Steph Sinclair's Reviews > Divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4642710
's review
Dec 23, 11

bookshelves: dystopian, 2011-reads, action-packed, i-need-to-buy-this-book, i-really-enjoyed-it, original-and-creative, surprised-me, 2-am-or-later, young-adult, omg-that-ending, oh-yeah-baby, 2011-favs
Recommended for: Dystopian fans
Read from June 06 to 08, 2011, read count: 1


Whoa.

Breathe, Stephanie. Breathe.

Photobucket

Photobucket

This.Was.Good. It seems like every dystopian book that comes out now is being compared to The Hunger Games. Well, if there was ever a book that might come close to that comparison it would be Enclave and now Divergent.

Veronica Roth's debut novel Divergent is getting some major hype and you know what? I think it deserves it. It's no secret that I have a dystopian society book addiction right now, but Divergent is just what I love in a book. It had loads of action, strong heorine, slow building romance, extremely flawed society, ect. I mean I could go on and on here.

Now, I know what you are thinking, "B-b-b-but what about your status updates complaining about the world building?!" Yes, kiddies it's true, I did complain. When I first started reading Divergent I thought the world builing left much to be desired. And even still, the faction Dauntless just doesn't sit right with me (which is why this is a 4 star review and not a 5 star review. Don't worry, I'll address that later.). But, even with these world flaws, I still really loved this book!

Divergent thrusts you into a world where society is divided into five factions each representing a particular virtue. You have Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), Erudite (the intelligent) and Abnegation (the selfless), which our heroine 16-year-old Beatrice is from. In her world when you reach the age of 16 you must choose which faction you want to join. Will you remain with your family in your current faction or risk it for the biscuit learning a whole new way of life? Thankfully, the government graciously provides an aptitude test to help determine which faction you would most likely belong in. But, you always have a choice (or so they say) to pick whichever pre-determined life you want you want regardless of the results. Awesome! High fives all around for free will!



So, what does Beatrice choose? Well Dauntless, of course! This would be a rather boring book if it had been any other faction. If I had to describe Dauntless I would say they are a cross between xtreme sports thrill seekers and a blood thirsty gang. Everytime I turned around the Dauntless were trying to hurl themselves off another building, moving object, or beat the crap out of each other for the sake of being called brave. None of that is brave. It is stupidity at it's best.

Photobucket

This was a constant pet peeve of mine. And the worst part is: beatrice just.accepted.it. Not only that, but she joined in the craziness! And that brings us to the big old negative of the book. There were a few big holes in the world building. Such as, how did the world get to where it is? What is beyond the walls of Beatrice's society? What's the point of having the factionless? They kinda felt like page fillers to me, and most importantly: WHO RUNS THE TRAIN?! I need to know! It's bothering me! Now if you know anything about me, you will know I can not stand when an author builds a world and tells me, "This is how it is. Just accpet it." No. Just no. Seriously, it makes my eye twitch.

Photobucket

But, once you get past the sketchy world building the book is good. I think the second half was definately noticably better than the first half. The first half was a bit slow, but once the book got going it hooked me and never let me go. I stayed up until 2 am to finish it and that it epic for me. LOL. Like Power Rangers meeting the Ninja Turtles epic.

Photobucket

The plot and characters and pretty solid to me. I did like Beatrice and her character development. I also felt like the love intrest between her and (view spoiler) was slow developing and not rushed. It provided a nice build up. For a YA book to do that nowadays, you get bonus points.

And I really loved the ending. It left me frazzeld and wanting more.

Photobucket

And best of all there was no cliffhanger! I'm growing to hate clifhangers in YA novels. You don't need to leave me hanging to keep me reading your series. If your writing/story is good enough, I will continue regardless. So I really appreciated things being tied up nicely in this book even though I can tell things are not over.

So, if you are digging dystopians right now, do yourself a favor and check out Divergent. It's definately one of the best out right now.

