David's Reviews > Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

Abraham Lincoln by Seth Grahame-Smith
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5547564
's review
Oct 19, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2011, audiobooks
Read from October 17 to 19, 2011

Having read this immediately following this same author's disappointing "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies", my low expectations on this novel were impressively overcome by this far superior novel. None the weaknesses of P&P&Z seem to be present here. In the tradition of Dan Simmons and Robert McCammon, author Seth Grahame-Smith has taken real, proven history and explained it with intriguing speculative supernatural causes. The secret history of vampires in North America explains several mysteries, starting with the lost colony of Roanoke Island.

Take a man like Abraham Lincoln, who lost nearly everyone close to him, mostly to unknown causes, a man who became fiercely passionate against slavery, a man who went from no political aspirations to seizing the public spotlight. There are other characters who have had troubled histories such as Edgar Allan Poe. Seth Grahame-Smith takes a huge chunk of American History and the biography of a man and explains everything in a riveting and convincing manner...with vampires.

This time around, his brilliant concept is expertly executed. The writing is sound, and the pacing of the story makes it difficult to put down. It's great to find a book that can make you see everything you're familiar with in a different light (even if it is only fiction), and at the same time entertain you with a great thriller and horror story.

If you're checking this review out, and have never read this author, let me reiterate: this book is a winner, but avoid his "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies" book.
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Abraham Lincoln.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.