Giselle's Reviews > Feed

Feed by Mira Grant
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4800103
's review
Aug 07, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: ebook
Read from May 11 to August 10, 2012

"The zombies are here, and they’re not going away, but they’re not the story. They were, for one hot, horrible summer at the beginning of the century, but now they’re just another piece of the way things work. They did their part: They changed everything."

If you're looking for a simple zombie book, this ain't it. Filled with political intrigue, conspiracies, and a long, tedious political campaign -- amidst a zombie-filled post apocalypse world, of course -- Feed is intelligent, it's intense, and though some may find the first half a little long winded, it's completely worth it! A few things I learned once I started reading is 1) this is not a young adult novel; and 2) it's not about the zombies.

The very first thing I noticed going into this book was the exquisiteness of the writing. The narration being notably mature and quick-witted makes it an exceptionally smart novel that is just a breath of fresh air. I felt intelligent just by reading Mira's words. This fantastic prose comes together with outstanding world building and amazing characters that become so real you can't help but get emotionally invested. Mira proves, via generous scientific details and infinite facts, that she has done her research through and through, bringing about a world filled with science and technology that turns this zombie apocalypse into a real threat with push beneath it, making it plausible and indefinitely scary. As it's a more technical and political novel especially during the first half, this "info-dumping" -- for lack of a better term -- could be a bit dry for some tastes; however, as someone who loves to absorb all this geeky information that essentially makes it one of the most realistic zombie novel I've ever read, I was kept thoroughly engaged in it from the start. Howbeit, I wasn't disappointed when we hit that half way mark and the shit hit the fan! Because once the ball starts rolling on this one, it rolls non-stop until we arrive at one of the the most shocking endings I've read, making me idolize Mira for this daring conclusion.

Working a political campaign that turns deadly, the team of bloggers (aka news media) selected to travel with a candidate find themselves in the midst of it all. The leader of this group, Georgia, is our resourceful protagonist who can slap someone silly with her indestructible retorts, and shimmy her way into finding out any and all answers. She wants justice, and she's determined to get it! I loved every single thing about this girl. She has such vibrancy no matter if she's dealing with the campaign, her relationship with her adoptive brother, or writing her blog posts. Her voice oozes out this aptitude that makes her a warrior through and through. Her adoptive brother and best friend, Shaun, is also an incredible character who has the more silly, down to earth side of the coin that will make you chuckle, but he also shows his multi-layered personality through his blog postings from his perspective that we get at the end of several chapters. Working with this duo is a whole team of bloggers that -- even those we only glimpse at regularly -- all become strong players in this dangerous game.

In the end, as the quote at the beginning states, it's not really about the zombies, it's a political thriller set in a post apocalyptic future where zombies run rampant. Still, the zombies do heighten the intensity of the plot, making is constantly exhilarating as you never ever feel safe. There are a million ways to die in a zombie novel, and this one is no exception.

It's all just sort of unbelievably amazing.

--
For more of my reviews, visit my blog at Xpresso Reads
40 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Feed.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

05/14/2012
12.0% "So far I really like it! I love the narration it's sophisticated-like. For once, I don't feel like I'm losing brain cells."
05/28/2012
31.0% "Really liking this one. I'm slow moving on it but not because I don't like it - I can only give it time in between review books - I'm always eager to get back to it, though!"
06/09/2012
51.0% "Shit is getting serious now! :D" 5 comments
06/19/2012
69.0% "WHY? WHY!?! WHY DO PEOPLE DIE IN ZOMBIE BOOKS? *sobs*" 1 comment
08/09/2012
81.0% "I can finally get back to this one and hopefully finish it soon O_O" 2 comments
08/10/2012
88.0% "Wow. WOW. Wow!! Gutsy author. Love it!!" 2 comments
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-37 of 37) (37 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Bonnie YES.


Giselle I'm reading it right after Insurgent! So hopefully by the end of the weekend. :)


Bonnie Awesome. I hope you love it. :)


Audrey It's SO GOOD. And the second book is amazing, too. The endings of both blew my mind.


message 5: by Chenise (new) - added it

Chenise Definitely! If you love zombies, this is a must read. There is a lot of description and detail but they're so expertly done. Amazinggg


Giselle I find description and detail only makes it more realistic. I'll be starting this in the next few days! :)


Kimberly this is a great book.
i love Deadline even more.