More reviews and more at Cuddlebuggery Book Blog.
217 likes · Likeflag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Divergent.
Sign In »

Quotes Steph Liked

Veronica Roth
“We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent

Veronica Roth
“I might be in love with you." He smiles a little. "I'm waiting until I'm sure to tell you, though.”
Veronica Roth, Divergent


Reading Progress

06/07/2011
8.0% "Does the Abnegation have any form of self preservation? It just doesn't seem like a healthy lifestyle. In fact, none of the factions do. Where's the balance?"
06/07/2011
11.0% "Ummm, what? The Dauntless just randomly jump off and on trains? The fractions are just so extreme. It's hard to believe."
06/07/2011
11.0% ""I tell myself, as sternly as possible, that is how things work here. We do dangerous things and people die. People die, and we move on to the next dangerous thing." Why? Risking your life and doing reckless things just for the hell of it isn't brave...it's stupid. (-_-)"
06/08/2011
28.0% ""I have realized that part of being Dauntless is being willing to make things more difficult for yourself in order to be self-sufficient. There's nothing especially brave about wandering dark streets with no flashlight, but we are not supposed to need help, even from light. We are supposed to be capable of anything." Ahh, more Dauntless logic that doesn't make sense." 2 comments
06/08/2011
32.0% "From here on out the Dauntless shall be considered the Ruthless for me."
06/08/2011
36.0% "Why does it feel like Tris has joined a huge gang? Dauntless=gang life."
06/08/2011
58.0% "Once you get past some of the more questionable world building, this story isn't half bad."
06/08/2011
66.0% "Ok...I totally saw that coming."

Comments (showing 1-50 of 52) (52 new)


Lucy I had such a hard time with that -- especially because people were apparently raising families into that.


Steph Sinclair I know! It would be different if it was for survival, but it's just because they can. All these factions are just...extreme.


message 3: by Lucy (last edited Jun 08, 2011 07:50AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Lucy Yeah, at least I could imagine raising a child in some of the factions. Dauntless, however, was totally ridiculous. What do you do? Teach your baby how to bungee jump without a chord for their third birthday?

It never felt like a 'lifestyle,' but rather a stage of life some people experience during young adulthood.


Laurel This was a great review!
I wasn't a huge fan of the world building, but the book sucked me in big time with its prose and I enjoyed myself anyway.
Can I just say that I LOVE THAT POWER RANGER NINJA TURTLE PICTURE?! Because it is beautiful, and if there's any episode that I remember in all that is Power Rangers, it's that episode.


Steph Sinclair Ghirardelli wrote: "This was a great review!
I wasn't a huge fan of the world building, but the book sucked me in big time with its prose and I enjoyed myself anyway.
Can I just say that I LOVE THAT POWER RANGER NINJA..."


Thank you! I really hope book 2 fills in the world building holes. And yes, that was the best episode ever!!!


Laurel Ohh I hope so too! I liked Divergent enough to want to purchase Book 2, and that cover is too gorgeous to pass up!


message 7: by Sarah (new) - added it

Sarah Everybody loved this book! I think I am the only one who hasn't read it yet. Anyway, love the review Stephanie. :D


rameau You found the superficial happy place to enjoy this book. I didn't. It's a wonder my eyes didn't roll out of their sockets.


message 9: by Lissa (new) - added it

Lissa Who was driving the damn train?!


Steph Sinclair Lissa wrote: "Who was driving the damn train?!"

My guess is that it's Peeves the poltergeist playing a funny on all of us. Lol.

rameau wrote: "You found the superficial happy place to enjoy this book. I didn't. It's a wonder my eyes didn't roll out of their sockets."

Yeah, I was rolling my eyes at some parts too, but I really enjoyed the ending.


message 11: by Penny (new) - rated it 1 star

Penny Raspenny I'm under the impression that the trains were driven by the factionless. I think I read it somewhere in the book .


message 12: by Lia (new) - rated it 4 stars

Lia Balagot YEAAH. who the hell runs the trains? haha.


Autumn I totally agree with all your questions! I love the book still too, Im not even done the book yet and Im like WHY IS THE WORLD LIKE THIS?! lol! Enjoyed your review!


