Gregory Close's Reviews > The Wise Man's Fear

The Wise Man's Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5532436
's review
Oct 24, 11

liked it
Read from August 13 to October 24, 2011

If you are a fan of Rothfuss and this series, you will read this and you will probably enjoy most of it (as I did). However, even as a big fan I was left dumbfounded by some of the content (the faerie escapades, most notably) as well as the meandering nature of the narrative and recurring all-too-convenient plot devices. It had moments of pure brilliance, but it did not achieve that level consistently. I'm still a fan, and I'm still buying the next book in this series. All in all, weighed against the strength of it's predecessor and my high expectations, this one just fell a little bit flat.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Wise Man's Fear.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

09/20/2011 page 83
8.0%
10/10/2011 page 283
28.0% "First 100 pages I was skeptical if it was going to live up to original. Skepticism evaporating as I'm sucked back into the world/plot/characters."
10/11/2011 page 412
41.0% "Yup. Hook, line and sinker. I'm either relieved or annoyed that I can't stop reading and get some sleep. ;)"
10/13/2011 page 562
57.0% "There was a conversation between Kvothe and Denna that seemed a bit contrived - like the plot drove the interaction more than the characters, and the charm of the meandering adventures of the protagonist is getting a bit strained. I still enjoy it, to be sure, but the balance between tiring and intriguing can be a tricky business."
10/17/2011 page 650
65.0% "Ummmmm... Yeah. The Felurian bit. Unfortunately, this is a true Ewok Moment and tarnishes all the good stuff that came before. Ruin? No. But tarnished, certainly so."
10/19/2011 page 716
72.0% "Hmmmmm. I definitely think the Felurian bit was a detriment to the narrative. Some good stuff is in there, but it's muddled in with some questionable and almost sophomoric passages. Glad to be moving on."
10/23/2011 page 888
89.0% "The narrative is all over the place. It really feels unfocussed. If he wasn't such a good writer in general, he might have lost me."

No comments have been added yet.