Adam's Reviews > The Ice Palace

The Ice Palace by Tarjei Vesaas
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1133758
's review
May 25, 10

it was amazing
bookshelves: recent-enthusiasms, scandinavian

This is one of those books you discover too infrequently--a novel you instantly know you're going to grow old with, reading it again and again over the years. The Ice Palace is shot through with eeriness, mystery and near-mystical enigma. Yet on another level it is a very simple story told in an elliptical, poetic mode and built on a foundation of frighteningly powerful and conspicuously unnamed currents of emotion.

Highly recommended for fans of Haruki Murakami, Paul Auster, and Kazuo Ishiguro. However, the book I most associate with this one is Joan Lindsay's excellent Picnic at Hanging Rock.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Ice Palace.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.