Celine Oh my god, the trains! Who drives the trains if they're only being used by the Dauntless? That one bothered me too


message 15: by Joke (new) - rated it 4 stars

Joke was under the impression that the factionless were assigned to drive the trains..was mentioned somewhere in the book


Steph Sinclair Joke wrote: "was under the impression that the factionless were assigned to drive the trains..was mentioned somewhere in the book"

I guess we could assume that, but it never came out and said it.


message 17: by Joke (new) - rated it 4 stars

Joke Stephanie wrote: "Joke wrote: "was under the impression that the factionless were assigned to drive the trains..was mentioned somewhere in the book"

I guess we could assume that, but it never came out and said it."


i guess i automatically assumed it since they drive busses, they would drive trains..
but hey maybe there is no traindriver and it is an automatically operated train :p


Steph Sinclair Joke wrote: "Stephanie wrote: "Joke wrote: "was under the impression that the factionless were assigned to drive the trains..was mentioned somewhere in the book"

I guess we could assume that, but it never ca..."


It's a ghost train! Lol.


Holly The factionless drive the train - its in the book - they drive the train/buses pick up the trash etc, and thats how they get food and clothes although not enough of either (according to the book)


Holly One thing I want to know that we never found out... Tris states that she never saw any old dauntless - what happened to them - did they all just die when they couldnt jump from the train anymore or are they hidden away somewhere in the compound?


Steph Sinclair Holly wrote: "One thing I want to know that we never found out... Tris states that she never saw any old dauntless - what happened to them - did they all just die when they couldnt jump from the train anymore or..."

Maybe they were killed?


Holly Perhaps they are but why? and how come we know nothing about it. if the dauntless kill their elderly surely the ending of the book isnt really much of a surprise and more of the dauntless would be released from the zombification serum stuff?


Steph Sinclair Maybe they viewed old age as a weakness and as a result accepted their fate? You bring up a good question. I hope we find out in the next book!


Holly I like that explanation actually, despite it being rather bleak


Rachel I am coming to realize that you are probably the closes thing that I have to a book buddy! I have yet to find a book that you reviewed to be good end up being anything other than good!

In my honest opinion, I think this almost trumps HG. I know I know. Totally against every other raging HG fan! Oh well I read it and that is what I thought. Off to buy the second one!


Danielle Just finished reading the book and I loved it. Only a few more days until the second book is out! :D


Steph Sinclair Rachel wrote: "I am coming to realize that you are probably the closes thing that I have to a book buddy! I have yet to find a book that you reviewed to be good end up being anything other than good!

In my hones..."


:D
I'm glad you've found me useful! Lol.

@Danielle, I can't wait to read Insurgent!


Tamyra Oler I like your review. I had some of the same questions (though they didn't stop me from LOVING the book) but now that I've finished Insurgent, I think almost all of your questions were answered. We have to remember in a trilogy/series some things have to remain a mystery for awhile.


Ronyell Awesome review as always Stephanie!! I really enjoyed this book too!!


Haylie Grace I totally agree about the cliffhanger thing. I was so happy that there wasn't one of those.. Like you said, if it's good enough I'll want to read the rest of the other books anyway!


message 31: by Haya (new) - rated it 5 stars

Haya MB Which faction would you choose?


Steph Sinclair Haya wrote: "Which faction would you choose?"

I don't know. Maybe Candor or Amity.


Tandie Wonderful review! My 13 year old daughter read Divergent & LOVED it so much that she begged me to read it so we could discuss Tris & Four. It was fun fangirling with her. I promised her we'll buy Allegiant the day it's released AND I'll let her read it first. She'll totally owe me though.


message 34: by Tori (new) - rated it 5 stars

Tori Aww man... Allegiant was such a disappointment... I was so depressed for days that she ended it all like that..


Steph Sinclair Tori wrote: "Aww man... Allegiant was such a disappointment... I was so depressed for days that she ended it all like that.."

