Dija's Reviews > The Darkest Night

The Darkest Night by Gena Showalter
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Nov 24, 2011

really liked it
bookshelves: 2008, buddy-slash-group-read, wow, uf-or-pnr, surprisingly-good, my-reviews, first-in-series
Recommended for: Fans of BDB and PNR
Read from November 19 to 23, 2011

What I expected:

1. A too-sexy-to-be-true hero.
2. A too-feminine-to-be-anything-but-Barbie heroine.
3. Lust at first sight that magically transforms into true love barely 50 pages into the book.

What I got:

1. Lots of laugh-out-loud moments.
2. Swoon-worthy heroes.
3. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

Yes, the girl's a virgin. Yes, the guy's an immortal who has existed since before time yet still hasn't ever fallen in love. But no, the girl's not a wimpy, gullible, brainless idiot. And no, the guy actually does have a personality beyond his dick.

Color me surprised.
21 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Darkest Night.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

11/21 page 34
9.0% "Okay, book. Surprise me. " 1 comment
11/21 page 57
15.0% "“Women do not hit me. Women love me.” Go, Ashlyn! XD" 1 comment
11/22 page 187
50.0% "Wow." 14 comments
11/23 page 246
66.0% "“I’ll shoot first and ask questions later.” No matter how many times I read this line, it still sounds so badass. :D" 5 comments
11/23 page 313
84.0% "Can I skip the next book and read Reyes and Danikas' story first?"
02/05 marked as: read

Comments (showing 1-22 of 22) (22 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Aly is so frigging bored Or GR read, the last one :D Shame Dee, shame...

message 2: by Madu (new)

Madu You should really be punished for not reading the GR :-w :-w :-w [-(

Dija GR? You guys have totally lost me.

message 4: by Madu (new)

Madu group-read! [-( *sigh* you are so hurting us! *sigh*

Dija Wait, isn't this our group read as well??

message 6: by Madu (new)

Madu since when ?:| Have I missed something?

Dija Then why am I reading it?! Didn't we have a PNR read before the HR one??

message 8: by Madu (new)

Madu Wasn't it Nick's book? =)))

Aly is so frigging bored Madu hon, you skipped this one. It was before the HR one. Dee is right, but a little 3 weeks late :))

message 10: by Dija (last edited Nov 20, 2011 02:56AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija Dude, it's you guys who didn't stick to the group read being bi-monthly, not weekly. :P

Aly is so frigging bored It's bi-monthly!!! Go see :)) If you go on the read shelf in our group you'll see the weeks between which we read it :)) And just so you know the HR is next week too :D

message 12: by Madu (new)

Madu Oh...Then I have started it too early:D Mea culpa

Aly is so frigging bored You didn't =)) Damn people!! What's wrong with you?? The first LOTU finished on 13th November and The Penroyal Green book started on 14th and it ends on 27th!

Do you guys want me to send you updates or whatever?

message 14: by Madu (new)

Madu =))))))
and some coffee, too :*

message 15: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija LOL, okay, Aly, my mistake. I'm still catching up so bear with me. :P

Aly is so frigging bored :)) I love it when I am right and I know everything too :D It gives such a rush :>

Aly is so frigging bored Such a mean thing to say at the end of your review :)) You'll read the next ones in the series, yes?

message 18: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija Oh, yes, especially Reyes's story!

Aly is so frigging bored I loved Anya and Lucien :D he just can't say no to her :D and Anya is a Goddess and very hot and powerful and all, but Gena makes her look so human with insecurities and loving her family and doing anything to stay independent :X Love her

message 20: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija The next book's about Anya??? Must read! I adore her already!

Aly is so frigging bored Yes it is, after them is Reyes and Danika

message 22: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija I knew the 3rd one was about Reyes and Danika, but when I read the synopsis for the 2nd book, I hadn't yet met Anya so I couldn't remember her.

back to top