Jo's Reviews > Froi of the Exiles

Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2467655
"....and he wanted to creep inside her head and join the madness."


So I guess I’m kinda a fantasy fan.
(But still very much a learner)
Because there have now been two series I can’t get enough of
And it’s all to do with Double M and Ms Whalen Turner.

It’s taken me a while to process this book
(Once I got over the jittery caffeine shakes and stiffness of the joints)
Because when I skimmed through my notes I found with dismay
My pages full of only sad faces and exclamation points.

I picked it up with the intention of spending a few days completely
Immersed… but I must admit I failed.
For I realised when I had found myself, in awe, at the end
That Froi of the Exiles had been accidentally inhaled.

So due to the fact that my pages are bare
And seeing as I read this book in a day,
I realised that when it comes to my review
I’m probably not going to really have anything to say.

So if you are looking for advice on whether to read this story
Please read the other reviews with more valuable things to add.
But like it often happens when you finish an amazing book,
I can’t help but feel impossibly sad.

Because gone is Froi; all fierce and lost,
Who counts in his head to prevent his feelings breaking through.
With his strength, his passion and his fierce protection.
And umm, I guess his shoulders are nice to look at….
Especially with that tattoo.
*cough*

And gone is Quintana; “all snorts and giggles”
Who truly has the ability to “rip the breath from us all”.
With her squinting and her wonky teeth.
“The girl who could make rabbits appear on walls”.

But this isn’t just a story about these tragic kids.
(But my heart was completely shattered by Queen Q and her Froi)
It’s about finding to whom your blood sings, belonging and
Broken spirits to be mended. About understanding and of joy.

(An added note: I can’t help but think that Jo of Mancunia would be
Lovers Soulmates Swivening partners 
Strictly platonic with Lucian of the Monts.)
And I know I’ll sound impatient with what I say next,
But I like what I like and I know what I want...s.

And what I want is to spend 2012 scowling at the screen
Willing that the date for Q of C will get nearer.
Because how is it fair (especially with that end)
To make us wait another year....er?

ps.
Dear Double M, I would like to suggest that if you ever find yourself
On British shores that you should come and give Manchester a look,
We have rain football the best music and friendly people
And me to ask you about the release date of your Jimmy book.
And me to ask you intelligent questions about this glorious book.


Theme Tune.
Bat's Mouth by Bat For Lashes.

Also, I can't believe Double M based some of her research on Conwy Castle! Conwy is one of my favourite places in the world...if you ignore the dive-bombing seagulls, which is difficult when they're trying to nab your chips.


Photobucket

I wonder whether she visited Conwy at the same time as I did.
I was the one making my friend stand in the middle of the road so they could get a good picture of me standing with the plastic knight....

*ahem*

You can read this review and lots of other exciting things on my blog here.
37 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Froi of the Exiles.
sign in »

Reading Progress

12/19/2011 "I really need this today... It's so beautiful." 3 comments
12/19/2011 page 19
3.0% ""You can't see his bruises, but I promise they're there." :-D"
12/19/2011 page 136
23.0% ""Oh, to go a day in my life not lied to by the gods or so-called friends." :("
09/04/2012 "<3" 2 comments
09/10/2012
48.0% "Froi = Pretty much the only way to pass a two hour cross-country train journey at 11pm after spending most of the day being elbowed by patriotic Brits with air horns and foam fingers.(I was totally one of those Brits!)" 1 comment
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-42 of 42) (42 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jess (new) - added it

Jess Ahhh I can't wait to see what you think of this!


message 2: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Thanks Jess.
I've set aside a few days to get lost in it!

Did you manage to get a copy?


message 3: by Jess (new) - added it

Jess No, not yet...sadly :( I'm waiting until after all the Christmas bills and such are paid!


message 4: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Those pesky bills!

I've been putting off reading it because the third one doesn't come out until 2013 and I hear that it ends on a cliffhanger...!

But.... well, Froi was looking at me over his shoulder and his tattoo was calling me and I just couldn't resist!


message 5: by Jess (new) - added it

Jess Lol well I can't wait to hear how it is! But really...how on earth does she expect us to wait until 2013 for another book?!


message 6: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Actually, ignore me- I'm lying to you.
I've just looked on here and it says 2012... but I think that's in Australia!

God knows when it will be published in the UK!


Trinity Yayyyyy!!!!


Trinity Hehe I wondered where you'd got to :)
How amazing is it!! Seriously, like whoa!


Stephanie I feel like you about this book. Sigh. Once i meet my 2011 reading goal, then I can go back and re-immerse myself in re-inhale the story.


message 10: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo I agree Stephanie! I only just put it down but I honestly think I could pick it up and start again.
So excited for Quintana :)


Trinity LUCIEN!! I cried so much. Actual tears. Which is huge for me.

Love your poem!


Reynje This is amazing, Jo :D

Can't believe I haven't read it yet. I'm hoping to squeeze in a Finnikin re-read before I start though.

(view spoiler)


message 13: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Thanks Rey!
:)

I wanted to do a re-read of Finnikin too but didn't manage it but it didn't really matter.

YOU HAVE TO READ IT SOON.
It's so good and probably even better than Finnikin for me.
I just love Froi, he's so twisty. :)

I might make it a double whammy re-read before Quintana of Charyn comes out.
(view spoiler)


Reynje Maybe I should go get it this afternoon so I can read it on the plane on Sunday? Hmmm. This sounds like an excellent plan to me. You think I'll get by without a Finnikin refresher?

(view spoiler)


message 15: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Yeah definitely.
MM kind of refreshes things and mentions things but it's not like "Last month, in Lumatere...."

