Dija's Reviews > Divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2857113
's review
Oct 01, 11

bookshelves: 2011, buddy-slash-group-read, favorites, ya, my-reviews, first-in-series
Read from September 28 to 30, 2011

I am not Abnegation. I am not Dauntless.
I am Divergent.
And I can’t be controlled.


It's not often that a book manages to be original and enjoyable and popular simultaneously. Divergent pulls it off and it's definitely one of my most favorite reads of 2011.

The beginning is extremely slow, but not entirely uninteresting and certainly not unnecessary. Tris lives in Chicago where five factions - Abnegation (Selflessness), Erudite (Intelligence), Dauntless (Bravery), Amity (Peace), and Candor (Honesty) - coexist to promote harmony and prosperity. Tris belongs to Abnegation, but selflessness does not come naturally to her, and she chooses to be Dauntless instead.

Most of the book is about Tris's initiation into Dauntless and how she goes from being selfless to brave. The last half of the book is what transforms this book from being an average YA novel about fitting in and finding oneself to sheer genius. I can either bitch about how unoriginal and cliched some of the twists were, or I can simply be glad that I enjoyed reading through it. Since I'm in a generous mood, I choose to do the latter. I'm glad the suspense and action kept my undivided attention, and I love that I was able to see what all the hype surrounding this book is all about.

I feel a rather motherly sort of affection for Tris, and she's the best type of kid. She learns from her mistakes, doesn't get obsessed with every cute guy, and manages to be fierce and sweet and vulnerable and brave at the same time. If she wasn't my fictional child, I would definitely have a girl-crush on her. Of all the characters, her development from a child to a young woman is the most remarkable and fascinating.

And now, the secret reason why this book is so famous: There is no love triangle in it. Before Divergent, I would have thought it impossible for a YA series to lack that highly overdone factor, but this book has proved me wrong. I sincerely hope that Four remains the only love interest throughout the series, especially because I refuse to accept anyone else as my son-in-law. That isn't to say my feelings for Four are anything close to motherly, however, since I envision him looking something like this:



And did anyone else notice the lack of the L-word in the entire book, until the last 5 pages or so? I think the absence of it is exactly what has made me love this book so much! One of the reasons, anyway.

For more reviews, visit my blog.
28 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Divergent.
sign in »

Quotes Dija Liked

Veronica Roth
“You think my first instinct is to protect you. Because you're small, or a girl, or a Stiff. But you're wrong."

He leans his face close to mine and wraps his fingers around my chin. His hand smells like metal. When was the last time he held a gun, or a knife? My skin tingles at the point of contact, like he's transmitting electricity through his skin.

"My first instinct is to push you until you break, just to see how hard I have to press." he says, his fingers squeezing at the word break. My body tenses at the edge in his voice, so I am coiled as tight as a spring, and I forget to breathe.

His dark eyes lifting to mine, he adds, "But I resist it."

"Why..." I swallow hard. "Why is that your first instinct?"

"Fear doesn't shut you down; it wakes you up. I've seen it. It's fascinating." He releases me but doesn't pull away, his hand grazing my jaw, my neck. "Sometimes I just want to see it again. Want to see you awake.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“Who is he when he isn't Dauntless, isn't an instructor, isn't Four, isn't anything in particular?

Whoever he is, I like him. It's easier to admit that to myself now, in the dark, after all that just happened. He is not sweet or gentle or particularly kind. But he is smart and brave, and even though he saved me, he treated me like I was strong. That is all I need to know.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“I might be in love with you." He smiles a little. "I'm waiting until I'm sure to tell you, though.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“Moths," repeats Will. "You're afraid of moths?"

"Not just a cloud of moths," she says, "like...a swarm of them. Everywhere. All those wings and legs and..." She shudders and shakes her head.

"Terrifying," Will says with mock seriousness. "That's my girl. Tough as cotton balls."

"Oh, Shut up.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“Four flips the gun in this hand, presses the barrel to Peter's forehead, and clicks a bullet into place. Peter freezes with his lips parted, the yawn dead in his mouth. "Wake. Up," Four snaps. "You are holding a loaded gun, you idiot. Act like it.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“For a few minutes we kiss, deep in the chasm, with the roar of water all around us. And we rise, hand in hand, I realize that if we had both chosen differently, we might have ended up doing the same thing, in a safer place, in gray clothes instead of black ones.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“Somewhere inside me is a merciful, forgiving person. Somewhere there is a girl who tries to understand what people are going through, who accepts that people do evil things and that desperation leads them to darker places than they ever imagined. I swear she exists, and she hurts for the repentant boy I see in front of me.

