Anzu The Great Destroyer's Reviews > The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie

The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2278800
's review
Aug 22, 2011

liked it
bookshelves: buddy-or-group-read, reviewed-2011, romance-historical, forever-alone
Recommended to Anzu by: Dija
Recommended for: historical romance fans
Read from August 25 to 27, 2011 , read count: 1

Review from ZombieHazard.

This book is good. All the reviews I saw for it were, to say it nicely, kissing its ass pretty badly. I get why everyone reacts this way. If you’re into the genre this would be a pretty big deal. If you’re not into the genre it will be from good to decent. Since I’m not into historical romance it was ok for me. It was nice that I actually had a nice and unpredictable story to enjoy. Add some interesting characters and a nice happy ending and you get a good result.

What I didn’t like about the book? The first half when it was a bit too passive for my taste. And some other minor details that I will highlight throughout my wonderful and most-serious review.

I find Ian amusing and fascinating at the same time. I have a thing for crazy people... Let’s not be cruel and call him crazy… He’s an artist. Eccentric and easily distractive. End of discussion. I respect the strength that he shows and his keen intelligence. I respect his pure heart. You have to admit he acts like a kid sometimes but it didn’t bother me. Much.

Ian Mackenzie is in fact an alien came from outer space to teach humans how to evolve from their undeveloped state. He has the ability to learn every move just by staring at it once. He can pick up emotions with only one touch. But he has one problem. No, make it two problems. First of all he is not capable of having feelings. This will prove as a hard test (pun intended if you may) when faced with the beautiful and fiery Beth Ackerley. His second problem is his sensitivity to porcelain, which can be considered both his strength and his weakness. Will Ian be able to hide his identity amongst humans? Will he be able to grow feelings for the insatiable Beth? Stay tuned for another episode of Porcelain-Man!



Porcelain-Man! He fights crime with lots of porcelain… stuff!!! Nananananananana Porcelain-Man nananananannaa!!!!

I didn’t know how to react to Ian’s shopping spree (to call it this way). So let me get this straight. You go to opera. You see hottie lady. You want to bed, as they say, the hottie lady. So you want to marry her in order to bed her. Am I right? Now let me put it another way. You go to the supermarket. You see good promotion for beer. You want to drink beer badly. So you want to buy the beer in order to drink it. So what do you say? Do I have a case to present to the authorities in order to nail Ian for trying to buy the poor girl as a sex slave?

Why did I have the feeling that Beth was treating Ian like he is in fact crazy? She was way too nice to him and accepted marrying him without as much as an angry reaction. And speaking of anger, she had none. How can this be??? The book had so many moments where any human being would have steam blowing out of their ears. Her reaction? “Oh my” *pause* “What are we having for dinner?” *pause*. WTF?!? She’s either a saint (after the things she did that’s out of the question) or just considering Ian crazy. Which he is. Kinda. Shame on you Beth!! In the end I still couldn’t decide whether I like or dislike her. I guess she’s one of those characters who’ll remain neutral to me.

Inspector Fellows is some piece of work. I imagine him having a fat human’s body, short legs and a rat’s face. And I mean an actual rat’s face. I like to keep myself entertained by imagining him go around the streets in a pale brown coat holding a magnifying glass in front of his eyes. (Heh. At a point Beth actually said Fellows resembles a rat! I’m good!)

Mather is also a comical character. I think they could make a comic book out of this. Oh wait!

Nananananananana Porcelain-Man nananananannaa!!!!

The brothers were also interesting. I can’t think of which I like best; I guess I have to read the other books to find out.

Before I got I must mention a few more things:

1. Why was Ian close to giving a porcelain bowl a blowjob. Is it just me? Was I imagining it?
2. Why do I have the need to break Ian’s balls bowls?
3. Am I the only one who finds Scottish accents hot?
11 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

08/26/2011
45.0% "Nananananana Porcelain-Man Nanananananana" 4 comments
08/27/2011
99.0% "RCS"
07/14/2016 marked as: read

Comments (showing 1-50 of 60) (60 new)


Dija YAY! I hope you aren't disappointed. :D


Aly is so frigging bored I loved this :D Anzu I think I'll start reading this with a friend this week if you want to join ;;)


Anzu The Great Destroyer Yeeeaaaaah group reaaaaad WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO


Aly is so frigging bored :))) So you doing it?


Dija I hope all you guys like it! :D


Aly is so frigging bored I hope so too. I think I liked Mac's the most though :D Can't wait for the Duke's story :X:X:X


Dija So you've read the next 2 books but not the first one? And I have a feeling Mac's will be my favorite too, since I already preferred his romance even in Ian's story.


Aly is so frigging bored :)) I've read them all but I want to re-read :D and re-reading it with friends should be even better :D

BTW Anzu how about we start it Friday or Thursday?


Anzu The Great Destroyer Yeaaaaah we're doing it :D If it's not good I'll kill you all!!!
Hmmmmm let's Thursday? I gotta get it first :|


Aly is so frigging bored :)) Ok... BTW my friend Madu usually reads the entire book in one day :D. I corrupted her with GR 1 week ago :D


message 11: by Madu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Madu gossiping , sweetie ? :* =))


Aly is so frigging bored Just 'cuz I love you :D And I wasn't actually gossiping, I was imparting info on a dear friend :*


message 13: by Madu (last edited Aug 23, 2011 05:58AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Madu Sure sure :* Love you too:* so Thursday is the big day?


Aly is so frigging bored It seems so :D


message 15: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Niiiceeee GR should be our private bar pub thing like McLaren's in How I Met Your Mother :D

:o Let's make a group and call it something cool and chat there and share stuff :D And make it private and have only us there or something.