I have a shocking memory and hardly remember Finnikin but it didn't matter :)
Unless I've missed a huuuuge plot point.
Which is quite likely.

(view spoiler)


Reynje "Meanwhile, back in Charyn.." ha ha ha!

That's good to know. I have a pretty shocking memory with fantasy too. I'm sure the necessary stuff will come back to me when I start Froi though.

(view spoiler)


message 17: by Jo (last edited Dec 22, 2011 03:26PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Yeah it will.
The main points are:
Froi= Angsty and misunderstood.
Finnikin= Weedy, possibly ginger but still amazing.
Isaboe= AMAZING.
Trevanion= Oddly attractive.
Lucian= [Censored]

Also... there are handy maps to help you out but
Lumatere= YAY.
Charyn= BOO HISS.

(view spoiler)


message 18: by Shirley (new)

Shirley Marr Your poem just kills me Jo, I gotta read this series (I haven't, no incredulous stares please!)


Trinity GET THEE TO THE LIBRARY *yells everywhere*
sorry just got some disturbing news.


message 20: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Thanks Shirley!
You should definitely read this series, it's amazing.

It's completely different to her contemporary stuff but it still feels very MM-esque.


message 21: by Shirley (new)

Shirley Marr YES MISS TRINITY I SHALL! *bows head and scurries away*

Thanks Jo, I'm not much of a fantasy person (gosh I can be book-picky), but I'm sure if anyone can pull it off for me, it'll have to be MM!


message 22: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Haha, I don't really like fantasy either.
I get confused too easily and all the names with their double consonants and punctuation and it's just like "WHAT?! WHY ARE YOU CLIMBING A MOUNTAIN?! WHY IS THAT SWORD MAGICAL?! WHAT IS HAPPENING IN MY LIFE?!"

So when I said that this wasn't like this I don't mean it was dumbed down... but it's Jo-friendly.


Trinity There are no songs to skip :D
That's very important.


message 24: by Shirley (last edited Dec 22, 2011 05:11PM) (new)

Shirley Marr That's totally like me! Same with SF. I can't do science fiction (unless it's really organically developed) either! Let's face it, Twirley is an airhead and can't handle the complexity. But I know whatcha saying and it makes me want to go to a library right now. Except I think all the libraries are shut for Christmas :(


message 25: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Ugh... that's why I gave up on the Hobbit and LOTR.

*twitch*

I think that's one of my rules in any kind of book.
If there's a song written/sung by a character... I'm most likely going to rip the pages out and set fire to them.


message 26: by Shirley (new)

Shirley Marr me too *shrinks down*. I don't like books with songs and/or poetry *groans*


message 27: by Jo (last edited Dec 22, 2011 05:16PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo I can't deal with SF either! LOL. What are we like?
We're such girls.

Actually, saying that.... I kind of hate paranormal books too.

I just hate EVERYTHING.

My brother is a massive fantasy/SF geek and he's always like "You should read this... you should watch that"
And I just zone out.


Shirley, get out of my brain.
The only poetry I could stomach in a book is Poet in Graffiti Moon.
Swoon.

How anyone could think a boy singing a song to them is romantic baffles me completely! It brings me out in a rash just at the thought...


message 28: by Shirley (new)

Shirley Marr OMG I was just about to add a disclaimer: except Poet. Poet can write poems cos he's Poet.

Any other author cannot be writing narrative and then suddenly go: oh by the way, did I tell you I also write poetry - let me insert some of my crappy emo poetry...

And I don't like paranormal either!

Let's elope and head to the Bahamas.

Trin can come too cos she's ace.


message 29: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo (Is it ironic that we're writing about how much we hate poems on a review I've just written in verse?
Meh... whatever, this is Joetry.)

YES.
and
YES.

I actually love reading real-time poetry but when it's shoved into a book to show how ARTY and MULTI-TALENTED they are it's just like... I've ordered you a taxi and it's on its way to pick you up.
Wait outside.

Aruba, Jamaica, oooh I wanna take you
Bermuda, Bahamas, come on pretty mama.
Key Largo, Montego baby why don't we go


That song always makes me want to put on a bikini and drink cocktails out of a coconut. Also this one.


Trinity I've got my Mojito!


message 31: by Jo (last edited Dec 22, 2011 05:34PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo I don't like Mojitos :( it feels like I've just brushed my teeth.

I'd like a Sex on the Beach please.
Yeah, I know. I'm boring with my cocktails but whatevz.

Hard Rock Cafe do a really nice one called Purple Haze maybe they could make me one of them? Yum yum.


Catie This review is pure brilliance Jo. I laughed so hard at you *ahem* I mean WITH you in your little moments of rhyming angst.

Also, I LOVE Mojitos. It's my favorite cocktail. The trend of Jo's beverage love = the antithesis of Catie's continues on.

You guys are too cute with your SF/fantasy dislike. These books are so amazing though...it doesn't even matter.

*dresses in wizard's robes and composes a 12 page elegy in honor of Jo's hatred of the mojito*


Trinity Well Catie and I are down for Mojitos! It's just fun to say. Go on say it. Mojito


Catie MOJITO!


message 35: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Alright ladies, no need to brag with your minty-fresh breath.


Catie Go on, you know you want to say it too. I won't make you drink it.


message 37: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo ........

MOJITO!

Happy now?

[Because I am]


Catie Yes. :D


Crowinator You are brilliant!


message 40: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Thanks, Crow :-D


♥Rachel♥ I had to come read this when I heard mention of a Froi poem on Maja's review. Jo, your reviews always have me giggling. Excellent review! :)


message 42: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo Thanks Rachel :) Glad you enjoyed it.

Something about MM brings out the horrible poet in me. ;)


back to top