But if I saw her, I wouldn't recognize her.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“What did you do, memorize a map of the city for fun?” says Christina.
“Yes,” says Will, looking puzzled. “Didn’t you?”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“What is it with you today?” says Christina on the way to breakfast. Her eyes are still
swollen from sleep and her tangled hair forms a fuzzy halo around her face.
“Oh, you know,” I say. “Sun shining. Birds chirping.”
She raises an eyebrow at me, as if reminding me that we are in an underground
tunnel.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“I feel like someone breathed new air into my lungs. I am not Abnegation. I am not Dauntless.
I am Divergent.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“I feel his heartbeat against my cheek,as fast as my own.
"Are you afraid of me, too, Tobias?"
"Terrified," he replies with a smile.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“I have something I need to tell you," he says. I run my fingers along the tendons in his hands and look back at him. "I might be in love with you." He smiles a little. "I'm waiting until I'm sure to tell you, though."
"That's sensible of you," I say, smiling too. "We should find some paper so you can make a list or a chart or something."
I feel his laughter against my side, his nose sliding along my jaw, his lips pressing my ear.
"Maybe I'm already sure," he says, "and I just don't want to frighten you."
I laugh a little. "Then you should know better."
"Fine," he says. "Then I love you.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“You think giving you a hug would give away too much?" he says.
"You know," I say. "I really don't care."
I stand on my tiptoes and press my lips to his.
It is the best moment of my life.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent


Reading Progress

09/29/2011
30.0% "It's getting interesting now..." 5 comments
09/29/2011
45.0% "I think I already know who Four really is. Please surprise me, Roth." 6 comments
09/29/2011
70.0% "Where were all the hot, understanding instructors when I took classes on self-defense??"
09/30/2011
72.0% "I was right. Yippee."
09/30/2011
90.0% "OMG!"

Comments (showing 1-40 of 40) (40 new)

dateDown_arrow    newest »

Giselle This is a great book. Such a fun ride!


message 2: by Dija (last edited Sep 28, 2011 08:13AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija I really look forward to reading it since I've heard so many great things about it. :D


Anzu The Great Destroyer I have a feeling I'll be disappointed by this lol


Mariya Finally! You're starting this! =DDDDD


message 5: by Dija (last edited Sep 29, 2011 02:45AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija @Anzu: To avoid being disappointed, I'm trying really hard to keep my expectations low. Hope it works for me. :/

@Mariya: Yep, I'm finally gonna figure out what all the hype's about, LOL! :D


Anzu The Great Destroyer Well Dee I'm really trying but bit by bit it's shaping into something strange O.O


Mariya @Dija: So then are you liking it?? Just wait til you get to the part towards the end! Crazy shit happens! Haha!


Dija @Anzu: I'm not feeling the same way, but I'm also not where you are right now so that could be the issue. I find myself liking this book, but it's not love just yet.

@Mariya: Yep, I'm really enjoying it so far! I like seeing the development in Tris as she goes from being selfless to dauntless. :D


Mariya Loved this book, as you can tell by my 5 stars! Haha! Now I just gotta get Miss Vain to read it. Hehehe!


MISS VAIN Hey! Hey! Hey!!! What's up, I saw my name and had to say hello! :-) Yes Mariya, I do need to read this one. I'm not even sure why I haven't read it yet. :/


message 11: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija I agree with Mariya, Miss V, you must give this book a try! It's simply amazing. :D


MISS VAIN I Plan to! Very soon, I promise. Many of my GR friends have had wonderful things to say about this book. I'm sure I will love it too.:-)


message 13: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija I sincerely hope you do! And then we can all fangirl over Four together. :D


Giselle Oh I'm so glad that you liked it! I realized but it never really clicked it that no, there is NO love triangle! huh!!


message 15: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija And I really hope it stays that way! There's no need whatsoever for a new love interest to be introduced, and I hope that doesn't change!


message 16: by Mariya (last edited Sep 30, 2011 07:22AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mariya Yes! Miss Vain, READ IT! In an interview Roth said so had no plans for a love triangle when asked. YAH!

So glad you liked it, Dija! I am in love with FOUR! =DDDDD


Aly is so frigging bored I am liking your review for Ian(he's mine, stop using his picture!*batting eyelashes*) :D otherwise I am not impressed with what this book is about :)))


message 18: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija That's great to hear, Mariya! I'm so glad an author out there seems to realize that there are more ways to make a book interesting than to simply add in a love triangle.

No way, Aly, Ian's MINE. You need to get over him. :P


Aly is so frigging bored nice try :D He's mine


message 20: by MISS VAIN (last edited Sep 30, 2011 09:47AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

MISS VAIN Dija & Mariya-Yes, I'll order it today. I really thought I had already purchased this book, but I guess not.:/. I also have heard that I would love Four, I don't quite understand who number four is but I sure look forward to finding out.:-)

P.s. Dija, you just know a book is going to be wonderful when you pick like twenty five quotes to "like" from the book.;-)


Alyssa I just drooled all over my computer.

(Oh, and awesome review.)


message 22: by Mariya (last edited Sep 30, 2011 03:00PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Mariya @Miss Vain: Four is awesome! OMFG! Four! I want! And Dija saying the I love you discussion at the end was soooooo perfect! Roth really does know how to write! I'm dying to see what happens next!

