Alyssa Udall's Reviews > The Gathering Storm

The Gathering Storm by Robin Bridges
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3251905
's review
Dec 27, 11

bookshelves: january-2012, historical-fiction, magical, paranormal, teen-fiction
Read from November 19 to 21, 2011

Originally posted at Redhead Heroines!

The Gathering Storm is a lush, rich and unique young adult paranormal with a memorable heroine!

Amidst Russia's debutante society, we follow Katerina through boarding school, royal parties, and a chilling paranormal plot. Katerina's voice is very unique; she is plucky and astute, immediately equating the galas she attends to meat markets, where royal girls like her are the prize pigs. It is difficult not to like her!

However, once Katerina becomes more involved in the world of necromancy, ghost demons, zombies, and even vampires, the plot almost loses itself in its own complexity. It was definitely difficult to follow the complicated plot along, especially when new players were continually being introduced.

Thankfully, The Gathering Storm was carried along nicely by Katerina's character, as well as other notables like George Alexandrovich, Prince Danilo, and even the evil Montenegran princesses. There were periods of time during this book where the plot was fairly slow, yet I was compelled to read on by the rich writing and Katerina's unique world.

Like all historical fiction, it will take some patience to get used to the world created, the names of every person mentioned, and the plot itself. However, in The Gathering Storm, the effort is definitely worth it!

This is a richly atmospheric start by a talented author that will appeal to fans of Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty series!
2 likes · likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Gathering Storm.
sign in »

Reading Progress

11/19/2011 page 49
12.0%
show 1 hidden update…

No comments have been added yet.