Kat Kennedy's Reviews > Marked

Marked by P.C. Cast
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3270188
's review
Jul 15, 2015

did not like it
bookshelves: books-that-deserve-painful-death, kat-s-rants, just-plain-bad, kat-s-book-reviews
Read from September 14 to 17, 2011

592 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Marked.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

09/14/2011 page 2
20.0% "A crescent moon on her forehead!? IS SHE GOING TO BE SAILORMOON??????" 2 comments
09/14/2011 page 3
30.0% "Nope... false alarm."
09/14/2011 page 4
40.0% "I might die or turn into a vampire...meh! I'm a cool, disaffected, apathetic teenager. Relate to me!" 7 comments
09/14/2011 page 25
100% "Turning into a teenage vampire - Have to go to new school, friends don't understand and my lame, religious parents think I'm the devil. #FirstWorldVampireProblems" 1 comment
09/14/2011 page 50
100% "That's right, Zoe, you've totally got Cherokee wisdom and magic. I can already tell that. You're so speshul it hurts."
09/15/2011 page 200
100% "No, just... fuck no." 11 comments
09/15/2011 page 220
100% "So this is what "going postal" feels like..."
09/15/2011 page 230
100% "I don't know how I'd manage to live my life without these PSA announcements concerns oral sex, homosexuality and drunken pashing." 6 comments
09/15/2011 page 260
100% "That's right, Zoey, everyone else is just jealous of you."
09/16/2011 page 290
100% "Oh my goodness! Listening to the narrator impersonate a grumpy cat: priceless"
09/16/2011 page 420
100% "This book has been going on forever. It feels like it'll never stop...life no longer feels worth living..." 2 comments
04/07/2016 marked as: read

Comments (showing 1-50 of 102) (102 new)


message 1: by John (new) - rated it 1 star

John Egbert Oh my God, why are you doing this to yourself, Kat?!


Kat Kennedy Not the Lolz this time. One of my friend's younger sister was MORTALLY offended when I said this and Blue Bloods was crap.

She asked if I'd read them, to which I replied no. Well, how can you know if you haven't read them?

Apparently, "How do you know you're a mortal if you don't die?" and my laughing at her for ten minutes straight wasn't a proper answer.

So here I am.


After this^^ conversation, she agreed to read two books off my awesome YA lit list if I would read two novels she thought was awesome. Since I'm seeing her tonight and will need to give a progress report (and ensure she is is ALSO keeping up her end!) I'm trying to finish it.


message 3: by John (new) - rated it 1 star

John Egbert Well, at least you're getting something out of it. I usually read these kinds of...books...for the pure lulz.


Amazon80 Did you agree to read the whole series to date? I pray you don’t b/c these (and Blue Bloods) get progressively worse. And forget the love triangle; it was like a love hexagon when I stopped reading.


message 5: by Cory (new) - rated it 1 star

Cory Wow Kat. This is brilliant. You have given me new inspiration to finish editing my novel.

Your interpretation = win. I could not get past the first chapter.


Mariya one of the first series I've ever read and now that I've read 1000x more/better books I don't even know what I saw in this series. Honestly it's horrible now. each book has gotten worse and worse.


Steph Sinclair It’s rather brilliant when you think about it!

But it still only gets one fucking star.


^ This made me laugh so hard, I almost woke the boy up. Lol.

Please tell me you don't have to read the entire series. It gets worse and worse! Which two books did you pick out for her?


message 8: by Lisa (new) - rated it 1 star

Lisa Great review as always. I like your interpretation much better than the general interpretation. Too funny.


-k The Lady Critic Oh this review was amazing. I never looked at the books this way but it completely makes sense!
I really hope that if you can stomach reading the next 100 books in the series (ok, it's like 10 or so but they feel like they're never going to end) you review them like you did this one.
Honestly though, this is about as good as the novels get. It's all downhill from here.


Kat Kennedy Haha! Everyone, I have absolutely NO intention of reading anymore of these books... Ever!

Thanks, though! I'm glad to know my interpretation isn't too obscure!


message 11: by [deleted user] (new)

I liked the book but I can totally see where your coming from, your review probably pointed out things I didn't want to notice.


Kizi180 Yeap, is true but most of it change in the 2nd book. Still yeah is a Zoe-Apocalypse


message 13: by Fabiane (new)

Fabiane Abreu I couldn't get past the second chapter. Kudos for you for finishing it!

Your review made my husband come over to see if I was okay from all that laughing. lol


message 14: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Zoey is the most annoying Mary Sue you will ever encounter in YA. She's so perfect, everyone loves her, and every boy in the series wants to sleep with her. I think she has like 3 boys going on in every book.


message 15: by John (new) - rated it 1 star

John Egbert Stephanie wrote: "Zoey is the most annoying Mary Sue you will ever encounter in YA. She's so perfect, everyone loves her, and every boy in the series wants to sleep with her. I think she has like 3 boys going on in..."

(view spoiler)


message 16: by Lina (new) - rated it 1 star

Lina You pretty much summed up the story of Aphrodite. I swear, is it a trend now to have the real protagonist hidden as a secondary? (Leah, Isabel, Aphrodite..)


message 17: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Mello wrote: "Stephanie wrote: "Zoey is the most annoying Mary Sue you will ever encounter in YA. She's so perfect, everyone loves her, and every boy in the series wants to sleep with her. I think she has like ..."

Oh, indeed, can't forget about that! It's not the least bit disturbing, totally acceptable.


message 18: by John (new) - rated it 1 star

John Egbert Stephanie wrote: "Mello wrote: "Stephanie wrote: "Zoey is the most annoying Mary Sue you will ever encounter in YA. She's so perfect, everyone loves her, and every boy in the series wants to sleep with her. I think..."

