Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter's Reviews > Willing Victim

Willing Victim by Cara McKenna
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
Re-read and buddy read with Rosalinda, Stella, Susanne, and Jen March 28, 2013. Review edited March, 29, 2013

“Sex is only dirty when it’s done right.”
- by Woody Allen


 photo tumblr_mdph21MabO1qelb7ro1_500_zps6ca6339a.gif

Our heroine, Laurel White, sees a man abusing his girlfriend in the street when Michael Flynn comes to her rescue. He intimidates the mean boyfriend. Laurel is rather impressed by Flynn's deed and is running after him and offers him lunch. She is kind of outspoken and expresses an interest in him. There seems to be something about Flynn...not charisma but raw energy. As it was, Laurel had hit an emotional wall in the last couple of years and being so close to all that sexy male hotness feels very good and magnetic. She craves something different, something new. Though Flynn is a bit wary and tells her she may not like what he loves, however, she’d be welcome to come watch him fight. As a matter of fact, Flynn boxes in informal fights. There are really no substantial rules to those fights and that's exactly what he likes so much. Of course Laurel shows up for the fights and is fascinated instantly.

 photo tumblr_mj8is5NMl51qffcrao5_500_zps7eee1ee9.gif

Laurel pursed her lips. "Are you threatening me?"
"I never threaten a woman unless she begs me to." His smile came slow and sticky, dripping with put-on sweetness.

"Right, Laurel White. I'm Michael Flynn." He shook her hand curtly. "You've (view spoiler) and we know each other's full names. That enough for your first night?"

"Well, draw yourself a pretty little blueprint and do me a favor and don't show it to me. I like fighting, and I like f@cking. I don't care much for thinking."


 photo tumblr_m94p7zDDG71qf7otvo1_500_zpscdaf91aa.gif

"I'm so f@cking ready, you're gonna get me off before we start playing. Taste me," he ordered.


 photo Bildschirmfoto2013-03-15um224935_zpsbe7c3ab0.png

Let's get down to business. Flynn and Laurel met to explore the rougher side of their sexuality. That's the reason why fluffy, sweet, and shy were not in the cards.
Hands-down the sex is very hot, erotic, arousing and a little bit kinky. It's possible that your panties will melt. Truth be told, sometimes I felt like an intruder, a voyeur. Though I think that anything goes as long as it is consensual. Besides, playing games and indulging yourself into role playing is something very thrilling. Granted, I've never had the urge to have rough sex and I never felt the need of being 'forced' either, however, I can see that those fantasies can be tempting, intriguing, and fascinating after all. It goes without saying that Willing Victim is about fantasies and very hot and rough sex. Besides, it's definitely not an in-depth study of multilayered and complex characters. Although Flynn and Laurel are very likable nonetheless. Whew, Flynn is one seriously dirty talker…love him! <3 And no, Flynn is not a selfish prick. He is actually a very sweet guy, and wonders never cease because the man who doesn't think he is relationship material starts to cuddle.

"I'm a selfish prick, and I want to be the greatest f@ck of your life and ruin you for every man who comes after me. But I'm not a mind reader, so I need some help. Otherwise I could end up as the douchebag who's got shitty taste in wine and totally traumatized you when you were thirty."
"Twenty-nine."
"So tell me," he breathed, right behind her ear. "What do you want me to do to you?"


 photo tumblr_mjygw6Hc4K1qffcrao3_500_zps22424209.gif

"I'm at the Dunkies by my site and I figured out what you smell like."
Laurel made a noise only she heard, a little laugh caught in her nose. "Oh. What's that?"
"That gooey stuff inside a Boston crème donut. That's what you smell like. Now I'll get a hard-on every time I eat one."
She snorted. "Did you just call to sexually harass me?"
"I'm allowed now, ain't I?"


 photo tumblr_mj8is5NMl51qffcrao1_500_zps9032bb61.gif

"Aren't you supposed to wear a mouth guard?" Laurel asked.
(...)
"I hate those things. They make me feel like I'm choking on something."
"Guess I'll never get you into a ball gag, huh?" she asked.
Flynn met the remark with a withering sneer. "Keep that snark up and you'll get yourself punished, missy."


 photo tumblr_llonozeyeL1qky3ndo1_500_zps4c11f3a7.gif

"F@cking lay still," he whispered. He reached down and pushed the crotch of her panties to one side, big fingers finding her pussy wet and ready. "Oh yeah, you're gonna feel beautiful."


 photo Bildschirmfoto2013-03-29um003136_zps757e2699.png

He forced his thumb between her lips, got her teeth apart even as Laurel bit down as hard as she thought she could without breaking his skin. His tongue slid into her mouth, finding hers and giving her as explicit and dirty a kiss as he could manage. He pulled away, keeping his face close, pressing his forehead to hers and sliding his thumb out of her mouth.