As you can tell I'm a bit bored :p


message 16: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija I'm all for creating a club, but the thread thing seems troublesome to me. I prefer comments, but whatever you ladies think fits better.


Aly is so frigging bored :)) Do your worst :D


message 18: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer I don't know but it would be nice for group reading don't you think? :D


message 19: by Dija (last edited Aug 23, 2011 12:26PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Yeah, you're right. And you know what? I was thinking of the exact same title for our lovely group. Great minds thinking alike and all that?


message 20: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Loooooooooooooooolz yep they do! Do you like the image I chose? :>

I was thinking of making everyone a moderator and everyone will add books and then weekly or once in two weeks we do a group read or something.

Aly invite your friend also ;)


message 21: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Yep, love the image. It's sort of disturbing, though.

That's cool, but I might not be as active as I am now later on, once school starts up again. I'll try my best anyway.

I was thinking of making a random thread, just for chatting endlessly about everything?


message 22: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Aaaawwwww which year are you in? :D

I don't know but chatting's cool :D It's also a nice way of reading stuff together :D I actually love doing this and then commenting about the book and stuff.

Sadly none of my friends are into this and I like to chat about what I read so...

Forever alone...

image


message 23: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Second year. Two more years to go, yay!

So start a cool thread! Maybe one for images that scare the living daylights out of me?

And that's such a creepy image, Anzu! I have the weirdest expression on my face, part-smile and part-terror.


message 24: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Highschool or college? :D

Creepy you say eeeh? Hmmmmm yeah that could be something :p I have a problem with funny gifs lately if you want that as an alternative to the creepiness :p

And that's the forever alone painting... Beautiful...


message 25: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija College, thank God.

Funny and creepy gifs, both are fine. It's just when they are together that I start scaring myself.

Only you could think of that disturbing image as "beautiful".


Aly is so frigging bored What in the living daylights is that?! The picture I mean...


message 27: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Uuuuu college girl that's nice :D I'm sorry if I seem like I'm hitting on you or something O.O it just came out wrong!!! :( But I sometimes miss college, good times..

Well everyone tells me I'm freaky cuz I paint freaky stuff and like them and stuff but I see myself as perfectly normal :D

And Aly my dear that's the forever alone face!


message 28: by Dija (last edited Aug 24, 2011 04:01AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Nah, I totally understand! I'm definitely enjoying college, I think I might do PhD just for enjoying uni life. :D

You do know that insane people never view themselves as insane, right? :P


message 29: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer That's really nice :D where are you from?

Omg are you calling me insane???? O.o


message 30: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija I'm from Pakistan.

Nope, I'm just saying your behavior resembles that of insane people.


message 31: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Uuuuu that's nice :D You're exotic ;)

So.... you're calling me insane huh?.......


message 32: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Exotic? Nah, I think you Romanians are more exotic. Do you have an amazing accent when you speak English?

No, I'm saying the evidence speaks for itself. :P


Aly is so frigging bored :)) you are so crazy, both of you! I would say that those of us who learn a lot of English, tend to go a tiny bit to the British accent, but that may be wistful thinking on my part :D


message 34: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Oooh, I love British accents! Especially if they sound like Bones's. 8D


message 35: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Yeah Aly is right. Unless you fake the accent and sound like a pornstar :D
Bones *drooooooooooooool*


message 36: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer And nah Laz you are exotic I'm telling you :> A princess and all :>:>


message 37: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Are you telling me my parents have been hiding their true identities, those of a king and queen, from me all this time? I don't know whether to feel happy or betrayed. XD


message 38: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer Uhm..... No...... You didn't hear this from me...
The Guardians will be sooo pissed......


message 39: by Dija (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija Haha, LOL! You are so into roleplaying. :P


message 40: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer I actually am.. I wish I could play a role in an UF or sth *daydreams*


message 41: by Madu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Madu I'm into historicals and I couldn't get all the fuss about this book :))) Maybe it is something wrong with me ..It seems that I don't love books that everyone else does :)) Like my mother says, I'm "Gica contra" :))))


message 42: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer It happens to me sometimes also. I guess it's your mood? Too many historicals? :p You need something new? :D Maybe the UF will be good for you :>


message 43: by Dija (last edited Aug 28, 2011 07:55AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dija LOOOL @ Porcelain-Man! WTF, Anzu? :P


message 44: by Madu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Madu Anzu wrote: "It happens to me sometimes also. I guess it's your mood? Too many historicals? :p You need something new? :D Maybe the UF will be good for you :>"

Maybe it was my mood, or it was the fact that I was going back and forth transfering my folders from my computer(it is kind of broken) :)) Or maybe I read too many historicals...Well, I hope I'll like the UF we'll read. Maybe it will make me change the genre for a while :D :))


message 45: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer @Laz: I have no idea how that came in my mind. I was reading and I had the vision so I dropped the book and went fast into PS to draw it :p

@Madu: I usually get in this state when I read too many books that are similar. So in order to avoid this I just switch between genres. It works for me :D


Aly is so frigging bored Dude you people are crazy :)) you don't appreciate good stuff


Laz I say we leave them here and we enjoy Cam and Isabella :X


message 47: by Madu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Madu =)))
You don't appreciate Julia Quinn :-w We are quite even :)))=))


message 48: by Anzu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Anzu The Great Destroyer I don't like HRs much so I can't say anything now, can I? :p


Aly is so frigging bored True Anzu :D

Madu it's not the same :D I like her ideas, the stories itself, but not the way she writes them :D:D:D


message 50: by Madu (new) - rated it 3 stars

Madu I like smart and quick-witted dialogue and Julia Quinn is the best :D


« previous 1
back to top