Rebecca's Reviews > White Noise

White Noise by Don DeLillo
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2539209
's review
Jul 30, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: read-in-2013, postmodernism, contemporary-fiction, satire, 1980s, contemporary-classics, engl-551, read-in-2015, 20th-century-lit, modern-american, rereadings
Read from July 08, 2012 to April 26, 2015 — I own a copy

flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read White Noise.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

09/01/2013 marked as: currently-reading
09/01/2013 page 47
14.0% "I get the feeling that this is what DFW has been writing about in his essays on television and pop culture, and that if I'm enjoying White Noise (and I am, dear god I am enjoying the absurdity of this satire, of a man who pioneered Hitler studies but doesn't speak/read German, etc.--the phrase "everybody's got a theory" comes to mind), I'll enjoy Infinite Jest. Already I see an obsession with death, not dying."
09/14/2013 page 167
51.0% "I'm still reading this. I do not understand why I'm reading it so slowly, but I am enjoying it. Part of me is just kicking back and enjoying the Postmodernism of it, that tone I know so well (almost similar to THE ORPHAN MASTER'S SON), but less farcical. But it also feel so heavy-handed, now, reading this novel in this decade where TV has already been moaned about excessively & been redeemed somewhat."
10/08/2013 page 326
100.0% "Well, okay. I wasn't expecting this to end quite where it did, but seeing as how this was never so much a novel about characters as about ideas, it makes sense to end on that note. I really like this, though it took me FOREVER to read. I have so many Walter White/Breaking Bad and David Foster Wallace comments. I'm going to work on writing something about this. And I want to teach it eventually."
10/08/2013 marked as: read
03/16/2015 marked as: currently-reading
04/26/2015 page 263
80.0% "Rereading this is triply. I'm heavily invested in Don DeLillo's Big Ideas™, but I'm still not very invested in his characters. There's a lot of irony and absurdity and obviousness about this novel that merely obscures a deep sense of panic and anxiety about technology and capitalism and lack of agency. And that is actually sincere, that fear." 1 comment
04/26/2015 page 326
100.0% "And in the end of the twentieth century, it's all an ambient roar and confusion. This is White Noise, this is postmodernism."
04/26/2015 marked as: read
show 1 hidden update…

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Joseph Michael Owens Such a great book!


back to top