"Let's quit our jobs and f@ck all day."


 photo tumblr_mcx6pkzCXj1rjwzm8o1_500_zps147c8a22.gif

He pressed his neck into her touch, spoke through a heavy sigh. "I like when you do that."
"Do what?"
"You know…" His voice faded to a mumble. "Fuss over me."
"Take care of you?"

"And maybe afterward we could come back here and not have sex."
"Sounds fucking sensational," Flynn murmured, pulling her tight against him so she felt his hardening cock. "Can't wait to not have sex with you."


What I especially liked was the fact that the author didn’t end the story with a promise of everlasting love. Even though there was not an outspoken “I love you” they will continue to see each other and there is a HFN. This being said, I’m really glad there wasn’t a lover’s oath because that would have been too sappy and they hadn't seen each other for a long time after all.

"You keep busting my balls and I might just trick you into sticking around."
She laughed, embarrassed and flattered. Relieved.
"But don't worry, not 'til we get better at not having sex."


Finally, the author advises readers who are sensitive about rape, even in a simulated and absolutely consensual capacity, not to read this story. This may sound kind of odd, however, when I was reading Willing Victim the concept of rape never entered my mind. Laurel had a safe word, and I appreciated the fact that the author 'showed' me that Flynn immediately stopped whatever he did when Laurel used it.

What didn't work for me
Flynn calling Laurel 'kiddo' was annoying, and I very much preferred 'sweetheart'. The book is f@cking good but too f@cking short. Well, I guess you get the gist. ;-)


Highly recommended to readers who want to explore the darker side of sexuality.


Steam 4

**********************

Thanks for the buddy read, ladies! Gotta make it very clear though...I got dibs on Flynn!

 photo tumblr_mgl08u9kGi1s2aqbto1_250_zps31b96a73.gif
118 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Willing Victim.
sign in »

Reading Progress

11/13/2011
53.0% "I suggested a friend to 'branch out' a little bit. I'm doing that right now by reading this story. Not really suitable for real life - I'm speaking for my humble self. But it's an interesting insight..." 2 comments
11/13/2011
100.0% "Wow, this is one hot read!! First I was thinking 'are you out of your ever lovin' mind' to consider reading such a story. Honestly I liked it. It's different and intriguing. Full review to come!" 2 comments
03/27/2013
0.0% " photo tumblr_mk2jhdevY21qffcrao1_500_zpsbdd180db.gif
Tomorrow is the day! Re-read and buddy read with Rosalinda, Stella and Jen. Hi ladies! *waves* Look forward to seeing Flynn again. Love his dirty mouth!" 63 comments
03/28/2013
53.0% " photo tumblr_mj3vr3yeD21s6vzq8o1_500_zps4f586e62.gif
"I'm a selfish prick and I want to be the greatest f@ck of your life and ruin you for every man who comes after me. But I'm not a mind reader, so I need some help. (..)" Flynn is a sweetheart, not selfish at all." 26 comments
03/28/2013
93.0% " photo tumblr_mimnemJPSL1qgl5swo1_500_zps1a3a1931.gif
"Sounds fucking sensational," Flynn murmured, pulling her tight against him so she felt his hardening cock. "Can't wait to not have sex with you." Lol I love Flynn. <3" 13 comments

Comments (showing 1-50 of 128) (128 new)


Kristen (Peddler of Smut) Great review, Baba. Yes, I'd say we're both reading books that may not appeal to everyone. But sometimes it's refreshing to read something a little unconventional. I usually like there to be love in the relationship equation but I'm in the mood for stepping out of my comfort zone right now. I'll be reading this book and pretty soon, too. After all, if I wait too long I'll be firmly back in that old and familiar comfort zone again.


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Kristen wrote: "Great review, Baba. Yes, I'd say we're both reading books that may not appeal to everyone. But sometimes it's refreshing to read something a little unconventional. I usually like there to be love i..."

Thanks, Kristen! You may be right after all. I'm reading Dirty Thirty right now and then I'm going to move on to Damaged Goods. That will be the 4th book in a row that I'll be reading that is "out of my comfort zone". I'm already thrilled... LOL


Kristen (Peddler of Smut) I know! It is a little thrilling to read books that aren't really "our thing" every now and then. It will be intersting to see if we would feel the same way about these books in a few months time, if we were to reread them again. Hum... something to ponder.