Was it (view spoiler) disappointed you? I didn't mind it too much, but I still didn't enjoy the last two books as much as I did the first.


Rheanna Erm... Not a cliffhanger? I really wonder what you consider a cliffhanger then...


message 37: by Kim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kim Wow. Even though I had spoilers hidden, your spoiler in the comment above showed. I just finished Divergent, loved it, am waiting to get my hands on the next one, and that completely just ruined the series... Thanks, Goodreads.

It probably would be best not to mention huge events in the next books on this thread, even if you do use the spoiler thing. So disappointed right now.


Steph Sinclair Did you click the spoiler?


message 39: by Kim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kim No, it was already revealed before I even saw your response. I even scrolled back up to the top of the page to see if I'd hit that one. Must have been something messed up with the app or maybe when you made it a spoiler. :/


message 40: by Kim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kim It shows for me: Was it (view spoiler): [The spoiler which I'm not going to type (hide spoiler)]

I can't click either of those links either because I'm in the app. Pretty irritating.


Steph Sinclair Kim wrote: "It shows for me: Was it (view spoiler): [The spoiler which I'm not going to type (hide spoiler)]

I can't click either of those links either because I'm in the app. Pretty irritating."


I'm sorry that happened! I didn't know the app was so unreliable when it comes to spoiler tags. :(


message 42: by Hi (new) - rated it 4 stars

Hi The trains are run by faction less, it says in the book, and there isn't really a point until the second book


message 43: by Hi (new) - rated it 4 stars

Hi Steph wrote: "Haya wrote: "Which faction would you choose?"

I don't know. Maybe Candor or Amity."


Candor? After Christina described initiation? you could just spill your deepest secrets to a room full of strangers?


Steph Sinclair @Hi, none of them are ideal, to be honest. But I don't think I'd choose a faction with a high rate of death.


message 45: by Hi (new) - rated it 4 stars

Hi @steph, I don't think I could chose any, I couldn't live any of those lifestyles


Rebecca I completely agree with your review except about Dauntless. In the book they address the fact that it has morphed into the cruel faction it is but really started on the basis of "ordinary acts of bravery". Which to be honest makes sense since it isn't supposed to be a perfect society or else it would be called a utopian society not distopian. Yes they do stupid things like jump off of buildings and trains and zip lining but there is a huge emphasis on the Camaraderie that doing these things builds. So I think that is one of the main reasons that Tris "goes along with it". Another reason I think she chose it is due to the fact that she didn't fit into Abnegation. So her only answer is to do the complete opposite, which I think is Dauntless. Sorry for the rant, but I have read a lot of reviews that say Dauntless didn't make any sense. But other than that I do 100% agree with your review.


message 47: by Teri (new)

Teri C It's no different than almost every fantasy book that comes out is compared to Harry Potter.


Kimberly Steph
I know that I wrote my comment a few months ago @ least, but I came across it again and in reading it over I am quite ashamed @ what a condescending bitch I came off as!!! The stupid part is that I normally would never say such rude things secondly i love your reviews and that is why I you are only one of the few people of which whom I added as a friend without personally knowing!
I don't know if I was in a bad mood or just having an "off day"…but with regards to either I should not have sent you that lame, horribly full of typos, mean, condescending, totally uneducated with regards to your opinions in the areas if YA (which BTW has lead me to reevaluate my thoughts on some of my previous ideas such as since they are dystopian societies the societal structures don't have to make sense or have any kind of order.)
BTW, this is not meant to be kiss-butt, but I do think that you are a very intelligent young woman with some great insights and I'm glad that you have allowed me into your Goodreads world :·) Have a great night and Happy Reading girly!!!
Kimberly Sutherland
p.s. you tell "her"…it's your Goodreads account and you can write however long of a review you want!!!…for gawd's sake I just can't believe that "one"…


Llama I love your reviews so much! I agree, there were some plot holes, but once you get past that you're totally hooked :)


Jenna I loved this book and I'm glad you don't think it's all just hype. :)


« previous 1
back to top