February Four's Reviews > Ysabel

Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
141244
's review
Oct 15, 2011

it was ok
Read in October, 2011

After reading Under Heaven and The Lions of al-Rassan, Ysabel was an unfortunate letdown. Quite often in the story, I started skimming; the alternative was to just stop reading, and I got pretty close a few times but managed to continue by persuading myself that skimming was the lesser of two evils.

A lot of the story was unfortunately meandering, and I never quite got the epic vibes I read Kay for. The scope of the story was supposed to be epic, but turned out very personal. Good if you like it, and under different circumstances, I might have enjoyed this book more. Unfortunately, I wanted epic in the vein of Under Heaven or The Lions of al-Rassan, and I did not get that from this book.

If you are a newcomer to Guy Gavriel Kay, read a sample of Ysabel (or borrow it from the library) before you commit to it. As for me, in the future, I will be checking Amazon reviews and Goodreads reviews of other Kay books before I start them.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ysabel.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.