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Kristen wrote: "I know! It is a little thrilling to read books that aren't really "our thing" every now and then. It will be intersting to see if we would feel the same way about these books in a few months time, ..."

Yes, indeed, Kristen. Willing Victim was on my TBR shelf since...I don't know really! LOL
I have this strange streak right now and I have to make the most out of it I guess.


Kaylea Cross I was surprised by how much I liked this story! I winced when he called her "bitch", but honestly, he was so alpha and in control, and he only did it to help set the scene. It was clear he respected women, and that's what made this story work for me. I loved how the author stuck to her guns and didn't turn Flynn into something he wasn't.

Still kind of stunned that I enjoyed reading something so harsh! Ah, the dark side has me in its grip now...


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Kaylea wrote: "I was surprised by how much I liked this story! I winced when he called her "bitch", but honestly, he was so alpha and in control, and he only did it to help set the scene. It was clear he respecte..."

Kaylea, I wholeheartedly agree with everything you said. And I liked that she didn't write a gooey ending. The book was not really in my comfort zone, but I liked it a lot. Additionally, the hero stuck to his inner self and besides his being "harsh", he was very caring! :)
Nice to know that we have similar reading tastes! Feel free to send me a rec, I'd appreciate it! Have a great day! I'm on my way to work...*grumbles*


Searock "However I had a bit a hard time to face the fact that a woman can get off when her lover calls her 'bitch' and 'forces' himself on her in any way. That felt odd. But that’s the beauty of books, isn’t it? It is fiction and I could indulge myself in a concept that I honestly think isn’t suitable in real life – at least for my humble self. I know that there are people out there who love such a 'lifestyle' and I won’t judge them. Each to their own..."

I adore you, Baba!

One or two things could have pulled me out of this story- like the derogatory names during sex and when he called her dipshit once in other interaction- but I let it go and tried to keep perspective. His needs were so intriguing, I was quite mesmerized by the whole thing.


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter LOL Thanks, Searock! Right back at you, babe! This was quite a revelation, and I have to admit it was a bit out of my comfort zone. Then again, it's good to test some boundaries from time to time. I really liked it very much!


message 10: by Joy (new) - rated it 5 stars

Joy Great Review Baba--


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Joy wrote: "Great Review Baba--"

Thanks, Joy! Flynn is the ultimate dirty talker! LOL


message 12: by KatLynne (new) - added it

KatLynne This is a wonderful review Baba. I have added this to my list and hope to read it soon. It's not a book I would normally pick up and read. What had turned me off before was the "simulated rape" warning. With the many assurances that this is not the case here, along with the discussions about the derogatory language, I think I'll give it a try.


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter KatLynne wrote: "This is a wonderful review Baba. I have added this to my list and hope to read it soon. It's not a book I would normally pick up and read. What had turned me off before was the "simulated rape" war..."

My oh my, KatLynne, this is another comment I've missed. I'm sorry! But thanks for commenting on my review, my lovely! I can assure you it's not as bad as it sounds. It's very good yet a bit intense story. And Flynn is such a fabulous dirty talker!


message 14: by KatLynne (new) - added it

KatLynne ...My oh my, KatLynne, this is another comment I've missed. I'm sorry! But thanks for commenting on my review, my lovely! I can assure you it's not as bad as it sounds. It's very good yet a bit intense story. And Flynn is such a fabulous dirty talker!

No worries sweet friend:)


message 15: by Lu (new) - added it

Lu Bielefeld *Book Whore Brazil* I loved your review and have added the book on my reading list. *Hugs*


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Lu wrote: "I loved your review and have added the book on my reading list. *Hugs*"

Thank you, Lu. Hope you'll like it--it's a bit different but the concept is interesting. And the hero is very yummy. :)))
*hugs* right back at you


message 17: by Lisa (new) - rated it 4 stars

Lisa Awesome review, Baba!


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Lisa wrote: "Awesome review, Baba!"

Thank you, Lisa. :)


Louise Awesome review Baba!:) I asked the Author two days ago if she'll be doing a sequel or vignettes on this and she said she don't have plans about it *sobs*:(


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Louise wrote: "Awesome review Baba!:) I asked the Author two days ago if she'll be doing a sequel or vignettes on this and she said she don't have plans about it *sobs*:("

Thank you, Louise! Yeah, that's a bummer. :(


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Great review Baba. I love that quote from Woody Allen. I just added this one, let's see what all the fuss is about. x


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Rosalinda wrote: "Great review Baba. I love that quote from Woody Allen. I just added this one, let's see what all the fuss is about. x"

Thank you, Rosalinda. Let me know when you are going to read it, maybe I could join you? I thought I could do a re-read. I'm way ahead of my reading challenge anyway. :)


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Baba wrote: "Rosalinda wrote: "Great review Baba. I love that quote from Woody Allen. I just added this one, let's see what all the fuss is about. x"

Thank you, Rosalinda. Let me know when you are going to rea..."