Oh ya. That's, like, totally normal. Happens all the time.


message 19: by John (new) - rated it 1 star

John Egbert Princess 'Lina wrote: "You pretty much summed up the story of Aphrodite. I swear, is it a trend now to have the real protagonist hidden as a secondary? (Leah, Isabel, Aphrodite..)"

I may continue the series just to get to/read Aphrodite if she's one of those types of hidden protagonists. I loved Leah and Isabel to bits.


message 20: by Lissa (new)

Lissa This is the best reading of this most awful book I have ever had the pleasure of reading. When I read it, I was just all like MARY SUE RAGE RAGE RAGE but you've actually given me a really good way of looking at this book. I really wish you'd do a reading like this for the rest of the series but at the same time I don't want to subject you to that absolute bullshit horror.


message 21: by Jessica-Robyn (new)

Jessica-Robyn I haven't read this book (and probably never will) but this review is absolutely amazing. Imagine the doors this could open for badly written YA and psychological analysis! Maybe better yet someone should have a little sit down with the author and her editor, go straight to the source!

My god, I would love that job... I need to make happen. :D


message 22: by Cor (new)

Cor The sad thing is you review is probably much funnier than the real book even if you make it sounds like a really funny story about a female psychopath.


Kat Kennedy Thanks everyone! It's really Edwina Wren who convinced me Zoe is BPD. She really did a great job of portraying mental illness!


Regina Kat did you notice Edwina Wren's messed up accent? I am listening to this right now. Accourding to my googling efforts Ms. Wren is Australian, she goes in and out of her australian accent, an American accent and then a strained weird thing in between. It is driving me crazy.

I am only 50% in, but I feel like this is a fanfic story of Harry Potter, with hormones and no substance.

LOL at this: "-When we meet Aphrodite, through Zoe, she is forcing a blow job on the future object of Zoe's desire. I can't find a statistical formula for how many boys have refused blowjobs from their girlfriends, because one doesn't exist yet, but this was when I first solidly began to believe my assertion about her BPD was truly correct."

My thought exactly. That poor boy!


message 25: by Annie (new) - rated it 1 star

Annie Pretty brilliant. Based on this, she might have histrionic personality disorder too.


Nicol I love this review even though I have continued to read the series! But I read it for Stevie Rae - if you ever find yourself wanting to torture yourself further please read the rest of the series and let me know what you think about Nefret!


Anachronist -When we meet Aphrodite, through Zoe, she is forcing a blow job on the future object of Zoe's desire. I can't find a statistical formula for how many boys have refused blowjobs from their girlfriends, because one doesn't exist yet, but this was when I first solidly began to believe my assertion about her BPD was truly correct.

Thank you. I needed such an assessment very much. I hate this series.


Renee Wilson "It’s rather brilliant when you think about it!

But it still only gets one fucking star."

Lololol.


message 29: by [deleted user] (new)

Oh, wow. Even the rant felt long. NOT reading this.


message 30: by Elspeth (new)

Elspeth Awesome review!


message 31: by Sarah (new) - rated it 1 star

Sarah Such a brilliant review made even more awesome with the single ending line: "But it still only gets one fucking star."
Lovely. Lovely.


Wildbriar This review...poetry.


message 33: by Alexandrea (new)

Alexandrea That...was the most intense YA review I have ever read.
But I burst into laughter at the end there.

"One fucking star"... ;D


Kat Kennedy Glad you enjoyed it.


Barbara (VampAngel) LOL! That was excellent and very insightful!


Danielle Wow, how insightful, I don't know if I should be intrigued or scared


Despair Speaking I shall follow you from now on... *becomes a stalker* Mwahahahaha!


Elizabeth(The Book Whisperer) I hated this book! I thought the writing was silly and the dialogue weak and immature. I know this book was for teens, but wow, it still could have been better.


Elizabeth(The Book Whisperer) Oh, and was that oral sex scene necessary? I saw a mother with a a girl who couldn't have been older than twelve in Barnes And Noble one day looking at this book. The mother asked an employee if the book would be appropriate for her daughter. The employee said she hadn't read it but it was probably okay. I put my two cents in and told her NO, it wasn't! LOL.


Zaynab this book was seriously worth...loved it!!!!aphrodites attittude...it supper awesome!!!


Despair Speaking Elizabeth wrote: "Oh, and was that oral sex scene necessary? I saw a mother with a a girl who couldn't have been older than twelve in Barnes And Noble one day looking at this book. The mother asked an employee if th..."

Thank you for saving the soul of an (probably) innocent girl.


Kat Kennedy You say this like you are shocked, Vlad. SHOCKED. I assure you, I GIF responsibly if at all possible.


message 44: by Ioana (new)

Ioana Kat wrote: "You say this like you are shocked, Vlad. SHOCKED. I assure you, I GIF responsibly if at all possible."

I wish this comment had a like button!


message 46: by Bec (new) - rated it 2 stars

Bec Oh Kat I would love you to review the rest of this series especially # 7 which was as far as I got in my misguided youth, cause girl was trippin' hard by that stage


Zaynab lovved your extrapolation.............<3!!!


message 48: by [deleted user] (new)

I want to like that comment so, SO much.


Anna-Kathrin I suffer from BPD, but I'm nothing like Zoe (thank god!). Still, a funny review!


Danielle I wish that I could like this review a thousands times, it's so fun to read


« previous 1 3
back to top