Jen's Reviews > The Four Loves

The Four Loves by C.S. Lewis
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Apr 02, 2008

really liked it
Read in April, 2008

This is an interesting book. C. L. Lewis describes his four categories of love: affection, friendship, Eros (romantic love) and charity (love of God and selfless love of others). I like his analysis of each kind of love and how affection, friendship and Eros can all have destructive sides to them. I also appreciate that he points out that the first three kinds of love need charity (need God) in order to thrive. However, while I think separating the loves for the purpose of description is useful, I also think that it makes love a little too simplistic. I would have liked to see a final chapter where he talked more about how the four loves work together. For example, I have affection for my husband, a friendship with him, I love him romantically, and hopefully I am charatible toward him. I think Lewis starts to go there in the chapter on charity, but I would have liked more. I also found him sexist when he said things like women don't understand friendship totally. But overall, I got something out of this book.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Four Loves.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

02/08/2016 marked as: read

No comments have been added yet.