Ronda's Reviews > City of Ashes

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5304380
's review
May 18, 2013

it was amazing
bookshelves: paperbacks-hardbacks, 2011-favourites, re-reads, 2013-favourites
Recommended to Ronda by: Shannon Novak Packer
Recommended for: Every Person on the Planet!!!
Read from April 26, 2011 to May 18, 2013 — I own a copy , read count: 2

This is the 2nd time I've read this book (1st review below) and I have to say it is SO MUCH BETTER second time around. My anticipation was more vivid for some reason, I remembered so much and knew almost everything that was going to happen - but then there were the bits that I had forgotten, the feelings, the roles that were played, the bits of information that don't stick first time around...

Clary and Jace seem so much stronger this time around, I could feel the emotions in the description of their body language, I could feel the ache in Clary's heart when she finally decided to face Jace - I sensed the hurt in Jace's heart when he thought the Lightwood's were going to send him on his way... I cannot believe how much more intense this story is this time around... I am so glad I am re-reading the entire series!!!

**********************************************

2011

This book continues from the first one, you'd think that after two books the story would end, but no.... the suspense is there thick and strong but it's a suspense you take from the first pages of the first book.

This book kept me interested throughout, I loved it.... a book like no other that I have read and a book I'd recommend to anyone!

flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read City of Ashes.
Sign In »

Quotes Ronda Liked

Cassandra Clare
“I don't want to be a man," said Jace. "I want to be an angst-ridden teenager who can't confront his own inner demons and takes it out verbally on other people instead."
"Well," said Luke, "you're doing a fantastic job.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

Cassandra Clare
“We came to see Jace. Is he alright?"
"I don't know," Magnus said. "Does he normally just lie on the floor like that without moving?”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

Cassandra Clare
“I've got a stele we can use. Who wants to do me?"
"A regrettable choice of words," muttered Magnus.”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes

Cassandra Clare
“Jace slammed his hand down on the stele. “Clary-“
“She said she doesn’t want it,” said Simon. “Ha-ha.”
“Ha-ha?” Jace looked incredulous. “That’s your comeback?”
Cassandra Clare, City of Ashes


Reading Progress

04/26/2011 page 29
5.0% ".... and it carries on ...."
04/26/2011 page 77
13.0% ".... simply can't read quick enough...."
04/26/2011 page 105
17.0% ".... Clary!!!!! ......"
04/27/2011 page 126
20.0% ".... ooeeerrr The Gates of Hell ....."
04/27/2011 page 193
31.0% ".... OMG ..... I didn't see that coming!!!! ....."
04/29/2011 page 215
52.0% "..... OMG ....."
04/29/2011 page 235
57.0% "..... I keep holding my breath!!!!!"
04/29/2011 page 294
72.0% "..... waits with baited breath .... what next????"
04/29/2011 page 343
83.0% "..... the intensity is building to bursting point ...."
04/30/2013 marked as: currently-reading
04/30/2013
5.0% "...Up to Chapter 2..."
05/01/2013
11.0% "...Up to Chapter 3..."
05/02/2013
14.0% "...Up to Chapter 4..."
05/03/2013
18.0% "...Up to Chapter 5..."
05/06/2013
18.0% "...Part Two - Chapter 8..."
05/07/2013
38.0% "...Up to Chapter 9..."
05/08/2013
43.0% "...Up to Chapter 10..."
05/09/2013
45.0% "...Up to Chapter 11..."
05/10/2013
49.0% "...Up to Chapter 12..."
05/11/2013
54.0% "...Up to Chapter 13..."
05/13/2013
64.0% "...Up to Chapter 15..."
05/14/2013
70.0% "...Up to Chapter 16..."
05/16/2013
81.0% "...Up to Chapter 18..."
05/17/2013
87.0% "...Up to Chapter 19..."
05/18/2013 marked as: read
show 2 hidden updates…

No comments have been added yet.