Ronando's Reviews > The Wise Man's Fear

The Wise Man's Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
211508
's review
Dec 03, 14

bookshelves: fantasy_scifi
Read from November 10 to December 03, 2014

When THE HELL is this book coming out?? The first book grabbed me by the throat and threw me down and had it's way with me and I am fast becoming impatient in having it happen a second time.

... This better not turn into another George R.R. Martin wait! Or ... or... or I shall be extremely vexed. VEXED I tell you!

Update 11/10/2014
We now haves this book and we reads it. Oh yes precious, we do and we loves it. It is the precious.

The Wise Man's Fear is absolutely fantastic. Rothfuss has propelled himself to be my most favoritist of authors. There is simply too much good stuff going on to comment intelligibly. But one must try. In no specific order...

Rothfuss Rocks because:
1) He has created a world that unquestionably and easily allows the reader to suspend disbelief. There is so much detail, work and pain (yes, you can tell Rothfuss suffered for his books) that goes into explaining sympathetic magic, alchemy and artificing that the reader finds himself nodding in agreement the whole way, thinking, "well that makes perfect sense....of course of course, I can do this, give me some soft wax, a candle and someone's hair and I'll conquer the world!" You believe because Rothfuss created a world that is utterly believable and makes perfect sense.

2) The book is goddamn funny! Knee-slapping so. This isn't a comedic series, but the dialogue between Kvothe and his troupe is simply amazing. I LOVED when he meets Puppet. I couldn't stop chuckling and texting my friend lines from the book. My most favorite scene was actually in the Name of the Wind when Kvothe wears a towel and storms into the tailor's shop, acting as a nobleman's son, what he calls, "a force of nature." The description is exactly how I envision such a pompous little ass would behave. “If you don’t bring me something to wear—” I stood up and shouted, “—I’ll tear this place apart! I’ll ask my father for your stones as a Midwinter gift. I’ll have his dogs mount your dead corpse. DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHO I AM?” - Simply amazing.

3) I cried at several places, again in NotW when Kvothe played for his talent pipes at the Eolian and sang The Lay of Sir Savien Traliard, singing the part of Savien while Denna sang the part of Aloine. I cried like a school girl who lost her lunch at the end, just as Kvothe did, all the while laughing at myself for being a reader, played by Rothfuss who masterfully controlled my emotions. Such a wonderful scene.

But damn if Denna isn't such a flighty minx. Just when I was beginning to like her....UGH!!


110 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Wise Man's Fear.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

11/10/2014 marked as: currently-reading
11/15/2014 page 677
68.0% "Am loving this book...but am anxious to get past the Felurian portion."
12/03/2014 marked as: read

Comments (showing 1-20 of 20) (20 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Ronando Thank you Hans! Patrick's still writing Wise Man's Fear. I just might have to reread Name of the Wind to refresh my memory. I absolutely cannot wait!


Chris I thought the three books were written in advance as a single novel, and DAW simply had Patrick split it into three books because the size.


Hans Patrick has also addressed this in a previous blog of his:http://www.patrickrothfuss.com/blog/2...


Sigurdur Nice this blog post of his. I can wait.


message 6: by Joseph (new)

Joseph Dysart hopefully it turns out better then Robert jordans Wheel of time series the last couple of books are just sad sad sad (i hate it when the main charecter goes bonkers-INSANE)


message 7: by KIKA (new)

KIKA Just happened accross your post, I haven't even read the first one but now I am more than convinced to go out right now and find the blasted book! haha thanks for the post


message 8: by Azul (new)

Azul Sten. i absolutley looooved the name of the wind... i just cant wait for the next one...but i really hope he hurries up!!!"...but after a year the emotion tends to sour"...or something like that...


Lindsey http://blog.patrickrothfuss.com/2010/...

Is the answer to all those questions.


Jamez Beech March 1, 2011. It comes out March 1st 2011.


Kathy Lindsey wrote: "http://blog.patrickrothfuss.com/2010/...

Is the answer to all those questions."

Thanks for the link, good to have a timeline of sorts in my head. It's worth the wait!!


message 12: by Anna (last edited Jul 29, 2010 01:26AM) (new) - added it

Anna Bishop That was the funniest review I've read in yonks. "VEXED I tell you!" Bahaha, clasic =D


message 13: by Hilary (new) - added it

Hilary Available now for pre-order on Amazon.com....


Jeffrey Rothfuss' own website says March 2011 now and he wouldn't put it up until he knew it was done. He's even got a book tour scheduled.


message 15: by Scott (new) - added it

Scott Marchand Rothfuss has all the books in the trilogy done! he is just being mean and releasing them in one year intervals >|


message 16: by Azul (new)

Azul Sten. hmmm.. that doesnt make sense...
i mean think how hard is to write a book...
besides why would he keep them to himself.. you know.. more books he does more money he gets..


message 17: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Oh, it's gonna grab you. Believe me. Worth every second of waiting, buddy. Clear your schedule in advance.


message 18: by Azul (new)

Azul Sten. Youre talking like youve actually read it...!!


message 19: by Milo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Milo It's out bud...the wait is over!


message 20: by Azul (new)

Azul Sten. DUDE!!
no way!!.. i still have to wait for it.. im in argentina!!
NO FAIR!!


back to top