Thomas's Reviews > The Earthsea Quartet

The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula K. Le Guin
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
May 01, 2011

it was amazing
bookshelves: fantasy
Read in April, 2009 — I own a copy

The Earthsea Quartet' is the finest collection of fantasy tales that you are ever likely to read. The magic of Le Guin's Earthsea saga begins with 'A Wizard of Earthsea', an engrossing, mesmerising and beautiful portrayal of one mages struggle with his inner-self. This tale is the birth of Ged's epic, lifelong struggle to keep the balance in the world of Earthsea. 'The Tombs of Atuan' delves into the religious psyche of the people from the Kargad Lands and how this impacts upon Sparrowhawk and the future of Earthsea. 'The Farthest Shore' explores man's strive for immortality from the perspective of men, mages and dragons. Finally, 'Tehanu' is a peaceful yet powerful tale of one disadvantaged girls place in a world of magic, where people are not what they seem. Anyone looking to become a fan of fantasy literature must have this classic saga in their back catalogue. Comparable with Tolkien, Lewis and Feist, the Earthsea world is still Le Guin's most celebrated and illustrious piece of work; one which will set your imagination free.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Earthsea Quartet.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.