Laura So? Do tell. How is this one going? You like? :D


Giselle I'm liking it. It's slow going because it's my "me" book, I can only get to it sometimes. But I'm definitely enjoying it. I love the intelligent narration. I'm about 25% in.


message 10: by Mimi (new) - added it

Mimi Valentine I feel like everyone is loving this book but me LOL x) But I am INTRIGUED -- and I know you like zombies, so you're probably like this one too, Giselle! :)


Giselle It's different from any other zombie book I've read. There's politics and blogging. It's really good though I'm liking it. But yes, I have a thing for zombies. :D


Christina (A Reader of Fictions) YAY! So glad you're liking it! I <3 this series SO MUCH.


message 13: by Beth (new)

Beth  (YA Books Central) Is it an easy read? or one you have to work at? I loved Rhiannon Frater's zombie book and am looking for one similar to hers! Any recommendations?


Giselle This one's very different from Rhiannon's. It's really hard to say if you would like it or not it's a love or hate type of read.


Christina (A Reader of Fictions) Beth wrote: "Is it an easy read? or one you have to work at? I loved Rhiannon Frater's zombie book and am looking for one similar to hers! Any recommendations?"

I haven't read Rhiannon Frater (yet), so I can't say on that, but I wouldn't call Feed an 'easy' read precisely. It's very dense and intricate. I whipped through all three books fairly quickly, but they're not fluff books by any means.


Giselle Oh I agree they're not fluff. They're super detailed and hefty. But I love it it makes it so realistic. It,s also sophisticated. Like, the narration is super intelligent I love it.


Christina (A Reader of Fictions) Giselle wrote: "Oh I agree they're not fluff. They're super detailed and hefty. But I love it it makes it so realistic. It,s also sophisticated. Like, the narration is super intelligent I love it."

I so agree. And I didn't struggle to read it at all. It's just not light. I have such an author crush!


message 18: by Beth (new)

Beth  (YA Books Central) You havent read the As the World Dies Trilogy? It is sooo great!!!The First Days


Christina (A Reader of Fictions) Beth wrote: "You havent read the As the World Dies Trilogy? It is sooo great!!!The First Days"

So I've heard, although I can't recall who it was that recommended them. ;) I do plan to read them, but I'm buried under review stuff at the moment.


message 20: by Kaede (new)

Kaede Zombies are evil. x_x


Wendy Darling Omg, 5 stars Giselle!!

Okay, here are the warnings: do not read any reviews or blurbs for the next books. Just trust they're awesome and go with it. (So many spoilers!)

But yay, I'm so thrilled you loved it!


message 22: by Giselle (last edited Aug 10, 2012 09:30AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Giselle Oh I know I'm not even reading any reviews for the next books. (view spoiler) I'm off to buy book 2 & 3 later tonight! They're so freaking long! Took me what? 3 months to read this one! haha. But the first half was very tedious - albeit not uninteresting. Just long to get through.


Wendy Darling Whoa, dude, you should spoiler tag part of your comment, hah! It took me a long time to get through the first book, too, because the middle is very slow. But I sped through both 2 and 3 very quickly, they're much more fast-paced and action-packed.

Looking forward to your review. :)


message 24: by Giselle (last edited Aug 10, 2012 09:30AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Giselle Is that a spoiler? Oh well darn! haha. I'll edit. It makes to sense to me with the events in this book so call me confuzzled >D


message 25: by Megan (new) - added it

Megan This sounds like an amazing zombie book! I've had an obsession with zombies lately, so I think I will have to check this out. ;D


Giselle You really should, Meg! It's amazing!


message 27: by Amber (new)

Amber Great review, Giselle!


Giselle Thanks Amber!


message 29: by Kenya (new)

Kenya Wright wow that was a shining review...I may readthis.


Giselle I recommend it! In case that wasn't clear. :D


Kelley York I have this on my Nook! This makes me want to read it more. :)


♥Rachel♥ *sigh* Another series I MUST pickup! What a fabulous review Giselle, you make me want to read this even more than I already did, and that was already a lot!! :)


Giselle Thanks ladies! It can be a bit slow during the first half but it's SO good!!


Melanie With the synopsis and your review, I really want to read this book and this whole series for sure now.


Cassi aka Snow White Haggard This is the peak of Zombie fiction as far as I'm concerned.


Giselle @Cassi: I've loved a lot of other zombie books that I liked as much as this, but I agree that it would be hard to actually beat it. The writing is just impeccable!

@Melanie: I just ordered the first 2 books in paperback and I got the 3rd, so I can lend them to you! I think you'd really like them!


Melanie Ah yeah? Ah thank you! I really do think I'll like them too.


back to top