Bettie☯'s Reviews > An Instance of the Fingerpost

An Instance of the Fingerpost by Iain Pears
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1108123
's review
Apr 25, 2008

really liked it
bookshelves: historical-fiction, mystery-thriller, re-read, britain-england, books-with-a-passport, published-1997, restoration
Read in May, 2009

** spoiler alert ** Bettie's Books
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read An Instance of the Fingerpost.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

05/13/2009 page 22
3.15% "chapter three"
05/14/2009 page 114
16.33% "Chapter thirteen."
05/14/2009 page 199
28.51% "Part II The Great Trust. Chapter One"
05/14/2009 page 231
33.09% "Pt II chapter five."
05/14/2009 page 300
42.98% "I had forgotten some of the trickster moves." 2 comments
05/15/2009 page 347
49.71% "Pt II Chapter 14"
05/16/2009 page 375
53.72% "Pt III The Character of Compliance. Chapter One."
05/16/2009 page 531
76.07% "Part IV An Instance of the Fingerpost chapter one"
05/17/2009 page 652
93.41% "Part IV chapter 11"
show 2 hidden updates…

Comments (showing 1-27 of 27) (27 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Wanda Bettie, I cannot promise I will finish this book for June as a read-along; however, I will try very hard. I would like to read The Island by Victoria Hislop if my friend Donna's nomination wins in the group You'll Love This One. Will that be okay with you? I will try very hard to get it done.


Bettie☯ Wanda wrote: "Bettie, I cannot promise I will finish this book for June as a read-along; however, I will try very hard. I would like to read The Island by Victoria Hislop if my friend Donna's nomination wins in..."

Wanda - above all, your reading life must be fun and not a prison sentence. I am thoroughly enjoying immersing myself in this book again and if others are doing it simultaneously then 'fab', if they are not, still fab!

xxxxxxxxx


message 3: by Lee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lee I requested my copy from the library today but it is coming from another branch and that usually takes up to a week. So, I will probably start this middle of next week.

I'm glad you suggested this Bettie, I've been interested in reading it for a while. I'm in the mood for a mystery!


Bettie☯ Lee wrote: "I requested my copy from the library today but it is coming from another branch and that usually takes up to a week. So, I will probably start this middle of next week.

I'm glad you suggested..."


Dear Lee - I am reading knowing that you will soon catch me up. Even though this is a re-read I am not skimming at all because I am looking out for clues that eluded my eyes last time.

xxx


Wanda Bettie (Goodreads Reader!) wrote: "Lee wrote: "I requested my copy from the library today but it is coming from another branch and that usually takes up to a week. So, I will probably start this middle of next week.

I'm glad y..."


Bettie, I think this is a book in which you will find something new every time you read it; don't you?


Wanda Those men are a bit imposing looking, aren't they?


message 7: by Bettie☯ (last edited May 14, 2009 05:51AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Bettie☯ Locke was a philosopher and Thurloe was Cromwell's Master Spy

ETA - I had forgotten Cola's rendition of a night out at the theatre to watch King Lear. hahahaha


Wanda I take that back - those men don't really look imposing at all. Rather, they look foppish - it's those weird wigs. Were they bald under the wigs? Was it a way to keep down the head lice? Did the wigs have head lice? Yuck! I need another shower.


message 9: by Lee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lee If this book is good enough for you both to want to re-read it, I am dying to get my pudgy little hands on it!


Wanda Will finish The Last Queen today. Will begin the Instance in earnest tonight.


Wanda Page 32.


Bettie☯ Wanda wrote: "Page 32. "

Hello dear Wanda - I didn't get any reading done last night and I am Extreme Mopping at the showroom today. Lovely weather out there and I expect dear M will be in the BBQ corner later on.


Wanda I shall be reading between role playing at Super Washerwoman of Mount Laundry and the Heroic Housecleaner. I shall share a finger or two of spirits with M in my mind and imbibe of my own over dinner tonight.


message 14: by Lee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lee status report: STILL in transit! I want my booky!


Wanda Pssst, Lee - this is a great book; but, Olivia the Pig is better!


Bettie☯ *ssssh*

I couldn't find a book with that title, Wanda.


Bettie☯ I was just discussing this book with M and he tells me that the Swedish title was 'The Fourth Truth', which he thinks was a spoiler for the whole caboodle.

The Eurovision has kicked off with the Lithuanian entry so I'll have one eye on that whilst I read.

May your Saturday evening be as scrumptious.


Wanda Bettie (Goodreads Reader!) wrote: "*ssssh*

I couldn't find a book with that title, Wanda."


Bettie, it's a small child's book (entitled Olivia by Ian Falconer). The Divine Miss M will enjoy it with her mommy. Olivia is an irrepressible piggie with a love of opera, ballet and Eleanor Roosevelt and accesorizing her school uniform, too. If, you send me your address, I will mail a copy to you - you would adore her!


Libbeth I have this book on my wish list at Read It Swap It. Looks like it's time to see if someone would like to swap with me.


Bettie☯ I'll send you my copy - two reads through is enough for me and I don't need anything in return


Libbeth Bettie (Goodreads Reader!) wrote: "I'll send you my copy - two reads through is enough for me and I don't need anything in return"

That's very kind of you. I'll Message you.


Bettie☯ okedokee


Bettie☯ whee! my copy is going to the UK seaside so it's now on the books with a passport shelf.

:O)


message 24: by Lee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lee I love that shelf! It was a genius idea.


Bettie☯

Have a good day Chuckle Bums


message 26: by Lee (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lee There's my favourite dancing Granny!


Heidi Bettie, I am thinking of reading this book next (or rather listening to it on my iPod, but I'm a little freaked out by some of the reviews on Amazon.com saying how boring and slow it is. Can you reassure me? I love historical mysteries but I'm concerned.


back to top