Astrid's Reviews > Sitting at the Feet of Rabbi Jesus: How the Jewishness of Jesus Can Transform Your Faith

Sitting at the Feet of Rabbi Jesus by Ann Spangler
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6319880
's review
Oct 02, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: jewish-roots, christianity
Read from September 23 to October 02, 2011

A good combination of different works I have read or listened to on the "jewish roots" so I was familiar with most of the points presented in the book (still good to be reminded about), but there was also several new fresh perspectives that strenghten my faith and encouraged me to live this amazing life with God through the Messiah. love it!

"The Sermon on the Mount was not a revolution against the Torah, but a revolution in understanding how to live out the Torah"
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Sitting at the Feet of Rabbi Jesus.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

09/23/2011 page 12
6.0%
09/23/2011 page 51
25.0% "so far so good! toujours aussi bon de voir comment les évangiles se fondent complètement dans le monde juif du second temple et comment les paroles de Jésus prennent une toute autre dimension quand on essaie de les entendre à travers les oreilles de ses contemporains."
09/24/2011 page 78
38.0% "Selon le talmud, un disciple devait servir son rabbin comme un esclave son maître à une exception près: défaire ses sandales. Seuls les esclaves faisaient cette tâches qui était considérée comme humiliante. Pourtant Jésus non seulement défait les sandales de ses disciples mais se met aussi à laver leur pieds! Quelle leçon! "Je viens de vous donner un exemple pour que vous agissiez comme j'ai agi envers vous" Jn13:13"
09/27/2011 page 113
54.0% "On the sabbath after Passover, the day preceding the Feast of the Firstfruits, a dramatic prophecy was always read in the temple. Ezekiel 37:5 - so the disciples the day after Jesus crucifixion, would have gone to the temple and hear this prophecy in which God promises far more than a earthly harvest, but the promise to raise the dead to life ..."
09/29/2011 page 145
70.0% "Dans la bible partager un repas avec quelqu'un aller bien au delà d'avoir un temps convivial. L'hôte qui recevait quelqu'un "à sa table" exprimait une alliance de paix avec son invité mais lui garantissait aussi protection et sécurité (parfois au prix de sa vie). L'invité dévellopait alors une relation de confiance et de dépendance avec son hôte. "... Tu dresses devant moi une table en face de mes adversaires" Ps23"
10/01/2011 page 182
88.0% "Salvation is only the first step..."

Comments <span class="smallText"> (showing 1-3 of 3) </span> <span class="smallText">(3 new)</span>

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Timothy (new)

Timothy wow, Astrid - this was the right website to recommend to you! You're a book giant!


message 2: by Timothy (new)

Timothy pretty sure I'm going to pick up more from you than vice versa =)


Astrid LOL I'm not as sure as you! More than half of the books I've been reading comes either from your recommandation, or is either a reference mentionned in a book that you recommanded to me lol. Including that one that I found on a website mentionned in the notes of Velvet Elvis (if I well remember) ;-)


back to top