Caroline's Reviews > Sparrow Road

Sparrow Road by Sheila O'Connor
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
694247
's review
Sep 14, 11

Read from September 12 to 14, 2011

I was blase about this whimsical book that was well reviewed by all the major journals (booklist gave it a star and even kirkus had nice things to say!) A whimsically written realistic fiction book for middle schoolers (probably girls)sends a positive message about art, family, and discovering who we are. Don't know why I didn't like it more. I'm usually a sucker for lyrically written books but I had to make an effort to finish this one. Be that as it may, I"d still give this book to readers who enjoyed Olive's Ocean, Every Soul a Star, or Spinelli's Stargirl-and judge their response before writing it off. It may have just been the right book at the wrong time (I've been dying to get my hands on Selznik's new book Wonderstruck and start Lisa McMann's The Unwanteds...)
1 like · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Sparrow Road.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.