Baba that would be GREAT!!! *HAPPY DANCING*

Shelly B also wants to read this one so will let you know when we are ready, yayyyyyyyyyyyyyy soooooo freaking excited!

xxx


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Rosalinda wrote: "Baba wrote: "Rosalinda wrote: "Great review Baba. I love that quote from Woody Allen. I just added this one, let's see what all the fuss is about. x"

Thank you, Rosalinda. Let me know when you are..."


YAYYYY! Good news, hon. Just let me know when you are ready. :))


Sammy, Recovering Monster Sex Addict You are spot on, this is dirty sex done right!! Great review Baba!!


message 26: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Great review - just one-clicked.


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Mo wrote: "Great review - just one-clicked."

Thank you, Mo. Hehe...it's nice to buy great books. ;-)


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Sammy wrote: "You are spot on, this is dirty sex done right!! Great review Baba!!"

I love that quote, Sam! Thank you. :))


Steamywindows♥♫ Great review Baba.


message 30: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011.


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Steamywindows♥♫ wrote: "Great review Baba."

Thank you, Steamy.


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Mo wrote: "Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011."

Yep, it's been a long time ago. I'm going to do a buddy read (and re-read) with Rosalinda and Shelly. :)
You wanna join us?


message 33: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011."

Yep, it's been a long time ago. I'm going to do a buddy read (and re-read) with Rosalinda and Shelly. :)
You wanna join us?"


Not even sure what a Buddy read is!! We all start it at the same time and comment, is it?


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011."

Yep, it's been a long time ago. I'm going to do a buddy read (and re-read) with Rosalinda and Shelly. :)
You wanna jo..."


Yes, that sums it up nicely, Mo. ;-)


message 35: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011."

Yep, it's been a long time ago. I'm going to do a buddy read (and re-read) with Rosalinda and Shelly. :)
Y..."


OK, when are ye starting it? Or re-starting it in your case!


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011."

Yep, it's been a long time ago. I'm going to do a buddy read (and re-read) with Rosalinda and..."


I don't know yet. I already asked Rosalinda and she will keep me posted. Will let you know as soon as I know more about a date. But I guess it should be pretty soon.


message 37: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011."

Yep, it's been a long time ago. I'm going to do a buddy read (and re-read) with Ro..."


Might not be able to wait for you guys .... when I finish what I am reading at the moment I just want to dive into this one!


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba wrote: "Mo wrote: "Baba, you were way ahead of us - you read it in 2011."

Yep, it's been a long time ago. I'm going to do a buddy read (and re-..."


Fair enough. :)


Vishous bloody hell Baba! those gifs! and great review!


Kelly Fantastic review, sweets! :)


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Kelly wrote: "Fantastic review, sweets! :)"

Thank you, sweets. *mwah* :)


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Vishous * Racht's Minion * wrote: "bloody hell Baba! those gifs! and great review!"

Thank you, hon. Glad it's to your liking. ;-))


Lucinda - I JUST LOVE TO READ Great review Baba!


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Lucinda wrote: "Great review Baba!"

Thank you, Lucinda. :)


message 45: by Laura (new)

Laura Enjoy your re-read, Baba! :)


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Laura wrote: "Enjoy your re-read, Baba! :)"

Thank you, Laura. I sure will. :))


Denise~The Procrastinating Book Diva~ Mmmmm.......love Flynnn!!!! He is the king of all dirty talkers - I miss him so :( Have fun........


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Denise wrote: "Mmmmm.......love Flynnn!!!! He is the king of all dirty talkers - I miss him so :( Have fun........"

Yes, very true, Denise. Thank you. :))))


Alex Great review, Baba! Looking forward to your dirty quotes! I loved this book. Flynn...*swoon* He's too good to be true.. :)


Baba  ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter Alex wrote: "Great review, Baba! Looking forward to your dirty quotes! I loved this book. Flynn...*swoon* He's too good to be true.. :)"

Thanks, Alex. I really need to pimp my review. It's too boring. ;-)))
Yeah, our Flynn has such a dirty mouth on him but I loved it!


« previous 1 3
back to top