Allie's Reviews > The Hidden Gallery

The Hidden Gallery by Maryrose Wood
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5190788
's review
Mar 28, 11

Read in March, 2011

The hunt is on…

After nearly destroying Lady Ashton’s Christmas ball…and Ashton Place…at the end of book one, the three Incorrigibles are in disgrace. Lady Ashton is even more out of temper than usual because the house repairs are taking too long and seems likely to send the children away at any moment.

Luckily for the Incorrigibles, their beloved governess Miss Penelope Lumley suggests a plan that suits everyone—temporarily relocate to London with the children so that she can visit her dear friend and mentor. Unfortunately, Lady Ashton likes the idea so much she brings the whole household along. But that’s a small problem to a Swanburne girl, and Miss Penelope is more than ready for the challenge of an ill-tempered mistress and a master who scratches too much and seems way too interested in the phases of the moon.

Once in London the children and their intrepid governess meet one sinister character after another: a semitoothless soothsayer with an ominous message, a judge who may or may not be who he claims, and a pack of marauding pirates/actors. Trouble finds the children as easily in the big city as at Ashton Place, and Miss Lumley must also contend with warnings about the children’s safety, a confusing guidebook with mysterious origins, and vague and unsatisfying hints about her own past.

This sequel to The Mysterious Howling is as much fun as the first installment and sets up the action perfectly for the next book in the series. Miss Lumley is a plucky heroine and the Incorrigibles are as unpredictable and amusing as ever—especially in the scene depicted on the book’s cover. Recommended for fans of Roald Dahl, Lemony Snicket, and The Kneebone Boy by Ellen Potter.

likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Hidden Gallery.
sign in »

No comments have been added yet.