Bettie☯'s Reviews > Life and Fate

Life and Fate by Vasily Grossman
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1108123
's review
Mar 06, 14

bookshelves: radio-4, autumn-2011, published-1980, wwii, war, slavic, epic-proportions, philosophy, nazi-related, holocaust-genocide, classic, teh-brillianz, translation
Recommended for: Brazilliant Laura et al
Read from September 12 to 25, 2011

4 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Life and Fate.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

09/21/2011 page 1
0.0% "
Janet Suzman stars in Vasily Grossman's epic tale set against the Battle of Stalingrad in Soviet Russia. The contents of Viktor's mother's letter are revealed."
09/21/2011 page 2
0.0% "
Krymov and Zhenya - Lovers Once: Evacuated from Moscow to Kuibyshev before the invading German army, the beautiful Yevgenia is alone. While she tackles Soviet bureaucracy for the residence permit she needs for food, her ex-husband is posted into the heart of the battle for Stalingrad, hundreds of miles away."
09/21/2011 page 3
0.0% "
In a forest in northern Russia, pilot Lenya longs to see his pregnant girlfriend Vera. She is stranded in Stalingrad, where she watches the planes hoping to catch sight of Lenya."
09/21/2011 page 4
0.0% "
Jewish doctor Sofya is taken prisoner in Stalingrad and put on a cattle truck heading west to Poland, where Hitler's Final Solution is beginning."
09/21/2011 page 5
1.0% "
Abarchuk

Even faithful Communists were sent to the Gulag, as Lyuda's ex-husband knows to his cost."
09/21/2011 page 6
1.0% "
Building 6/1 - Those Who Were Still Alive

Commissar Krymov is sent to tackle dissent in Stalingrad's 'rat-war' front-line battle."
09/22/2011 page 7
1.0% "
Lieutenant Peter Bach - Vasily Grossman paints vivid and surprising pictures of all sides of the battle for Stalingrad. In a German field hospital, a young man struggles to make sense of the war."
09/22/2011 page 8
1.0% "
Vasily Grossman's epic tale set against the Battle of Stalingrad in Soviet Russia. Novikov, a tank commander, prepares his troops for Operation Uranus, a critical campaign."
09/22/2011 page 8
1.0% "

Operation Uranus"

Comments (showing 1-11)




dateUp arrow    newest »

Bettie☯ The second afternoon play 'Journey' is very hard to take. Grossman was the first to write about Eichmann and the massacre which came to be known as the holocaust. His accounts were used at Nuremberg.


message 10: by Wanda (new) - added it

Wanda You convinced me! Thanks!


Bettie☯ Wanda wrote: "You convinced me! Thanks!"

In 'Journey' there is confirmation of Alma Rose Vienna to Auschwitz activity. Hard to keep a dry eye.


message 8: by Bettie☯ (last edited Sep 23, 2011 04:34PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Bettie☯ Classic Serial - 2 hours
Women's Hour Drama 5 x 15 mins - 1hr 15 mins
Afternoon Plays 5 x 45 mins - 3 hrs 45 mins
Saturday Play - 1 hr

From The Guardian

Life and Fate: vivid, heartbreaking, illuminating and utterly brilliant. Radio 4's eight-hour adaptation of Vasily Grossman's epic Life and Fate represents the pinnacle of radio drama.
posted by Elisabeth Mahoney Friday 23 September 2011 12.05 BST guardian.co.uk


message 7: by Wanda (new) - added it

Wanda It is early morning for you, Dear One. Go to sleep!


Bettie☯ Wanda wrote: "It is early morning for you, Dear One. Go to sleep!"

haha - I missed this message! (are we having notification proms again on GR?). The wonderful thing about (tiggrs) the internet is that not everyone is where you think they are all the time.

[image error]

Hope you are having a lubbly-jubbly weekend
xxxxxxxxx


message 5: by Wanda (new) - added it

Wanda Listened to Episode 1 yesterday. It is fab!


Bettie☯ Wanda wrote: "Listened to Episode 1 yesterday. It is fab!"

Not usually a cry baby, however twice this story has impacted to make me weep. I have the very last one to listen to today.

Because of this BBC production, Life and Fate is #3 in this week's bestseller list on the Guardian site.


message 3: by Wanda (new) - added it

Wanda I have added it to my Barnes & Noble shopping list and will be purchasing a copy on Friday (pay day!). I cannot wait to hold these characters in my hand and read their stories. What a fab, fab find!! Many, many, many thanks indeed. P.S. I will be listening to Episode #2 tonight.


Bettie☯ Thanks Chris - see all the pretty pictures/maps/diagrams/illustrations that aided comprehension have been deleted!!


message 1: by Wanda (new) - added it

Wanda I remember this one. I do now own a copy for future reading.


back to top