book has so many raving reviews!
I mean it has an average of 4.24 on Goodreads!
Thank you so much for your review! It encouraged me to not even look at it !
:)
It sounds pretty disgusting!
*shudders


message 247: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Stephanie wrote: "Or maybe they are Twi-moms. I don't know. But even some Twilight fans didn't enjoy FSoG. "

I was a Twi-Fan and abhored this fic as it went on. I flounced it before she'd even pulled it. She was riding the coattails of Tara's TS/TD series and only cared about review count.

I LIKED this fic WHEN IT FIRST STARTED... But then it went on and on and on and sweet baby Jehosephet, did it go on. That's when I turned it over to the Gods of DNF.

And of course, now she's signed a MOVIE DEAL for Three Mil.

I hope kharma takes a huge chunk out of her arse.


message 248: by Linsey (new) - added it

Linsey Molly wrote: "And of course, now she's signed a MOVIE DEAL for Three Mil."

WHAT IS THIS FUCKERY?! This is a joke, right? Please tell me the world is about to end and we're all getting punked...


message 250: by Linsey (new) - added it

Linsey Yep, here it is: http://bit.ly/GU5CiL

I have no words for what has become of the fiction world.


back to top