My book was a gift! Best gift I ever recieved like EVER!!!


MISS VAIN No worries Mariya when I receive it in the mail I will read it for sure, Cat recommend me this book a long time ago and now that you and Dija say I will love it I'm sure I will.


message 24: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija @Alyssa: LOL, yes, Ian does seem have that effect on the female gender. :P And thanks! :)

@Miss V: Yep, you'll love Four! He's awesome, and quite different from most YA leads. He reminds me of Dimitri from VA. :D

@Mariya: Ikr?? I read that passage at least 3 times, I was so happy! I tend to hate I-love-yous when they happen in YA because they're usually highly unrealistic, but the one in Divergent was simply perfect!


MISS VAIN Oh how can I pass up a man (with a silly name) that reminds you of Dimitri Belikov? Sounds like a lil slice of delicious man heaven....;-)


message 26: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija If you think Four's a silly name, just wait till you find out his real one. It's horrible. Bad names aside, though, the character himself is AWESOME!

And yes, I wish someone had used the Dimitri analogy on me, because then I'm sure I would have read this book a lot sooner!


Mariya OMG. It was like I was waiting and exited to hear his real name and then the moment I've been waiting for was utter disappointment. His real name is meh. I prefer Four a lot better. Haha!


MISS VAIN Well soooooo many of my favorite books have men and women with weird names, I mean "Terrible" I've come to love that name because I love him but seriously that's a silly name too! ;-) So I can live with silly names. Lol

The Dimitri comparison was an appropriate choice to make me really interested in Four.;-)


message 29: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija @Mariya: I sort of figured out who Four was long before Tris did, so I didn't have any illusions about a hot name or anything, but it was still disappointing.

@Miss V: You're right, Terrible's a dreadful name too. Sometimes I really wish authors wouldn't try for unique names and stick to the simple, beautiful ones.


MISS VAIN Dija-I agree stick with simple, however I cannot imagine Terrible having any other name.


Mariya I'm with you on the unique names idea, Dija. Sometimes it makes me mad the names of some characters in books I read. One thing sometimes I can't pronounce it and through the first few chapters I spend more time trying to get the name pronounced correctly. UGH! And sometimes. I go seriously?! you're gonna use that name for your main character?! And sometimes the name really actually sucks or may be cheesy.

But Terrible is HOT so he's forgiven. And his name isn't that bad. Some names that are unique work and some just don't


message 32: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija Well, I can't really say anything about Terrible as a character one way or the other, so I'll leave you two to judge his character. But while we're on the topic of unique names that work, I LOVE the name Chess!

And Mariya, I have the same problem! If I've never ever heard of a name, and it reads weird too, chances are I'll probably spend the better time of reading trying to visualize how all the characters are saying said name with such ease. Completely distracting and unnecessary.


Aly is so frigging bored How can you people like books with characters that have crappy names?! I don't think I can do that :D Crappy names, covers, titles get to me... I can forgive kind of anything in a book, but not the names, those put me of.


Samina ~ Escapism~ I could not stay away fromthis discussion!LOL
First of all fantastic picture Dija.This fellow is totally drool worthy.Even if i haven't read the book but from this things I have heard so far he will me a perfect Four.

I do have an obsession with names.However so names are unique and they should be.a few times the charcater names have put me off reading a book and then after reading it realisng I should not hvae prejudice with names.Howver terrible is a fantastic name and I love it. Another name that annoyed me was 'Pritkin'It sounds like a crisps for god's sake! But his full name it sooo boring so I might as well just stick with Pritkin.Another one is when names are spelled wrongly on purpose - Faythe.After reading 5 books it still sort of bothers me.
OK i have finished my rant.


message 35: by Dija (last edited Oct 01, 2011 09:11PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija @Aly: Most of the time, the character with the crappy name isn't mentioned in the synopsis and when s/he's introduced in the book, I'm usually already too involved with the story to do much more than just rant. But yes, names and titles and especially COVERS matter a lot to me!


message 36: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija @Samina: I've seen that pic a million times, and it never gets old, LOL. I love me some Ian Damon!

And you must read this book, Samina! It's amazing! :D

And you're sooo right on Pritkin! I hated his name, and I still do. And ditto on the wrong spelling part as well. I had that problem with all the BDB brothers. How the hell is Rhage supposed to be pronounced? Is the h silent or does it really sound like a rumble, the way I pronounce it?

And other unique names that work - Bones! I always found it funny when readers mentioned "Cat & Bones" but it fits perfectly now. :D


Heather The quote you have is one of my favorite from the book!


message 38: by Dija (new) - rated it 4 stars

Dija Ditto! I loved it when Tris said it, it's so significant for the overall story. :D


Ronyell Awesome review Dija!!! I loved the fact that there is no love triangle in this book too! They can be so tiresome sometimes!


message 40: by MRB (new) - rated it 3 stars

MRB You had me at "no love triangle" :) Excellent review, as always!


back to top